We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Place to Stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Arroyo Grande/Pismo Beach Area

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Arroyo Grande/Pismo Beach Area
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Arroyo Grande
Certificate of Excellence
Arizona, Usa
Level Contributor
44 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great Place to Stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2012

Most friendly and welcoming hotel we've stayed at ever! Amber at the front desk made us feel like the most important guest at the hotel. Fabulous breakfasts, great amenities, pool and spa in perfect condition, and the entire property was spotless. My family used the fitness center both days and reported it was beautiful and very clean. The guest room was like the rest of the property, super clean and neat. Complimentary WIFI worked at high speed and without a single glitch. The property is about 5 minutes to the beach, is surrounded by shopping centers and restaurants. When I was in traveling for business I would have been delighted to stay here. I recommend this property for Business, couples, family (Like us) and solos.

Room Tip: Rooms away from the freeway are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Grampy46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lee B, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Arroyo Grande/Pismo Beach Area, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Hello Grampy46,
Thank you so much for the great reviews about our Hotel! I will definately share your comments with Amber. It's so delightful to hear you had a wonderful stay with us! We look forward to your next visit! Thank you again and we'll see you soon! Warm Regards, Lee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

646 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    309
    214
    73
    34
    16
See reviews for
268
188
34
90
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2012

My fiancee and I stayed here recently on a whim after returning from a trip to Las Vegas. We were leery since we were not familiar with this hotel. Once we arrived, we were pleasantly surprised. The woman at the front desk was so friendly and really went out of her way to make us feel welcome. She recommended a restaurant for us to try complete with spot-on directions. The room was clean and beautiful and the breakfast, while not exceptional, was more than we expected. All in all it was a wonderful stay and we will recommend this for all of our out of town guests.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lee B, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Arroyo Grande/Pismo Beach Area, responded to this review, September 7, 2012
Good Morning and thank you for staying with us at the Hampton Inn & Suites Arroyo Grande! So happy that you enjoyed your visit with us! I will share your comments with my staff to show that all their hard work does not go unnoticed. Thank you again for the great comments and we hope to see you next time you're in the area. Warm Regards, Lee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White Rock, Canada
Level Contributor
133 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

Actual rating = 3.25

Being a fairly new property, the Hampton Inn Arroyo Grande felt and looked both clean and functional. Though, there was a dead bird on the windowsill outside our room. It happens sometimes. The Hampton has a nice location with a peek-a-boo view from some of the rooms and pool. The room was well designed, with a good bathroom, but, the walls ARE thin. Traffic noise from the highway below might be noticeable to some in rooms facing the road. It didn't bother us. The staff were friendly and accommodating, we had no problem getting a double queen room with our Priceline rate. We found the complimentary breakfast to be about average. The Hampton is close to some decent restaurants and shopping.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the parking lot have less road noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank protravel1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lee B, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Arroyo Grande/Pismo Beach Area, responded to this review, September 7, 2012
Thank you for sharing your experience at the Hampton Inn & Suites Arroyo Grande. I enjoyed your description of the peek-a-boo view that is available from some of the rooms. I am sorry about the dead bird. We recently had the invasion of swallows (federally protected nests) that recently dispursed. We are addressing the clean-up issues and hope to have a full remedy in place before they try to return. I'm glad the highway noise didn't disturb you. We try to ask all of our guests if they are sensitive to noise so we can assign their room in the most logical areas in the hotel. Thank you again for staying with us and your sharing comments! We hope you will visit us again the next time you're in the area. Warm Regards, Lee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
293 reviews
115 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2012

Finally had the opportunity to stay at this newer Hampton Inn the in the Arroyo Grande/Pismo Beach area. Front staff was friendly and provided me with directions to local restaurants.

Breakfast was the typical Hampton Inn food with nothing extraordinary. Happy to see two waffle irons. Hotel is located next to the 101 but you can request rooms on the east side toward the parking lot which are less noisy.

I'm a Gold HH member so I was pleased to see my ammenity in the room. My only minor complaint was the used desk chair with the worn arm sides which I thought was highly unusual for a two year newer Hampton Inn.

Room Tip: Rooms on the east side facing the parking lot are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EdUrias
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lee B, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Arroyo Grande/Pismo Beach Area, responded to this review, September 1, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write your review for our Hotel. I welcome any information to help us to make any neccessary improvements. As you mention about the desk chair arms are in poor condition, we are addressing the problem as soon as possible. I appreciate your comments and thank you for being a Hilton Hnors Gold member and enjoyed your snack. We look forward to your next visit with us! Have a wonderful Labor Day Weekend! Kind Regards, Lee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2012

We have a small dog and I find it difficult to live it when I travel. That hotel is pet friendly. They don't charge any extras for pets. They put us on the first floor where there was easy access to the street.
The whole facility is newer, so the décor is modern and pleasant. The room was spacious and clean.
The location is unfortunate because is right next to the freeway on one side and to the hill on the other side. It was a little bit noisy when you open the window since we faced the freeway side. Pool side is rather small and next to the bare hillside. However it is also close (walking distance) to the shopping center and various grocery stores.
Breakfast is good and nicely organized. Staff is very friendly and professional. Overall it is the best hotel in the area.

Room Tip: Ask for a room oposite to freeway. If you have a pet, you are alow to stay on level one but ask for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GraooGra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lee B, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Arroyo Grande/Pismo Beach Area, responded to this review, September 1, 2012
Thank you for sharing your experience with us! I'm so glad you and your little four-legged friend found our facility comfortable. I will share the great comments with my staff to encourage them to keep up the good work! So happy you found us the best hotel in the area for your needs. We look forward to your next visit with us! Have a wonderful Labor Day Weekend! Kind Regards, Lee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2012

We stayed here in June as we were in town for my daughters softball tournament and I'm glad we did. It was also graduation weekend for Cal Poly so everything in the area was really booked. We got the best deal we could on Hotwire and crossed our fingers.

The hotel itself is fairly new, the rooms were nice and simple. Beds were comfy. Free Wi-fi, free parking and no charge for a roll-away bed. Staff was really nice and the breakfast was good. Also simple but good and perfect for us as we were on the go early in the morning.

There was also a shopping centers close by with a Wal-Mart, In & Out, Movie theatre, etc.

I'd come back and stay here again.

Room Tip: Request a room that does not face the freeway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank I_heart_my_loves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lee B, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Arroyo Grande/Pismo Beach Area, responded to this review, August 22, 2012
Thank you for staying with us in June for your soccer tournament. Hope your team won! I'm pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to your next visit to the area! Warm Regards, Lee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chino Hills, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2012 via mobile

Party of four stayed at this hotel from Friday to Sunday. The room was clean, staff was friendly even when we checked in later than expected. I liked the fact that they offer complimentary toiletries if you forgot them at home. Great location- only 5 minutes drive to downtown Pismo Beach and 5 minutes to Grover Beach (ATV sand dunes). We didn't like our room (115) because it was right next to the fitness center and we can hear the treadmills and machines next door, and the fitness center is open from 6:00 to 11:00. The breakfast was ok...smelled better than it tasted. Also, we found it cheaper to book on the Hampton Inn website directly than to go through any other travel websites - not sure if this is just a fluke or if it's something that's consistent.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank MLdeKrieger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lee B, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Arroyo Grande/Pismo Beach Area, responded to this review, August 22, 2012
I read your review of our hotel and glad you took the time to share your experience with us! I apologize if you did not like the location of your room or the taste of breakfast. We typically will offer to move you to another room if you find it less than suitable. The breakfast items are changed daily so I'm not sure what items you chose to try but I assure you that we can find something you like from the large selection we offer. Just let us know and we will be happy to help with your preferred selections. The booking process can be tricky and we always advise our guests to contact Hilton or the hotel directly rather than chance it with another booking site. Thanks again for taking the time to let us know how we can better suit your needs and we look froward to your next visit with us! Warm Regards, Lee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arroyo Grande
0.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Casa Grande Inn
BEST WESTERN Casa Grande Inn
#1 of 5 in Arroyo Grande
4.0 of 5 bubbles 921 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Pismo Beach
Hilton Garden Inn Pismo Beach
#13 of 27 in Pismo Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 792 reviews
3.0 mi away
SeaCrest OceanFront Hotel
SeaCrest OceanFront Hotel
#5 of 27 in Pismo Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,847 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
The Inn at the Cove
The Inn at the Cove
#2 of 27 in Pismo Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,262 reviews
1.1 mi away
Oxford Suites Pismo Beach
Oxford Suites Pismo Beach
#10 of 27 in Pismo Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,263 reviews
3.1 mi away
Cottage Inn by the Sea
Cottage Inn by the Sea
#6 of 27 in Pismo Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Arroyo Grande/Pismo Beach Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Arroyo Grande/Pismo Beach Area

Property: Hampton Inn & Suites Arroyo Grande/Pismo Beach Area
Address: 1400 W Branch St, Arroyo Grande, CA 93420-1826
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Arroyo Grande
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Arroyo Grande
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Arroyo Grande/Pismo Beach Area 2.5*
Number of rooms: 103
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Arroyo Grande/Pismo Beach Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn & Suites Arroyo Grande Hotel Arroyo Grande
Hampton Inn And Suites Arroyo Grande

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing