We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2nd time at the Inn”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Arnold
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Arnold Black Bear Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Arnold B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 9, 2014

This is the 2nd year in a row we have booked the whole Inn for a weekend getaway with a group of friends from the Bay Area. What an excellent place to relax, unwind, and be pampered by our hosts! Can't say enough about the food, facilities and hospitality, and Wendi and Bruce have now become our friends too. We also enjoyed an excursion farther up Rte 4, past the redwoods to the lakes and mountain passes. On the night we ate out, the nearby Italian restaurant "Serafina" was a great choice.

Room Tip: All rooms are uniquely decorated and as good as each other.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Darwin722
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (450)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

155 - 161 of 450 reviews

Reviewed June 8, 2014

Our third time back at the Black Bear Inn and it is still spectacular. A beautiful 5 guest room B&B with the most friendly and accommodating hosts. Not to mention the outstanding breakfasts and afternoon wine and cheese. We came up with 4 other couples from the Bay Area and had a wonderful time. I look forward to many more trips.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sandie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2014

We really have enjoyed a lot our time in the Black Bear Inn. The room was fantastic and the atention of the propietors excellent. An excellent dinner was the best end for the day that we stayed in this beautiful place. I strongly recomend the Black Bear Inn if you want to have some
time of peace , relax and first clase atention.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eduardo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2014

Nestled in the small town of Arnold off of Oak Circle is a wonderful B&B with five rooms, a grand entrance, and beautiful grounds. When we entered, we were warmly greeted by Wendi in a beautiful common area with high ceilings, exposed wood beams, a wonderful fire place, beautiful leather furniture, and a unique collection of coffee tables. Stunning.

We stayed in the Okanagan, which was beautifully appointed and comfortable with sliders opening up onto a immaculately kept green lawn. The night we stayed, there was a Chef challenge dinner planned. Though we did not have seats to the dinner, the event looked like great fun. Wendi was kind enough to warn us when booking that the common areas might be loud until 10 pm. While the atmosphere was festive, we were not at all bothered by the joviality and appreciate Wendi's acknowledgement of the party.

Bruce, Wendi's husband, is the cook and gardener. The grounds have a golf course feel. The breakfast was a wonderful combination of almond-crusted french toast and fresh fruit. Simple but tasty.

The only downside is the price, but this place is wonderful for a special event.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brad B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2014

We have been returning to the Black Bear Inn for several years, as it is a beautiful facility run by excellent hosts. Bruce and Wendi are exceptionally hospitable, the rooms beautifully furnished, and the Sierra setting superb. We are returning soon for a special occasion with our extended family and, as always, we look forward to our visit.

Room Tip: Each of the 5 rooms is excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank henry_ralston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2014

Generally we would prefer a good motel to a bed and breakfast, as we're not fond of the uncomfortable chumminess forced on us by proximity to other guests and sometimes chatty hosts at the breakfast table and in the living room. But then we stayed at the Black Bear Inn. This is an inn experience to savor. The building and grounds are stunning, tucked into the woods. The massive great room belongs in the Sierra Nevada, with its big beams and stone hearth and expansive chairs and couches. Rooms feature big cozy beds, a gas fire, and outdoor patios. Morning breakfast is substantial, cooked by the owner who is also a chef. In the early evening we were served a seriously good local wine and a lovely plate of domestic and imported cheeses. The wine I’d brought in my suitcase for the weekend went home untouched. We greeted other guests only because we wanted to—we could have enjoyed our wine privately in a corner of the living room. The hosts were unobtrusive but friendly, and once we thawed out a bit were happy to share their knowledge of the area and their own interesting histories—and make us reservations for dinner nearby.

We’ve stayed in Arnold in the past en route to points east, or for its location near Calaveras Big Trees. Now I’ll come JUST for the lodging experience. Yes it’s a splurge but staying here really turns a two night visit into a vacation.

Room Tip: One room is larger with a pullout couch, and has an ADA accessible bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JC-OMCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2014

This is not our first stay at Black Bear and it certainly will not be our last. This is a favorite destination of ours ever since our first stay for our 10th wedding anniversary. It's classy, clean, and just the right amount of privacy. Wendi and Bruce are always there if you need them, for that last minute reservation or just a recommendation on things to do that day.

What they lack in a "fitness center" is more than made up for in hiking trails, bike trails, or cross country skiing if they ever get any snow.

Right now, writing this review, I would much rather be on the couch in the grand room with some fine cheeses and a nice glass of wine. My wife and I can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: There are 5 rooms and they're all great with extremely large bathrooms. The farther you get from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank berrydewd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arnold
1.7 mi away
Mountain Retreat Resort, a VRI resort
10 mi away
Murphys Suites
Murphys Suites
#2 of 4 in Murphys
215 reviews
19.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Sonora Oaks Hotel & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.8 mi away
Murphys Inn Motel
Murphys Inn Motel
#1 of 4 in Murphys
300 reviews
19.8 mi away
Tamarack Lodge At Bear Valley
Tamarack Lodge At Bear Valley
#1 of 2 in Bear Valley
75 reviews
0.5 mi away
Timberline Lodge
Timberline Lodge
#2 of 2 in Arnold
58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arnold Black Bear Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arnold Black Bear Inn

Address: 1343 Oak Circle, PO Box 109, Arnold, CA 95223
Location: United States > California > Arnold
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Arnold
Price Range: $225 - $345 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful Sequoias, amazing scenery and quiet surroundings. You can experience all this and more year round at the only Bed & Breakfast in Arnold, California. The Black Bear Inn is a 5,200 square foot timber frame constructed inn on 1.3 acres in a park-like setting. Our five guest rooms have private baths, king beds, fireplaces, radiant heating and cooling, satellite television. Included in the room rate is a full, gourmet breakfast in the morning, and custom cheese trays & local wines each evening. Custom dinners also available upon request - call for menu options and pricing. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Arnold Black Bear Hotel Arnold

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing