We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best stay for best price” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Aloha Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Aloha Inn
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Arroyo Grande
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best stay for best price”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2013

We have stayed at several different motels in Arroyo grande over the years. None of them made us feel as relaxed and catered to as Aloha motel Arroyo grande did. We truly felt like valued guests. All of the staff were excellent. Every staff member we encountered was friendly and professional. Our room was clean and inviting. We had a great view of the 101 expressway. We did not have any noise from outside. Morning Breakfast was quick and delicious. The Bathroom was amazing too. Our stay was so relaxing. The pool is clean, quiet, and relaxing. The staff were very attentive. We had an amazing stay. Front desk is also very helpful and friendly. Aloha-inn arroyo grande is by far the best motel experience we have ever had in arroyo grande. I am not an easy to please person, and there is not one negative thing I could say about our motel stay. We look forward to our next visit. We highly recommend Aloha-inn arroyo grande.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Vayron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    82
    36
    15
    17
See reviews for
76
72
6
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hanford, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2013

We decided to take a chance by staying at the Aloha Inn. We were excited to book a room for $75 on a Saturday that included continentel breakfast. Our room had a King size bed, refigerator, microwave, flat screen, and a balcony with a nice view of the pool. We checked out on Sunday and decided to go back on Wednesday for $60. They surprised us when we saw our room had a pull out couch and a door that connects to the next room. With rates and ammenities like these our getaways will happen more often. So glad we took a chance!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank irmacastillo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cozytraveler007, General Manager at Aloha Inn, responded to this review, March 31, 2013
We appreciate your feedback and thanks for choosing Aloha Inn while your stay in Arroyo Grande.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2013

I stayed one night in this hotel while traveling through California. I did not reserve in advance and negotiated a $50+tax rate with the manager. I would not say that he was friendly, but not unfriendly also, just didn't show any interest in customer or emotion on his face. It did not bother me at all, as long as the room is clean and quiet. I got a very nice room on 2nd floor with king size bed, window and balcony facing parking lot and swimming pool, so the highway noise was not an issue. The room looked like it was recently renovated, everything was clean, bathroom completely done in granite. Nice hot shower with excellent pressure in the morning. Breakfast was very limited (coffee, juice, tiny muffins, and only white bread for tost, butter and jam), less than at other motels I stayed during this trip. Overall good experience, I would stay at this place again when in the area.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank turist123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2012

I asked for a ground floor room for my mom. She is 90 and can't get up stairs. I had booked for 6 days. They gave me a newly remodeled handicap room. I was very pleased. I needed to leave my bags off before I checked in and had to beg to get the mgmt to let me leave my bags. They would not take them behind the counter. They told me to put them in the room that I was going to be in, as it had just been vacated, but not cleaned. I had no choice to leave them, because I was going to be running all over San Luis Obispo, picking up food and items for a BBQ for my daughter's wedding, out of town guests. Then on the 3rd day, I found ants coking in the room through the front door! I quietly informed them at the front desk and they took care of the problem, for a while. They came back and they took care of them again. Then on the 5th day I came back to the room at 4pm and it hadn't been made. I called the front desk and they said that I could come and get clean towels. I told them they could come and clean the room. The woman said the maid went home, I said, OK you can come and clean it. She said OK. Then her husband called and said the maid went home. I said fine, you can come and clean the room. He said, OK. Then he shows up at the room and says he's injured and can't clean the room. He then offered me the room next door which was clean and vacant and I said OK. I moved all my stuff and had a clean room. Unbelievable. I got a great rate, but I will never stay there again. I have family there, and I go at least once or twice a year.

Room Tip: Do not expect any service from the management.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ginny456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Arroyo Grande hotels

Garden Grove, California, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2012

Found this hotel by searching reviews on Tripadvisor. Right next to a freeway so could be very noisy, but although I'm a light sleeper I slept well here. Bed was just ok not as firm as I'd like. Everything in our room, 114, seemed brand new. Carpet,bed, bathroom, furniture all new and looked like its been renovated. Now we used an online booking service and I think we overpaid($131/night). Our king sized, non smoking room included a microwave, fridge, couch, arm chair, and table with 2 chairs. Pluses for a group would be connecting rooms. Outside private patio on ground floor for my husband to smoke was nice. Very loud stomping person overhead, not until after 9am so it might have been housekeeping. We would have been happy without the suite for a better price

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Trissia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern Cal
Level Contributor
168 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2012

This is one of those places with the right room but the wrong location. On the freeway, you will hear trucks all night. A cute and spacious room with large crown moldings,matching furnishings, bath and clean grounds.
Then there is the management! I was checked in by a young man void of any customer service ethic..
I asked that evening about laundry facilities from an older woman who ,in a condicending manner, told me that they have no such thing. Not a thought to suggest a laundromat or give directions.
Breakfast? The cheapest of quality toast, jelly and cereal. 2 tables in the check in area made for people milling and spilling their styrofoam bowls of Cheerios clone cereal.
When I asked about wiping mung off of one of the tables the owner huffed, went back in his abode and came back to hand me a towel. Never a thought that he would wipe it off.
I decided to stay one more night and he tried to raise the price. I told him forget it and he said," if I match last nights price you'll stay?". I agreed and begrudgingly he " allowed" me to stay another night.
After writing an honest review he took my phone number from the check in records called me and admonished me for it.

Room Tip: Go up the coast to Morro bay you'll be glad you did.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cap10paul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2012

My husband and I headed up to San Luis Obispo for my cousin's memorial service; unfortunately, this was the same weekend that Cal Poly was having a parent/student event! So this was the cheapest room we could find - let alone one of the last four rooms available in the entire area!

In summary, we were pleasantly surprised by the Aloha - great location - affordable - and the staff was friendly - room super clean (and nice too for a motor inn!) - king bed - firm, but fairly comfy - all in all - a nice find for a last minute trip to SLO!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank OCGirl714
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arroyo Grande
1.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Casa Grande Inn
BEST WESTERN Casa Grande Inn
#1 of 5 in Arroyo Grande
4.0 of 5 bubbles 921 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Arroyo Grande/Pismo Beach Area
2.0 mi away
Oxford Suites Pismo Beach
Oxford Suites Pismo Beach
#10 of 27 in Pismo Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
The Inn at the Cove
The Inn at the Cove
#2 of 27 in Pismo Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,262 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Pismo Beach
Hilton Garden Inn Pismo Beach
#13 of 27 in Pismo Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 792 reviews
3.9 mi away
Cottage Inn by the Sea
Cottage Inn by the Sea
#6 of 27 in Pismo Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aloha Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aloha Inn

Property: Aloha Inn
Address: 611 El Camino Real, Arroyo Grande, CA 93420-2649 (Formerly Econo Lodge)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Arroyo Grande
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Arroyo Grande
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Aloha Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Guests of the Aloha Inn are invited to enjoy many amenities, including a complimentary continental breakfast, free local calls and in-room coffee. Relax and enjoy the warm summer sun and cool ocean breezes by our seasonal outdoor pool.Business travelers will appreciate modern conveniences like free wireless high-speed Internet access in all guest rooms and access to fax services.The Aloha Inn features comfortably furnished, spacious guest rooms equipped with patios or balconies, refrigerators, microwaves, irons, ironing boards, hair dryers and cable television. In addition to standard rooms, handicap accessible and non-smoking rooms are available.From the friendly customer service to the tranquil accommodations, you’re reminded in every detail that the essence of aloha lives here. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, HotelsClick, Agoda, Reservation Counter and Despegar.com so you can book your Aloha Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aloha Hotel Arroyo Grande
Aloha Motel Arroyo Grande

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing