We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I'm losing interest...” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rooster Creek Tavern

Rooster Creek Tavern
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children, Bar scene, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Arroyo Grande, California
Level Contributor
177 reviews
129 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“I'm losing interest...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2014

I live in Arroyo Grande and was excited that the folks that own another local popular restaurant were going to open Rooster Creek Tavern. When they opened, there was the usual flurry of excitement, which came along with growing pains and menu changes. Now that they have been open for over a year, you would think they have it dialed in.

My wife likes the chop salad with her version of additions. My son's favorite tacos have been added to the kids menu. I've never liked the food at Rooster Creek, except for the pizza and even those are mediocre. However, we keep returning because of the salad.

On a recent lunch visit to Rooster Creek, we decided to diverge from our "standard" and ordered Fish & Chips, the JBLT and a kids burger. BIG mistake. Greasy carb fest with way too much bread.

I'm at the point that I'm losing interest and Rooster Creek is now off my list. Perhaps I'll stop in for a cold beer, but that's about it.

Fix the menu. You're a sports bar, nothing more.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Barisarius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

245 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    83
    106
    35
    16
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nipomo, California
Level Contributor
196 reviews
111 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“Great food and atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2013

Very crowded mid-week; eat here and you'll see why. We both had chicken dishes that were excellent. Don't miss out on the Italian buccatini; a rarity pasta in a restaurant and it was perfectly prepared. Great selection of draft beers.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Grognard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arroyo Grande, California
Level Contributor
35 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Nice tavern”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2013

This is a nice tavern that serves a limited menu. The food is good, but not great. Prices are a bit high.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lahjim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
58 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Unexpected surprise!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2013 via mobile

We came here on a Wednesday night around 9:30 pm for dinner. We came from Pismo Beach where apparently everything closes between 8:30-9:00 pm. Based on other reviews, we were apprehensive about dining here, but since it was open and we were starving, we decided to stop in. I'm glad we did stop in because we were pleasantly surprised by the service, food, and atmosphere.
We were immediately greeted by a friendly hostess who sat us at a table.
Our waitress came over and asked us if we wanted anything to drink. I ordered a lemon drop and my love ordered a pint of Guinness. His beer was good my drink was strong, but really good.
I ordered a California chicken club with fries and my love ordered BBQ chicken wings. The food was really good.
I'm not sure what people expect when they come here. It's not a four star sit down dinner-the atmosphere is that of a sports bar. There are a few televisions here, but there is some seating where there are none quite as visible.
If you want a decent late night meal and don't mind sports bars, try Rooster Creek Tavern.

Helpful?
1 Thank Mercurial1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Osos, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Better Tavern than Grill”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2013

Once for lunch, once for dinner. Same conclusion. Food average at best. TriTip sandwich doesn't hold a candle to the one at McClintock's down the street. Fries had a nice presentation but were limpy; coleslaw room temperature. Lots of pluses: friendly bar, nice wait staff, indoor and outdoor dining, and charming street in Old Village of Arroyo Grande.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank LOinLO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rooster Creek Tavern also viewed

Arroyo Grande, San Luis Obispo County
Arroyo Grande, San Luis Obispo County
 
Arroyo Grande, San Luis Obispo County
Arroyo Grande, San Luis Obispo County
 
Arroyo Grande, San Luis Obispo County
Pismo Beach, San Luis Obispo County
 

Been to Rooster Creek Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing