We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Renewal of spirit guaranteed”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Arnold
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Arnold Black Bear Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Arnold B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 1, 2013

In anticipation of getting married at Black Bear Inn, my fiancee and I stayed overnight on Saturday March 30th. Having visited the property a couple of times previously, we knew we were in for a treat. We arrived Saturday afternoon and were warmly welcomed by Wendi and Bruce and shown to our beautiful room which just happens to be mere steps from the outdoor hot tub. The weather report indicated rain but it was a gorgeous sunny day so we took in some local sights. We returned to the Inn that afternoon to a delicious wine and cheese reception and chatted with some of the other guests. One couple were returning guests and make Black Bear Inn their relaxation destination about 3 times a year (this is now our plan too!!) After a fantastic night's sleep, we awoke to an Easter basket outside our door! It was a sweet, playful gesture that made us feel like kids again. We then sat down to an amazing breakfast...nut crusted French toast accompanied by thick, maple bacon and fresh fruit, coffee and juice...mmmmm. Everything at Black Bear Inn is done with love, care and attention to detail. You will feel refreshed, revitalized and ready to plan your next visit. The setting is breathtakingly beautiful and the atmosphere quiet and serene. We are so thankful for this romantic getaway, a chance to spend time together and finalize the details of our special day. I can't think of a better place to have chosen.

Room Tip: Decide if you'd rather be close to the hot tub or have a sweeping view of the meadows in front o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jessica R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (441)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

197 - 203 of 441 reviews

Reviewed February 25, 2013

Had a wonderful stay for the weekend! Would highly recommend to anyone. Bruce and Wendy were awesome hosts! Very relaxing stay. The hot tub was a great bonus. Breakfast, wine and cheese were excellent.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2013

My husband and I had a wonderful two night stay at The Black Bear Inn. We have spent so much time in the area and this was the absolute best place we have every stayed. Only planned on one night but couldn't bear to leave so made it two nights. It couldn't have been more perfect-well, maybe if it was our place! Excellent food, rooms, privacy and more. We will continue to stay here as long as Wendi and Bruce will let us. Thank you for a wonderful retreat.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jennifer V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2013

Recently enjoyed two nights at the Black Bear Inn, and wished we could have stayed longer.
Wendi and Bruce run a definite five star inn, and treat their guests like family, very warm and accomodating. They know the area well, and no matter what activities you may have planned to do while staying in Arnold, they can advise you to make your recreational experience even better, whether it be skiing, hiking, fishing, or wine tasting, they have all the information you could ever need.

The little extras they provide are what sets this place apart from the rest of the B and B's, such as their excellent wine and cheese plates prepared to your preference in the afternoon, or the option to have Bruce prepare you a customized gourmet dinner, which we took advantage of and enjoyed on our second night. I highly recommend having dinner there, because Bruce's culinary skills are awesome and you won't have to drive anywhere!

You will not be disappointed when you stay here and you will be reluctant to leave.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John94066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2013

Inn was beautiful, clean and perfectly appointed. Room and bed were very comfortable. Location very convenient to skiing and restaurants. Innkeepers very attentive but not smothering. Very nice wine and cheese in the evenings. We will definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Puglover50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2013

The Arnold Black Bear Inn is a wonderful retreat - we always book our favorite room :) Wendi & Bruce always make us feel right at home. We have stayed here before and this time I needed some TLC because of health issues & they were right there to help me relax & enjoy my stay. Bruce prepared a special breakfast for me & wonderful dinner the 1st night of our stay. My husband went skiiing at Bear Valley & I stayed at "home" relaxing & reading. We will be back :) :) If any one wants a special Inn to enjoy, please stay here !!!!!!!

Room Tip: Rooms on the south side (away from patio & pool) are quieter - but every room has its own unique...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DenyaJur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2013

This was our second trip and we have already booked our third. Wendi and Bruce are just awesome. They are so helpful whether it is accomodating food alergies or booking dinner reservations at great restaurants (and then making sure you don't get lost - THANKS Bruce!). The Inn is beautiful and clean. The breakfasts they serve are the best we have ever had at a B&B. There are so many things to do in the area, we decided to stay longer next time. Do yourself a favor and go to the Arnold Black Bear Inn. You will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: Check out their website. It has pictures of each room and a list of ammenities.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arnold
1.7 mi away
Mountain Retreat Resort, a VRI resort
10.0 mi away
Murphys Suites
Murphys Suites
#2 of 4 in Murphys
212 reviews
19.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Sonora Oaks Hotel & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Cedar Inn & Suites
9.8 mi away
Murphys Inn Motel
Murphys Inn Motel
#1 of 4 in Murphys
297 reviews
0.5 mi away
Timberline Lodge
Timberline Lodge
#2 of 2 in Arnold
57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arnold Black Bear Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arnold Black Bear Inn

Address: 1343 Oak Circle, PO Box 109, Arnold, CA 95223
Location: United States > California > Arnold
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Arnold
Price Range: $225 - $345 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful Sequoias, amazing scenery and quiet surroundings. You can experience all this and more year round at the only Bed & Breakfast in Arnold, California. The Black Bear Inn is a 5,200 square foot timber frame constructed inn on 1.3 acres in a park-like setting. Our five guest rooms have private baths, king beds, fireplaces, radiant heating and cooling, satellite television. Included in the room rate is a full, gourmet breakfast in the morning, and custom cheese trays & local wines each evening. Custom dinners also available upon request - call for menu options and pricing. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Arnold Black Bear Hotel Arnold

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing