We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant Dining Experience”

Rooster Creek Tavern
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Goleta
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Pleasant Dining Experience”
Reviewed May 8, 2013 via mobile

We had a nice meal here last Saturday. Our first time eating there. The service was excellent. The food prompt, hot, and tasty. An odd thing is that there is no indication on the menu that they have soup, but they do. I had a Lemony spinach soup that was very good. I also like that although called a tavern and very sports bar like atmosphere they had many very healthy and upscale choices for dinner. Not just burgers and ribs and fried things. I had sea bass, he had paella. I recommend this, but it does get crowded.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Di B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

261 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    94
    110
    36
    16
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Castle Rock, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
181 reviews
129 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Been Twice, Would come back”
Reviewed April 29, 2013

I went here twice, Once in February and Once in March for St. Pattie's day.

I have to say I was a little irritated with the bartender my first visit; she was continuously serving booze to a very loud, obviously intoxicated individual.

On St. Patties day (second visit) all the other places in town were packed, so a friend and I came looking for drinks and a bite to eat. The service was friendly and the food was excellent. I was disappointed in my mixed drink. While it was quite good, the size vs. price was not appealing to me and I wouldn't order one again. This place makes a good place to go on occasion, but for the price I would have to say quality precedes quantity when you're getting anything. It's a nice hang out for ambiance next to the park and swinging bridge, definitely a classy place to go. I recommend.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Andrew F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shell Beach, California
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Better on our 2nd visit”
Reviewed April 10, 2013

We gave Rooster Creek a second try because we so badly wanted to like this restaurant in Old Town Arroyo Grande. We sat in the bar and enjoyed the festive atmosphere. The salmon salad was quite good and the house wine was a good price. The food was much better the second visit and so was the service.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Erinsam42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arroyo Grande, California
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“good place to eat in Arroyo Grande”
Reviewed March 5, 2013

I really enjoyed the atmosphere of this place. The patio outside is a treat when the weather is good. The food is very good but I felt their prices were a bit high. A better bet is to go for lunch or happy hour unless you have a special occasion to celebrate and you don't mind spending more dough than usual. It can be hard to have a intimate dinner as it can get pretty loud at times but that wouldn't stop me from returning.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Beachtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Clarita
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Food and Atmosphere”
Reviewed February 20, 2013

We were pleasantly surprised by the Rooster Creek Tavern on a recent trip to the area. Lively atmosphere, great food, and good beer on tap. I highly recommend the Gorgonzola, Pear and Arugula pizza with the Scalpin IPA. The Chicken Wrap with Red Peppers is also delicious according to my better half. Prices are very fair.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank GGandCG_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rooster Creek Tavern also viewed

Arroyo Grande, San Luis Obispo County
Arroyo Grande, San Luis Obispo County
 
Arroyo Grande, San Luis Obispo County
Arroyo Grande, San Luis Obispo County
 
Arroyo Grande, San Luis Obispo County
Arroyo Grande, San Luis Obispo County
 

Been to Rooster Creek Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing