We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hampton Inn Still Great Value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Arroyo Grande/Pismo Beach Area
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Arroyo Grande
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 12, 2011

This is a very nice new Hampton Inn.

The staff were very welcoming and helpful.

The location is good and a great stop off on the way down the coast.

We love Hamptons and this one just reinforced our opinion!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charlville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (747)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

709 - 715 of 747 reviews

Reviewed December 8, 2011

Nice designed hotel. Better than the average Hampton. Nice high ceilings. Great staff. Small problem with the heater and they moved my room in less than 5 minutes! Very clean with good location. Frwy not so close and very little road noise. Nice room price for this property was slighlty below average. I will stay here again!

Room Tip: Ask for a room farther away from Hwy 101.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank leshlb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2011

This Hampton Inn is relatively new and in the heart of Arroyo Grande, close to US 101 near Pusmo Beach and surrounding wineries. The inn was uncrowded, perfectly maintained and very, very clean. Our room was on the 4th floor, facing the parking lot, away from the frontage road that parallels US 101. If you are a light sleeper ask for a room away from the freeway side. The room was spacious, free wi-fi is provided, and has a small efficiency area that has a microwave, dorm size refrigerator and bar sink. In room coffee and tea & microwave popcorn are stocked. The fitness room on the first floor has 4 treadmills, 2 steppers, 2 bikes and free weights. We used the room for 2 hours and were not joined by any other guests. The equipment is top if the line and tv's with headphones are provided at each unit. Justin, the evening desk clerk, was helpful in offering restaurant recommendations and was extremely gracious. The customer service was outstanding! He even called a restaurant to make reservations for us at the popular Jocko's Resturant in Nipomo (about 12 miles south). Breakfast in the morning is also provided as is the norm for Hampton Inns. Thre area was kept clean and stocked with breakfast foods that were more than adequate. Some previous reviews of this property described minor housekeeping issues but the "bugs" seem to be worked out and we would stay here anytime we travel the central California coast. The price, hospitality, amenities, cleanliness & closeness to area wineries, beaches, San Luis Obispo and restaurants make this a very good value.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bill B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2011

This hotel is brand new and couldn't be more comfortable. Great beds and linens and bathroom is huge. Only complaint is TV's are a little small for the size of the room. (But the rooms are huge). Breakfast was very good and had lots of options. I think some of the rooms on the top floors even have ocean views. We couldn't find rooms in San Luis Obispo that were reasonably priced so stayed in Arroyo Grande, it's an easy 15 minute drive to SLO.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BigTraveler47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2011

My niece and I stayed here the night of November 17. Our double queen room was fine and the service was fine. I paid $107 with our AAA discount.

Justine was working the front desk and was very cheerful and helpful. GREAT at his job.

Who was not great was the architect of this place. It is almost your typical Hampton but not quite. It has a strange vibe to it. It is almost brand new and our bathroom door had a huge gash across it. This is because the door to the room and the bathroom door hit each other when both are open. How is it possible that in 2011, with decades and thousands of examples of hotel space, they would make such a mistake? Weird.

The hotel sits right on the freeway. The windows open for fresh air but the noise level, even in our “quiet” room, was too heavy to sleep with an open window. But, with the window closed the noise level was not a problem.

Cutting to the chase, here are the pros and cons of our stay:

Pros:
Good beds and bedding.

Great front desk service.

Clean, new facility.

Easy freeway access.


Cons:
Coffee service 24 inches from the TOILET? GROSS! This is 2011 - hasn't someone come up with a better place/design for that?

Breakfast. The "eggs" and "sausage" were awful. And, IMO would be better to have less choice and a bit better quality. All seemed like it just wasn’t very well thought out.

HUGE gash on bathroom door. Unfortunate room design. Bathroom and main door in wrong places and difficult to maneuver.

Need instructions for heating and cooling system. Turned all buttons to off but fan on window wall went on and off all night.
Shower head WAY TOO HIGH. I am 5'7 and had trouble reaching it.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room on the top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Butterkupp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2011

New, clean friendly. Hampton Inns are really buffing their brand. The rooms are large with free wifi, coffee and a great comfy bed.
Breakfast is free in the lobby and has the usual suspects. There's a small fitness room and pool as well.
The location is great. Right off the 101 so you can get on and off quickly. It's also real close to downtown Arroyo Grande which is a cool little, rustic town.

Room Tip: Stay away from the lobby. It can get noisy. Also, rooms facing the 101 may get noisy as well.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BuLife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2011

Yes it's brand new and clean, but this hotel has the thinest walls and windows. Since we could hear our next room conversation and TV sounds so clearly, we requested to change our room immediately. Then the next room was facing on a highway and a regular road. The room was facing the uphill of the highway, so car acceleration noise continued throughout the night....
The only request I had was to have a quiet room. I couldn't get a quiet room even paying for $160+. If you are a light sleeper, I strongly suggest you not stay here. We usually stay at Atascadero holiday inn, it's also a newer facility , but cheaper, and the most importantly they have quiet rooms available.
One good thing - breakfast was decent.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank SJTraveler39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arroyo Grande
0.3 mi away
Best Western Casa Grande Inn
Best Western Casa Grande Inn
#1 of 5 in Arroyo Grande
1,077 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Pismo Beach
Hilton Garden Inn Pismo Beach
#13 of 29 in Pismo Beach
918 reviews
1.1 mi away
Oxford Suites Pismo Beach
Oxford Suites Pismo Beach
#11 of 29 in Pismo Beach
1,447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Grover Beach-Pismo Beach Area
3.1 mi away
Cottage Inn by the Sea
Cottage Inn by the Sea
#5 of 29 in Pismo Beach
1,289 reviews
5.4 mi away
Spyglass Inn
Spyglass Inn
#10 of 29 in Pismo Beach
873 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Arroyo Grande/Pismo Beach Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Arroyo Grande/Pismo Beach Area

Address: 1400 W Branch St, Arroyo Grande, CA 93420-1826
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Arroyo Grande
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Arroyo Grande
Price Range: $98 - $174 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Arroyo Grande/Pismo Beach Area 2.5*
Number of rooms: 103
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Arroyo Grande/Pismo Beach Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn & Suites Arroyo Grande Hotel Arroyo Grande
Hampton Inn And Suites Arroyo Grande

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing