We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Very Elegant B&B”

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Arroyo Grande
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
House of Another Tyme Bed & Breakfast
Reviewed September 4, 2012

This beautifully decorated B&B has antique clocks and tea cups every where. We loved sitting in the cozy and spacious living room spent our quiet time reading. Our bed was very comfortable and covered with high quality sheets. We loved Judy's breakfast of fruits, bacon, eggs, and mini french toast. This was our first time to visit this area and we already booked the second stay coming up in the next two weeks.

Room Tip: The owner would let you choose any room you wish, first come, first serve. All the rooms (3 of them...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank K00000000G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (29)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

18 - 24 of 29 reviews

Reviewed July 26, 2012

When staying in B&B's, I'm usually worried about the quality of the mattress, but House of Another Tyme was exceptional. Our room (The Heritage Room) was filled with antiques and clocks. Oh, the clocks. One evening we sat in the living room to read for a bit before bed, and we counted over 20 antique clocks in the living room alone. (No worries, they are not ticking.)
Judy, the owner, was gracious and earthy, if those can co-exist. She happily greeted us in barefeet and warned us not to step on the baby lizards that might be on the steps (we came in through the back). I liked her immediately.
Unlike many owners, Judy was happy to talk to us about the whole B&B experience, from how they came to this decision and how it works for them today. We learned much from her!
They ONLY downside was the quiche served at breakfast. It was very dry and all of us, including the other couple there, just ate the cheese off the top. But it sure wouldn't prevent me from staying there again. Overall, a wonderful place!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Heritage Room - quiet, spacious, and very nicely done.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JLOjai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2012

This was our second stay at the House of Another Tyme B&B and we’ll be back! By now it feels like coming home when we stay there. Judy & Jack are genuine, friendly and accommodating hosts, the rooms are cozy, clean and comfortable, the food delicious. The village of Arroyo Grande with nice shops is worth a visit.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SweetCountryWoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2012

We very much enjoyed our stay here. A spacious, comfortable room with spacious, comfortable public areas. Although we only were able to stay one night, we felt very well-taken care of by our hosts. Judy gave us all the information and tips we needed, was a great conversationalist, and made us feel right at home, encouraging us to use the kitchen, refrigerator and dining room.
She even made popcorn and asked us if we wanted some. We admired her garden and she gave us some cuttings for the succulent garden we were starting at home. We left with a wonderful feeling for House of Another Tyme.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LifelongTravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2012

We've met many efficient innkeepers, but true hospitality is rare. Jack and Judy Tiedemann's attitude is more than welcoming, it's true hospitality. At House of Another Tyme you don't just occupy a room, you relax in a home, one furnished with a hundred clocks but not a smidgen of time pressure. We were greeted with, "You've had a long trip. Would you like some coffee? We'll have some fresh cookies out of the oven in a few minutes to go with the coffee." And the welcome was complete: "Use all the rooms, help yourself to the snacks in the fridge. Would you enjoy sitting in the garden and reading? Want to pet the garden's rabbit? Sip the wine you bought in the village? Play the piano? Pull a book from any of several hundred lining the bookcases?" We can truly say we never felt more cared for, more "at home." HAT is a great place if you're relocating and looking at possible rentals or purchases, which we were. Indeed, we liked House of Another Tyme so much we really would have preferred a permanent visit to purchasing our own place in Arroyo Grande, which looks like a great community. We strongly recommend this place!

Room Tip: We loved the Le Pointe room. It's light and airy and very comfortable. However, another room has...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LindaPD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2011

We came up for the Cal Poly Graduation Ceremony. Perfect for us to stay. It was a home away from home. It is a B&B and they did advertise that it isn't appropriate for childen. You'll get it when you are there as it is a quiet, serene peaceful place. There are alot of beautiful detailed touches that a child could break. There really isn't a place for children to run around. It's a time and place stay where there are 3 rooms with a queen bed, plenty of space to put your stuff, and roomy private bath. Keep in mind that again this is a B&B therefore in this case there is no TV, radio, landline phone or alarm clock in your room - the name of the house goes with its theme. Judy serves a divine full breakfast that has fruit and a specialty dish. Jack & Judy are kind to consider what you like to eat and drink. They go out of their way to make you comfortable. They want you to think you are at home. We felt at home and would come back again to stay. It is a great value to stay there as well as situated well. The village of Arroyo Grande is easily walked to. Pismo and SLO are within easy driving. What was great in this situation was SLO was absolutely nuts b/c of the graduation. Arroyo Grande was perfect. We found a great restaurant for the entire family to gather (Gina's) and enjoyed the end of a wonderful day celebrating. Again Jack & Judy are wonderful. They are so willing to share. Judy shared her recipe for french toast souffle which was off the hook! I loved one of her outdoor plants. She went out and grabbed me some to bring home & plant! We look forward to staying there again!

Room Tip: Call Jack and Judy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank stargazer668
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2011

Our stay at the House of Another Tyme was a truly heartwarming experience. The home of Jack & Judy is a nicely decorated house with charming rooms, within walking distance to the village with nice shops. Judy went out of her way to make us feel at home. We were spoiled with delicious food (yummy cookies and a wonderful breakfast adjusted to our personal preferences). We also enjoyed meeting the other guests, genuinely nice people. Excellent value and a memorable stay. We will definitely return when we're in the area again.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SweetCountryWoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Arroyo Grande hotels
1.6 mi away
Best Western Casa Grande Inn
Best Western Casa Grande Inn
#1 of 5 in Arroyo Grande
1,082 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Arroyo Grande/Pismo Beach Area
0.7 mi away
Aloha Inn
Aloha Inn
#3 of 5 in Arroyo Grande
242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Premier Inn
Premier Inn
#5 of 5 in Arroyo Grande
96 reviews
0.8 mi away
Beachway Inn
Beachway Inn
#4 of 5 in Arroyo Grande
21 reviews
3.2 mi away
The Casitas of Arroyo Grande
The Casitas of Arroyo Grande
#1 of 6 in Arroyo Grande
207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to House of Another Tyme Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about House of Another Tyme Bed & Breakfast

Address: 227 Le Point St, Arroyo Grande, CA 93420
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Arroyo Grande
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Arroyo Grande
Price Range: $80 - $120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing