We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely Place, Delightful Hosts”

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Arroyo Grande
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
House of Another Tyme
Santa Barbara, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely Place, Delightful Hosts”
Reviewed March 24, 2014

This was our 2nd stay here in the past few years and it felt like going home, only the bed was more comfortable than ours at home! It's not a fancy place but very nice; clean, comfortable and interesting; lots of clocks and antiques to look at, many books, lovely gardens. Jack and Judy are a delightful couple and they really make you feel at home; they are very friendly and accommodating without being intrusive. The location is just a couple blocks from downtown, so you can walk to restaurants if you want. Breakfast was delicious and Judy had apple pie waiting for us when we got home in the evening. The price is quite reasonable for the area.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carolbga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
20
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Yaphank, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 1, 2014

My husband and I spent the last week of January at this B&B. Judy is a wonderful warm host and she makes wonderful breakfasts ! We always had fresh fruit and a different surprise each morning catering to our preferences. My husband loved the eggs, blueberry pancakes and french toast. Our room was comfortable and bright,and we loved that the B&B was within walking distance to town. Judy has beautiful gardens outside to sit in, and a cute rabbit that alternates between hiding or entertaining guests . We aren't looking forward to going back to the cold, but .....We will be back! Elaine and Wayne Long Island

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elaine R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
190 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2013

Stayed at this B & B for two nights and I must say that it was exactly as I think a B & B should be. Judy and Jack - the hosts - were wonderful - gracious and helpful. It is an informal kind of a place - just like being in someone's home. The room was comfortable and quiet, the food was good and the B & B which is decorated with their clock and teacup collections was really pretty. I have been in more sophisticated B & Bs some of which were really elegant but certainly most as not as warm and comfortable as this one.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kardex2dog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fullerton, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 7, 2013

This is the first B&B that I have ever stayed at and it was a great experience! Judy is a great hostess and very accommodating. I was put at ease and immediately felt at home about 30 seconds after I got there. Can't beat that.

I was in Arroyo Grande for a triathlon at Lake Lopez and the location from the B&B to the lake was very convenient. If I participate in the triathlon again next year I know where I'll be staying!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lasharac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Clarita, California
Level Contributor
42 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2013

While looking for a quick get-away for our anniversary, my husband remembered a review of this B&B from the LA Times. It was everything and more than the article said. Judy is the most gracious hostess. We felt like we were visiting an old friend. She anticipated our every need - even bringing blankets to us outside on the garden bench! The breakfasts were superb and the bedroom quiet and comfortable. It is a very short walk down the hill a block into the village. It truly is a House of Another Tyme - a time to slow your pace...

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cherokee_in_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moraga
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2012

This beautifully decorated B&B has antique clocks and tea cups every where. We loved sitting in the cozy and spacious living room spent our quiet time reading. Our bed was very comfortable and covered with high quality sheets. We loved Judy's breakfast of fruits, bacon, eggs, and mini french toast. This was our first time to visit this area and we already booked the second stay coming up in the next two weeks.

Room Tip: The owner would let you choose any room you wish, first come, first serve. All the rooms (3 of them...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank K00000000G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ojai, CA
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2012

When staying in B&B's, I'm usually worried about the quality of the mattress, but House of Another Tyme was exceptional. Our room (The Heritage Room) was filled with antiques and clocks. Oh, the clocks. One evening we sat in the living room to read for a bit before bed, and we counted over 20 antique clocks in the living room alone. (No worries, they are not ticking.)
Judy, the owner, was gracious and earthy, if those can co-exist. She happily greeted us in barefeet and warned us not to step on the baby lizards that might be on the steps (we came in through the back). I liked her immediately.
Unlike many owners, Judy was happy to talk to us about the whole B&B experience, from how they came to this decision and how it works for them today. We learned much from her!
They ONLY downside was the quiche served at breakfast. It was very dry and all of us, including the other couple there, just ate the cheese off the top. But it sure wouldn't prevent me from staying there again. Overall, a wonderful place!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Heritage Room - quiet, spacious, and very nicely done.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JLOjai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arroyo Grande
1.6 mi away
Best Western Casa Grande Inn
Best Western Casa Grande Inn
#1 of 5 in Arroyo Grande
4.0 of 5 bubbles 960 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Arroyo Grande/Pismo Beach Area
5.0 mi away
The Inn at the Cove
The Inn at the Cove
#2 of 27 in Pismo Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Spyglass Inn
Spyglass Inn
#11 of 27 in Pismo Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 796 reviews
4.4 mi away
Cottage Inn by the Sea
Cottage Inn by the Sea
#6 of 27 in Pismo Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,174 reviews
3.2 mi away
The Casitas of Arroyo Grande
The Casitas of Arroyo Grande
#1 of 6 in Arroyo Grande
5.0 of 5 bubbles 189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to House of Another Tyme? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about House of Another Tyme

Property: House of Another Tyme
Address: 227 Le Point St, Arroyo Grande, CA 93420-2711
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Arroyo Grande
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Arroyo Grande
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing