We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A relaxing stay in Arnold” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Arnold Black Bear Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Arnold
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Arnold Black Bear Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Arnold B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Fairfax, Virginia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“A relaxing stay in Arnold”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2013

The Black Bear Inn is a quiet, comfortable place for a stay in the sierra foothills. The inn has all the modern amenities and Bruce and Wendi are excellent hosts and very good cooks. They were very helpful with suggestions on things to do and see and places to eat.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank GaryInFairfax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

416 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    406
    10
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
55
279
11
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Folsom, California
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

Wendi and Bruce are so thoughtful and helpful it made our stay so easy. They helped us on places to see and dine. They helped with dietary restrictions. Our meals were wonderful and timely. The rooms are beautiful and relaxing. The general meeting area in the lodge is spacious and comfortable.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Suzyq465
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2013

This was our first visit to Black Bear Inn, but it certainly will not be our last! Starting with the owners,
Wendi and Bruce Davison, they are the epitome of the perfect host. Actually they are more like members of your family in the way you are treated. They go out of their way to make sure you are relaxed and comfortable during your stay and wait on you throughout your visit. They are both very talented individuals and a joy to be with. The Inn is a beautiful designed B& B with large beamed ceilings and heavy wood throughout. They keep the entire interior absolutely clean and orderly. Each of the rooms has its own individual décor. We stayed in the Calaveras Room whose theme was fishing and skiing. The grounds are lush and beautiful. Bruce is an accomplished artist and chef. His chef talents begin in the afternoon with the serving of cheese and crackers together with your favorite wine and again in the morning with your breakfast. We took advantage of his skills for a dinner one night which included a Starter of warm Mediterranean olives, a First Course of a grilled Caesar salad with a housemade dressing and sautéed artichokes. The Main entrée was a bacon-wrapped filet mignon, topped with herb butter, and roasted baby potatoes, and sautéed vegetables with lemon, garlic & basil. The Finish was a Cherry-Berry Crisp, homemade with vanilla ice cream.
We have stayed in many lodgings throughout the US and Europe and have eaten many fine meals. We can honestly recommend The Black Bear Inn on both accounts as one of the finest we have had the fortune in which to stay.

Room Tip: The Calaveras room has a huge walk in shower
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dradyl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pleasant Hill, California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2013

I have been following the Arnold Black Bear Inn for about a year on Facebook and I finally had the opportunity to make the Trip. July 2013 marked my 18th wedding anniversary in addition to both my wife and my birthday. We made a quick overnight trip to the Inn this week and we couldn't have asked for a better experience! Bruce and Wendi are wonderful hosts and Bruce's cooking is to "die for". We would highly recommend that you visit the Inn, it was wonderful. We are looking forward to returning in the winter to play in the snow. Thanks Wendi and Bruce you made our experience Top Notch!

Room Tip: Make sure to dine in at the Inn.....you won't want to eat anywhere else ever again!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LordOlson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gardnerville, Nevada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

This was our fifth visit and it's always like the best home away from home. From the great rooms to the concierge service you can't beat it anywhere. We go for recharging and romance and it always exceeds our expectations. This beats any hotel, motel, or inn anyplace we've ever stayed in during our travels!

Room Tip: A meadow view room is the way to go!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mikenblu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
B
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

The inn is run by two very nice extremely competent individuals (Wendy and Bruce). Wendy runs a tight ship and everything is perfect at the Inn, which is a beautiful building on beautiful grounds, perfectly manicured. Bruce is an accomplished chef. For an additional charge, he and Wendy will cook dinner for you. I highly recommend it. The Inn is literally 5 minutes from Big Trees State Part (the reason we went there) as well as several other places to visit. Overall a great place to stay. Apparently they do quite a few weddings there and I would imagine it would be a perfect place for that too.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Spock1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2013

You know you've found a fantastic b&b when you're biggest complaint is that the beds were a little too soft. Having just gotten rained out of a camping trip, maybe it's just that we were prepared for sleeping on the ground, being cold, and eating camp food. Instead my wife and I went with plan b, and treated ourselves to the little gem that is the Black Bear Inn. Bruce and Wendi, the proprietors, spare nothing to make sure your stay is comfortable and luxurious. From the delicious complimentary wine and cheese in the evening to the relaxing jacuzzi at night and finishing with the best French toast you will ever have (next time we go, we are definitely going to request one of Bruce's dinners -he is a trained chef, and very obviously knows what he is doing) in the morning, you won't be too disappointed if your camping trip gets rained out.

Aaron and Heather

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lemmingsknow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arnold
1.7 mi away
Mountain Retreat Resort
9.9 mi away
Murphys Suites
Murphys Suites
#2 of 4 in Murphys
4.0 of 5 bubbles 187 reviews
16.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Cedar Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Sonora Oaks Hotel & Conference Center
19.8 mi away
Tamarack Lodge At Bear Valley
Tamarack Lodge At Bear Valley
#1 of 1 in Bear Valley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
0.5 mi away
Timberline Lodge
Timberline Lodge
#2 of 2 in Arnold
4.0 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arnold Black Bear Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arnold Black Bear Inn

Property: Arnold Black Bear Inn
Address: 1343 Oak Circle, PO Box 109, Arnold, CA 95223
Location: United States > California > Arnold
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Arnold
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful Sequoias, amazing scenery and quiet surroundings. You can experience all this and more year round at the only Bed & Breakfast in Arnold, California. The Black Bear Inn is a 5,200 square foot timber frame constructed inn on 1.3 acres in a park-like setting. Our five guest rooms have private baths, king beds, fireplaces, radiant heating and cooling, satellite television. Included in the room rate is a full, gourmet breakfast in the morning, and custom cheese trays & local wines each evening. Custom dinners also available upon request - call for menu options and pricing. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Arnold Black Bear Hotel Arnold

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing