We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Thank you D.J.”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Premier Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Premier Inn
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Arroyo Grande
Truckee, California, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Thank you D.J.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2012

I reserved an inexpensive room for a stop on our way to our daughter's graduation at UCSB (Santa Barbara increases their hotel rooms by almost 50% for graduation weekends) the day we were traveling. The booking.com system (which is what the hotel site defaults to) said there was only 1 room left at this price (2 Q - $49). Printed confirmation and then drove 7 hours. They did NOT have ANY reservation for me. A change in plans earlier left us needing only 1 bed so I mentioned this calmly to D.J. the manager on duty that evening. The hotel was busy when I checked in at 9pm and calls were coming in for any vacancies (there were none as the Classic Car event was in town this weekend). After a long exhausting day, I was annoyed, frustrated and finally in tears. D.J. was helpful in finding an accommodation that would fit my needs (non-smoking room).

I know my situation probably incurred the wrath of someone else checking in later to find either no room or a smoking room when they did not need/want it.

Thank you D.J. for helping me out in a frustrating situation. She indicated this has happened before with reserving online at booking.com but she did have other booking.com reservations sitting in front of her. My recommendation is to stay here if you are not looking for luxury as the room was very adequate for the price paid ($42.99 for one bed), BUT, call the motel directly to book your room.

I was also a bit worried about some past reviews from 2010 of bed bugs. There was no issue with this in June 2012.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Truckee-2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    28
    24
    10
    17
See reviews for
19
28
8
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco
Level Contributor
77 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2012

Driving at night stopped and saw the Hampton Inn and the price was double the price of the Premier Inn. The Premier Inn is next to it up the hill. The place is basic. The ice machine was broken. There was a man fixing it. There is no elevator. It was $40-50 the night I stayed. The shower curtain had some mold on it. The lights flickered in the morning and there was a power outage for about 10 minutes. A man came in my room and even though I stated the lights were OK he came in any way since the room below me still had lights out. The hallway walk way was slightly dirty. I found that some people on the ground level were locals using the hotel. One man said he was getting his house fixed up and was staying up here. The rooms are non smoking but people outside the doorways smoking especially the ground floor. The parking was almost all taken near the room. There was even three trucker cab parking spots The room had a refrig and microwave. The towels are good if you like to scratch(thin). They got the job done though.The room was quiet. There is a pool I did not use. The windows did not have a great lock. I would like more security. The door does not have the knob that goes over the door so that the key cannot open the door.No breakfast but for the price not a problem. Close to shopping I went to a Trader Joes then next morning.No clock in the room and the phone system is new and the light on the phone kept blinking like I had messages

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank irishtea3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shell Beach, California
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2012

I had an awesome stay until I found out that my pit bull wasn't welcome there becuz of what someone else's pit bull did.

Room Tip: stay down stairs lol
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ciscoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arroyo Grande, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2011

Ok, one more review, before going to Motel 6 we stayed at the Premier Inn. John the General Manager was a great guy then he moved on and the relief manager DAN came in and he is key heavy jerk. Being a Hotel GM I have never treated any guest like this Jerk did us! He told us that John's dead beat guest have to move on. ( John was giving us a good rate) I called the corp. office and was not offered any compensation for the food left behind or the way we where treated. Besides the fact that it was tweak city and the cops driving in and out John was nice and the front desk staff Teri, Mike were very nice. The rates went up and most of John's guest moved on. Stay at Motel 6 in Pismo Beach Tim the General Manager and his staff are top shelf. STAY AWAY FROM THE PREMIER INN ARROYO GRANDE!!!!!!

Room Tip: the back side had nice sunsets and quite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank hotelmansteve805
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Arroyo Grande hotels

San Mateo, California
Level Contributor
48 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2011

I stayed at the Premier Inn mid August while traveling up the California coast. The Premier Inn is listed in the AAA Tour Book with a rate beginning at $40 and, sure enough, the total cost for my room was $43.58. The front desk staff was welcoming and, when asked, suggested a few restaurants for dinner and breakfast. There is also a booklet in the room with various restaurant menu information. The room was large, clean, with a comfortable bed and had a micro & small fridge. The bathroom and tub / shower was also clean. The Premier Inn is just off the highway on top of a tall hill that overlooks Arroyo Grande. My stay was pleasant, comfortable and relaxing for the night. I would definitely return ....and you can't beat the price.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GTB-SFO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Coral, Florida
Level Contributor
91 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2011

The manager here is a very arrogant person and appeared to be inebriated most of the time , The police patrolled the property constantly and there were numerous shady individuals present there during my stay. The front desk when asked about the police said I was being rude and indicated it was none of my business. The walls are paper thin and the room are super small. Not a safe place for families or elderly people. The beds are old and the carpet is worn. No breakfast in the morning and the coffee is horrible. The towels should be thrown out.
There is really nothing good to say about this property.

Room Tip: Brand New Hampton Inn Right Next door for just a few dollars more
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Magazinedude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suzhou, China
Level Contributor
51 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2011

Computers didn't work when we arrived to check-in but staff was very friendly and apologized a lot. About 15min later we were checked-in.
We got a nice remodeled room upstairs with a microwave and fridge. Air-con was old-fashioned but worked solid.
You get a great value here.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank basinger_de
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arroyo Grande
0.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Casa Grande Inn
BEST WESTERN Casa Grande Inn
#1 of 5 in Arroyo Grande
4.0 of 5 bubbles 938 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Arroyo Grande/Pismo Beach Area
1.1 mi away
Oxford Suites Pismo Beach
Oxford Suites Pismo Beach
#10 of 27 in Pismo Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Pismo Beach
Hilton Garden Inn Pismo Beach
#13 of 27 in Pismo Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 809 reviews
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Grover Beach-Pismo Beach Area
2.2 mi away
Ocean Palms Motel
Ocean Palms Motel
#14 of 27 in Pismo Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn

Property: Premier Inn
Address: 555 Camino Mercado, Arroyo Grande, CA 93420-1820
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Arroyo Grande
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Arroyo Grande
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Premier Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Premier Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Hotel Arroyo Grande
Premier Inn Arroyo Grande

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing