We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to call home while on a road trip”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Casa Grande Inn
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Arroyo Grande
Certificate of Excellence
North Bay, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great place to call home while on a road trip”
Reviewed January 3, 2013

I have stayed at this hotel over a dozen nights since Dec 2011-Dec 2012. I like the location just off CA 101 about halfway between L.A. and Monterey. I use the hotel as a jumping off point for my motorcycle travels along the coast.

The staff is friendly and accommodating, the grounds are always clean, as are the rooms.This hotel fills up every night. Because of this I'd recommend you get to the breakfast (included in the room price) room early. It is not large; at prime time you will be rubbing elbows.

If the sound of feet above you bothers you I'd recommend the top floor. I prefer ground level, where I have easy access to the room door. Noise has never been a problem. This is not a party place. People who stay here are travelling. They arrive, clean up, relax a bit, then are out for the night.

I can walk to restaurants that are close by, there is a Saturday morning car show in the mall above the hotel (worth checking out), there are Premium outlets a mile or two up the road in Pismo Beach.

I see the incremental improvements as well. My room had a flat screen T.V this time, unlike previous visits. The room is large enough for two adults, the showers are warm, and they serve coffee and cookies in the lobby between 4-6 pm.

And I get Best Western points each time I stay. I think this hotel represents good value for the road weary!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank padluckypierre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

978 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    431
    347
    119
    51
    30
See reviews for
383
327
58
72
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Irvine, Ca
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2012

This was my first time at this property. I've stayed at the Hampton inn nearby. The good points are that the front desk was friendly, it was pretty cheap, close to shops like Starbucks & Trader Joe's and you can use the gym next door.

Now for the bad...it was loud (you could hear everything (we stayed on the second floor) you could hear upstairs, downstairs, people walking outside. Also the heater unit made a lot of noise. The blankets were really thin. It is basically like an old motel. Watch out for dogs as it is a dog friendly motel. Thank goodness we were there for only one night.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan_sunnyCa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed December 29, 2012

We stayed at the hotel while visiting friends in Pismo Beach. The hotel was clean but is in need of some serious updating. The decor was tired. Breakfast was OK but the room was way to small......we were lucky to find a seat. Our room had a terrible view of an 8 ft. tall wall and a tree trunk. Hotel is fine if you just need a place to sleep.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, AZ
Level Contributor
38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2012

We stayed here while visiting family over Christmas. We slept here and spent the days at our family's house. Very convenient location off 101. Close to beaches and beach towns. Walmart, Albertsons, Starbucks, etc.

This is a basic hotel for the traveler. Lovely casita-style buildings on the outside. A little tired on the inside. Beds were a little hard. Everything was clean. It just felt like the rooms could use a little rejuvenation.

Rooms had outdoor access like a motel vs. indoor hallway access (in case that is important to you). We always found a place to park, but the parking areas were a little small and hard to navigate at times.

The front desk staff were always friendly and courteous, and quickly responsive to requests.

There was a mini-fridge in the room. TV in our room was poor -- the picture was so washed out that we could barely see the program from our beds. We had to turn out all the lights, and still it was a bit of a strain. The TV isn't really well situated for viewing from the 2 queen beds either - I don't know why it isn't mounted on the wall as there seems to be plenty of room.

The sink and mirror are outside the shower/toilet room -- more flexible and convenient when multiple people are getting ready in the morning.

It seemed like they could use more lighting in the room. The little spotlight at the front of the room was odd. A few more hangers would have been appreciated as there were 4 of us in the room.

The continental breakfast was what you would expect - nothing more nor less.

The walls are a little thin. I don't think we had neighbors next to us for most of our stay (because I didn't hear anybody). But on our last night, I could clearly hear conversation from next door while I lay in the bed. If you have a rude, loud neighbor, this could be a problem. We learned a long time ago, however, to travel with a white noise machine and ear plugs.

The final charge was exactly what I expected - no surprise fees/charges.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank k-ro99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
raja158
Level Contributor
26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed December 13, 2012

This was our 3rd stay at the Casa Grande Inn, this time in town for the granddaughter's graduation from Cal Poly. At our reccomendation, one of the daughter's and here family also stayed here. The motel is convenient to the freeway, shopping, restaurants, and about 10 minutes to the granddaughter's place in Oceano. There is an elevator, good for our room on the 3rd floor, the room was large, we had 2 queen beds, and the staff was friendly. There is breakfast in 2 rooms, by the pool and above the front desk, which helped lessen the crowds on a weekend morning. The son-in-law and a grandson enjoyed the pool and hot tub. The only down side, after a late night out, we had to park behind the motel, and didn't have eyes on our car, as on a busy night, the lot is full. But the upside, we had a great senior rate. Another good stay!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank raja158
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arroyo Grande
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Arroyo Grande/Pismo Beach Area
0.9 mi away
Oxford Suites Pismo Beach
Oxford Suites Pismo Beach
#10 of 29 in Pismo Beach
1,323 reviews
2.7 mi away
SeaCrest OceanFront Hotel
SeaCrest OceanFront Hotel
#8 of 29 in Pismo Beach
1,926 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Pismo Beach
Hilton Garden Inn Pismo Beach
#13 of 29 in Pismo Beach
828 reviews
3.4 mi away
The Inn at the Cove
The Inn at the Cove
#1 of 29 in Pismo Beach
1,353 reviews
2.8 mi away
Cottage Inn by the Sea
Cottage Inn by the Sea
#7 of 29 in Pismo Beach
1,185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Casa Grande Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Casa Grande Inn

Property: Best Western Casa Grande Inn
Address: 850 Oak Park Boulevard, Arroyo Grande, CA 93420-1812
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Arroyo Grande
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Arroyo Grande
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Casa Grande Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Best Western Casa Grande Inn is located on the beautiful Central Coast of California and offers a wide variety of activities. From walking on Pismo Beach, racing ATVs through the world famous Pismo Dunes, surfing, playing golf, wine tasting, fabulous dining options or just sitting back to watch the gorgeous sunsets...There is something for everyone to enjoy! Traveling with a dog? Not a problem! We only have a handful of designated pet-friendly rooms due to allergies for others, which I'm sure you understand. And the fee is only $20 per night...What a deal! **IMPORTANT! Please note, as of October 11th, our pool, hot tub, laundry and sauna rooms have reopened! They are newly renovated and absolutely beautiful! Come check them out!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Best Western, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Casa Grande Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Casa Grande Hotel Arroyo Grande
Best Western Casa Grande Inn Arroyo
Best Western Arroyo Grande
Arroyo Grande Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing