We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Great discovery in Arnold” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Arnold Black Bear Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Arnold
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Arnold Black Bear Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Arnold B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Belmont, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A Great discovery in Arnold”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2014

We were suppose to stay in downtown Murphys, but a nice lady we met at Murphys suggested this B&B instead. She guaranteed me and my husband that this was a better choice. We've never been to Arnold so we were not sure what to expect. What a beauty!! We were greeted by a very gracious and friendly lady who happens to be the owner. Her name is Wendi. As soon as we checked-in and brought our bags to the room we did a bit of walking to the nearby shops. We came back not too long after to relax and unwind to a delightful plate of cheeses and wine. Wendi made dinner reservation for us at the nearby golf lodge which is supposedly open to the public on fridays and saturdays for dinner. It was a nice treat to be able to dine in this private golf resort. We came home after a fun day of exploring Angels Camp, Murphys and Arnold and slept extremely well in our very comfortable bed. We told Wendi that we will have our breakfast at 8:30. We overslept! That's how comfortable we were. Another surprise awaits us at the dining table for breakfast. Bruce is the Chef and Wendi's wonderful husband. The food he prepared looked like something out of a food magazine. It was so well presented. I did not want to touch it. Again, they didn't fail us. It was yummy and delicious. This was a memorable experience and I've already mentioned this to family and friends. We will DEFINITELY be back!! Bruce & Wendi, thank you for your hospitality and welcoming us to your beautiful home. Everything was excellent!

Room Tip: There are only 5 bedrooms. I'm sure all bedrooms are alike or similar to one another.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BeliBau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

416 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    406
    10
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
55
279
11
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2014

Enjoyed our stay immensely. Wished it were longer. The breakfast was perfect and plentiful. Took long walks among the trees at Calaveras big trees state park. Picked up fresh apple donuts at the apple stand on hwy 4. The hot tub outside was devine. Looking up at the stars. I would definitely return.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank swissmisssacramento
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redwood City, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2014

I had my birthday at this charming B&B and could not ask for more. Besides the beautifully appointed rooms with wonderful views and very, very nice bathrooms, besides a very nice simple but very elegant interior of the great room, proprietor’s attention to every detail made our stay and my birthday celebration very special. Wendi and Bill are wonderful hosts and are extremely easy to work with. They treated us like old friends and we and our friends felt as guest in a very warm home. Bill is a terrific chef and the delicious meal (and I am terribly picky) was beautifully served. It was a delightful experience and I am looking forward to going back. Thank you so much Wendi and Bill.

Room Tip: Every room is excellent and has it's own interior design.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Emma S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lodi, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2014

This is a great spot to unwind, as we did, in the Sierras. Bruce and Wendie go out of their way to make sure you are welcome and that your time with them is restful. You must be sure and remain before dinner for their cheese and wine presentation; you will be amazed. Do not miss breakfast; the two of them serve each other to be sure that your meal is delicious and well presented. The presentation is spectacular. The spa and the Jacuzzi are excellent for a rest. The great hall is spectacular as well.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arnold, California
Level Contributor
131 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2013

This will be the third year we had Thanksgiving at the Black Bear Inn and this time we treated ourselves to a whole week. We came home VERY relaxed and happy! They say this is a bed and breakfast, but you really need to arrange for Bruce to cook dinner as well. Ask for what you want and he can make it happen.

For a multi night stay at Thanksgiving, they include dinner. No cooking, no cleaning and Bruce's awesome cooking and Wendi's awesome desserts. The daily wine and cheese is always fun and different each day as is the breakfast. Even after 7 days, we had 7 different things.

Room Tip: 4 of the 5 have Jacuzzi tub.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank anselandyosemite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz, California, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2013

I thoroughly enjoyed my stay at the Black Bear Inn! Wendy and Bruce have done a wonderful job with the place. The wood ceiling in the great room is beautiful! My room, the Tuscany, was so much nicer than it looked on the website, and it looks good on their website. I loved my little fireplace I could turn on with the flip of a switch! The food was incredible! I requested a low carb diet and they accommodated me. The best breakfast and coffee I've ever had in Arnold! When I arrived, I was served a glass of Chatom Vineyard Cabernet Sauvignon "08" , cheeses of my choice, rice crackers, and grapes! It was all so yummy!

Room Tip: I loved the Tuscany. On the website the bedding looks like satin and polyester, but it was all soft...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank julieC9818QZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fremont, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2013

We went up to enjoy the mountains for hiking and fall coloring watching. We've gone to this area for years, but we decided to give the Black Bear Inn a try for the first time. It's a beautiful property, and Wendi and Bruce really know how to take care of you. From helping us pick a winery for our picnic on the way up to selecting good restaurants, they took care of everything. And how about enjoying our late afternoon wine and cheese snack in their beautiful Great Room with wines and cheeses that we selected......really above and beyond what we expected!! And lets not forget the fabulous breakfasts with just the right portions.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 61Roadster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arnold
1.7 mi away
Mountain Retreat Resort
9.9 mi away
Murphys Suites
Murphys Suites
#2 of 4 in Murphys
4.0 of 5 bubbles 187 reviews
16.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Cedar Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Sonora Oaks Hotel & Conference Center
19.8 mi away
Tamarack Lodge At Bear Valley
Tamarack Lodge At Bear Valley
#1 of 1 in Bear Valley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
0.5 mi away
Timberline Lodge
Timberline Lodge
#2 of 2 in Arnold
4.0 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arnold Black Bear Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arnold Black Bear Inn

Property: Arnold Black Bear Inn
Address: 1343 Oak Circle, PO Box 109, Arnold, CA 95223
Location: United States > California > Arnold
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Arnold
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful Sequoias, amazing scenery and quiet surroundings. You can experience all this and more year round at the only Bed & Breakfast in Arnold, California. The Black Bear Inn is a 5,200 square foot timber frame constructed inn on 1.3 acres in a park-like setting. Our five guest rooms have private baths, king beds, fireplaces, radiant heating and cooling, satellite television. Included in the room rate is a full, gourmet breakfast in the morning, and custom cheese trays & local wines each evening. Custom dinners also available upon request - call for menu options and pricing. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Arnold Black Bear Hotel Arnold

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing