We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not the best Hampton Inn!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Arroyo Grande/Pismo Beach Area
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Arroyo Grande
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 28, 2013

We have stayed many times at Hampton Inn hotels and this was not one of the best! Comfortable beds but no fridge or in room safe and room not very well soundproofed. Hot breakfast was ok but seating layout not good and it was difficult to find somewhere to sit and eat. My partner and I eventually had to sit separately for breakfast. Nice pool, jacuzzi and fitness room. Quarterdeck restaurant nearby in easy walking distance is fairly reasonable.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JackieRaymond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lee B, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Arroyo Grande/Pismo Beach Area, responded to this reviewResponded March 8, 2013

Dear JackieRaymond,

thank you for sharing your experience. I apologize that the seating was a challenge to sit when you went for breakfast. I see that you booked one of our standard rooms. Unfortunately those rooms do not have refrigerators and microwaves. All of our suites do have them. there is a safety deposit availble at the front desk that is complimentery. Hopefully you'll give us another opprotunity and check into another room that would make you more comforatble with less noise. Thanks for staying with us and we hope to see you on your next visit to the area! Kind Regards, Lee

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (729)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

625 - 631 of 729 reviews

Reviewed February 25, 2013

I have stayed at this hotel numerous times and have never been let down. Everyone here is very accomodating and they go out of their way to help you. The front desk clerks, the maintenance staff and the breakfast staff were all great. Speaking of the breakfast, Wow! Great selection and tasteful. My family and I have stayed at various hotels in this area and have not found a hotel that provides all that this one does for the value. Will definitely come back.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alfred M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lee B, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Arroyo Grande/Pismo Beach Area, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2013

Dear Alfred M,

Thank you so much for the great review! I will share it with the team. It's really good to hear back from our guests on their experience with us! We look forward to your next visit!
Warm regards to you and your family, Lee

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2013

If all you care about is a clean room and facility, this Hampton Inn will work. It's a newer property and it is indeed very clean. Unfortunately, it falls short in other areas.

We were placed in a room directly adjacent to the elevators. We had to endure the noise of them all night long. We would have requested a room change, but by the time we realized this was going to be a problem, we were already unpacked and ready for bed. It did not help that we could also hear the guests on the other side of the room.

Breakfast was surprisingly bad. The eggs were hard, dry and tasteless. Also, there was not a pork-free alternative. We have noticed that the Hampton Inn and Hilton Garden Inn hotels never have non-pork meats for breakfast. Some of Hilton's competitors make turkey or chicken sausage available to guests. Since other chains do, we will consider other brands after using-up our remaining Hilton Honors credits -- especially after this 'mediocre at best' stay.

Lastly, this was the first stay at any Hilton property where we not asked how our stay was when checking-out. By the time I saw the 100% satisfaction notice, it was too late. We had already checked-out. Thankfully, we were only here for one night.

If you are considering staying here, insist on a room that is not adjacent to the elevators. Also, request the top floor if available. The hotel is built on a hill and you have to go down to get to the first floor.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank GGandCG_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lee B, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Arroyo Grande/Pismo Beach Area, responded to this reviewResponded February 21, 2013

Dear GGandCG_1,

I am sorry we didn't realize you had a problem with the elevator noise. We are happy to update your profile for you to request 'away from elevators' for any future reservations you may book. As for the breakfast I understand you didn't like the eggs and wanted other than pork items of which we do offer. It is Brand standard to change the breakfast items daily to give our guest variety so we aren't serviing the same thing over and over day after day. Hopefully, you will give us another chance to give you a memorable experience and we can certainly make arrangements to provide a room in a more suitable location for you. Just let us know and we'll do our best! Kind Regards, Lee

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2013

Great value, pet friendly, clean, great people. We just stayed overnight, but enjoyed the stay. Breakfast was very good. Reception very helpful. We were on the first floor - the lobby is on the third floor. The first floor has a little bit of feel like a dungeon and we had some noise from the room above us. Otherwise first class.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DoctorJoe_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lee B, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Arroyo Grande/Pismo Beach Area, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2013

Dear Dr. Joe_12,

I enjoyed your great review and will share it with our Team. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay with us and hope you will come back to stay the next time you're in the area! The first floor is assigned especially for our guests with pets. This makes for easier access to the side exit to take them for walks. The hotel is built on a hill so the rooms that have more sunlight would be on the freeway side. Just let us know and we will see which room works out better for you! Looking forward to your next visit! Kind Regards, Lee

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2013

I stayed for 7 nights at the Hampton Inn Arroyo Grande. The room was AWESOME and the hotel staff was incredibly friendly...especially Peg at the front desk. She gave me pointers on restaurants in the area and in the evening she wanted to hear all about my escapes for the day. I WILL stay here again, for 10 days next time.

Room Tip: I didn't see the other rooms but mine was fabulous
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lee B, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Arroyo Grande/Pismo Beach Area, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2013

Dear Linda M,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. It's always a pleasure to hear from our guests about their experience. I will pass on the great comments about Peg and the team. We look forward to your 10 day visit with us next time! Warm Regards, Lee

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2013

Beware of 'accessible' room offers. That's what we were stuck with because of an early arrival, I guess. It certainly was NOT requested. Question is: how can you give out accessible room first if you really intend to fill the needs of a person who might need such facilities? Also read the 'Pismofamily' comments. Unless Hilton has changed is policies, this property is not representative of 'the old Hilton' I remember. I'm of the opinion the accommodations business is very competitive 'until arrival'.

Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Sunnyvale89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lee B, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Arroyo Grande/Pismo Beach Area, responded to this reviewResponded February 5, 2013

Dear Sunnyvale89,

So sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy the room that you had. We try to be sure to give our guests rooms that they are comfortable with and make every effort to give our early arrival guests a room as soon as one is available. We pre-assign all of the guests requesting accessible rooms and be sure that we provide those rooms for them first. I hope you will give us another try! Just contact the hotel directly and we will discuss the room type that you would prefer and pre-assign that for you. Thank you for staying with us! Kind Regards, Lee

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2013

There's much to recommend this hotel. The hotel is easy to find and conveniently located right off the freeway with free parking. We picked this hotel mostly because my husband is a Hilton Diamond member and we needed a convenient place to stay with 3 children while our middle son competed at a robotics competition at Cal Poly. Our room was clean and large enough to accomodate our whole family. It was located on the same floor as the reception area, facing the parking lot. We didn't hear any street noise and very little noise from other guests. The only issue we had with the room was that the desk chair was broken. However, within a few minutes of calling the front desk, the desk clerk personally brought us a new chair. This hotel really stood out because the staff was so friendly. Every time we passed through the lobby, the desk clerk talked to us. We also received a call, making sure we had everything we needed. We enjoyed the heated pool and jacuzzi, which feels private since it faces the hill. The hotel also has a nice exercise room which opens bright and early at 6am. I was able to run 3 miles on the treadmill before my family members woke up. We enjoyed the breakfast, there were plenty of options (cereal, pastry, fruit salad, waffles etc.)

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank California_momofsix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lee B, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Arroyo Grande/Pismo Beach Area, responded to this reviewResponded February 1, 2013

Dear California Mom of six,

Thank you for sharing your wonderful experience with us and the world of travelers! I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay with us! I will pass on to the staff the wonderful friendly service they rpovided to you. It's always nice to share the guest experience with the team! Thank you again for staying with us! We hope to see you again the next time you visit the area! Warm Regards, Lee

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arroyo Grande
0.3 mi away
Best Western Casa Grande Inn
Best Western Casa Grande Inn
#1 of 5 in Arroyo Grande
1,040 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Pismo Beach
Hilton Garden Inn Pismo Beach
#13 of 29 in Pismo Beach
894 reviews
1.1 mi away
Oxford Suites Pismo Beach
Oxford Suites Pismo Beach
#11 of 29 in Pismo Beach
1,431 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Grover Beach-Pismo Beach Area
3.1 mi away
Cottage Inn by the Sea
Cottage Inn by the Sea
#8 of 29 in Pismo Beach
1,251 reviews
3.0 mi away
SeaCrest OceanFront Hotel
SeaCrest OceanFront Hotel
#9 of 29 in Pismo Beach
2,034 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Arroyo Grande/Pismo Beach Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Arroyo Grande/Pismo Beach Area

Address: 1400 W Branch St, Arroyo Grande, CA 93420-1826
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Arroyo Grande
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Arroyo Grande
Price Range: $106 - $223 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Arroyo Grande/Pismo Beach Area 2.5*
Number of rooms: 103
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Arroyo Grande/Pismo Beach Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites Arroyo Grande
Hampton Inn & Suites Arroyo Grande Hotel Arroyo Grande

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing