We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (469)
Filter reviews
469 results
Traveler rating
459
10
0
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
459
10
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswine and cheesechef brucegreat roomhot tubfrench toastblack beansbed and breakfastperfect hostsget awayafternoon winebear valleygrounds are beautifulcalaveras big trees state parkwalk in showerevery aspectcrackersstayed longer
Filter
Updating list...
24 - 29 of 469 reviews
Reviewed November 25, 2017

We had an enjoyable hike in Big Trees State park followed by a wonderful stay at the Black Bear Inn. Our room and bed were comfortable, the outdoor hot tub was decidedly nice and breakfast in the morning was truly special. I would recommend this unique inn to anyone and hope to make a return visit next fall.

  • Stayed: October 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank epescosolido2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wendi D, Owner at Arnold Black Bear Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 26, 2017

So glad you enjoyed your stay - that park is pretty special! Look forward to seeing you again sometime!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2017

My husband and I got married here 10-21-17 and it was the perfect place to have our wedding. We booked the wedding package and came a day early (Thursday) to set up. I highly recommend this venue as well as booking an additional night and arriving a day early. Our wedding was very intimate with just 16 people. The inn owners Wendi and Bruce are so warm and welcoming. You can feel the pride they have for their beautiful home. The grounds are beautifully maintained and the inside of the inn is immaculate with gorgeous high ceilings.

Our ceremony was held outside and was stunning with the fall leaves in the background. With such a small group we were lucky enough to be able to have Chef Bruce cater our reception dinner inside the inn. We had the most amazing prime rib dinner. It was excellently prepared. The first course was a butternut squash bisque that is so good that I would make the trip back just for that!

The 5 rooms were perfect for us with our closest family. We were able to take our time setting up which was so easy with Wendi's help. Throughout the entire wedding planning process Wendi was just an email away. She was so helpful, I am sure I could not have planned this wedding without her.

Thank you Wendi and Bruce for the perfect wedding experience. We will be seeing you again I'm sure!

Room Tip: Calaveras is the largest room and most appropriate for Bride and Groom
  • Stayed: October 2017, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank 191kelseyf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wendi D, Owner at Arnold Black Bear Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2017

Well, this was a mutual appreciation! We loved hosting your wedding - it was casual, yet elegant; very intimate and definitely special. You and your family were wonderful, and we enjoyed spending the weekend with you to celebrate your most important day! Looking forward to more pictures, and seeing you on your 1-year anniversary!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2017

We were married at Black Bear and celebrate our anniversary there each year, experience is always outstanding, lots of attention to detail and always feel taken care of. Bruce is an outstanding cook and has made us dinner and every morning will make us an excellent breakfast to start out day in the mountains.
Bruce and Wendi are awesome!

  • Stayed: October 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Sarah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wendi D, Owner at Arnold Black Bear Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 27, 2017

Happy Anniversary! We love you guys, and are always happy to have you back for a celebration! See you next year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2017

If you need a break, are looking to get away, celebrating a special occasion, or just want a superb place to stay, look no further. This property is tucked into the trees and off the highway so it is quiet, peaceful, beautifully appointed, clean as a whistle, and the owners (Wendi and Chef Bruce) couldn't be nicer or more professional. Every detail of what makes a property rise to the top of the list has been thought through, addressed, and incorporated into this Inn. The afternoon wine, cheese, and crackers is an extra treat and if you are looking for something really special, have Chef Bruce prepare your dinner. He is a classically trained chef and his culinary expertise will awaken each and every taste bud and you will have a truly memorable experience. We will definitely be visiting in the future.

Stayed: October 2017
Thank Kat654
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wendi D, Owner at Arnold Black Bear Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2017

Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a lovely review. We appreciate that our attention to detail is noticed! We enjoyed having you all here, and look forward to your next visit - hopefully soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2017

The black Bear Inn is excellent in every respect. Beautiful venue, warm hospitality and superb food. The great room is a place to meet others and to enjoy local wines offered by the host. A 4 mile drive brings you to one opf the most beautiful places in California-Calaveras Big Trees State Park.

Room Tip: The Calaveras room is our favorite-somewhat larger than the others with a private deck.
  • Stayed: October 2017, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Thank henry_ralston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wendi D, Owner at Arnold Black Bear Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 21, 2017

We so enjoyed meeting all those Canadians! Thank you, Peter, for continuing to visit, and bringing new friends. We love your trees too - thank you for all that you and Pattie do for the Calaveras Big Trees State Park!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews