We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not the best place”
Review of Timberline Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Timberline Lodge
California
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Not the best place”
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Some of the rooms are cute & nice,but the maid service is really bad.There is several of us with a company that came here on a job.We asked if there was an ice area to get ice since our rooms had no fridge or microwave & we needed to have food for the week not to rot.They said no but when a family asked after us,they got ice. Not cool! The maid service really sucks.Sometimes they will restock your coffee and towels & sometimes they don't even come in at all.The lady at the front desk had the nerve to tell us a family was between us and to be quiet. I would think a business smart person would cater more to a company of more than 10 rather than 1 family. They are rude and just all around bad service. Will be back but will never stay here again! they lost a lot of money from our company.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Surfinghulagirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Timberlinelodge, Owner at Timberline Lodge, responded to this review, February 7, 2014
All guest comments are appreciated. Knowing its not possible to satisfy everyone, we sure try!
You’ll be pleased to know guest rooms now have built-in microwaves and refrigerators because of requests like yours.
Every Guest is important, whether a party of one, or of seven like yours, we strive to make everyone comfortable and undisturbed. Every guest expects us to care for them, and we expect every guest to be considerate of one another, as well as the staff.
If we over-look anything during daily room service, please notify us and ask for whatever you need, including ice. When your workday was rained out and room service wasn’t finished as quickly as you wanted we had re-arranged the schedule for you as we were able, but you were not happy. Fortunately we received nice feedback from your employer and a surprise visit from a co-worker who stopped by recently to say hello and thank us while showing his family your completed project. Your company’s work project was a success, and a nice contribution to our area. Congratulations to each of you!
Innkeeper (aka lady at front desk)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    9
    8
    6
    4
See reviews for
21
15
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012 via mobile

Once again I stayed here with my family while we waited for our moving truck to arrive, and coleen was so wonderful! we decided to stay an extra day (did not want to sleep in middle of tons of boxes) and coleen was booked up with one room left and she gave it to us. she even helped us move to the other room! will stay again! HIGHLY RECOMMEND this quaint lodge!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank keepmehappy75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2012 via mobile

colleen the owner was so much fun! I stayed at the lodge while I purchased a home in arnold and waited for the inspections. All the staff made my stay so much nicer than if I was somewhere else. Lots of laughter and very very accommodating!!! I was there over my birthday and the owner had a campfire which all the people staying there came out and sat around and even sang happy birthday to me!! When I left I felt like I was leaving life long friends! I would recommend timberline lodge highly! bed was great, pillows perfect, a/c and close to nice eateries! thank you Colleen!!!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank keepmehappy75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san francisco
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2012

I booked this based on 5 star tripadvisor reviews but then saw the most of the reviewers had reviewed only this place. I was worried going in. We stayed here one night and didn't get good night sleep. Beds were really hard. There is a bar next to it and I heard it get noisy sometimes, luckily it was quiet. Internet doesn't work most of the time, there is no storage at all, small table and a night stand only. It was clean though, no bath tub, only a shower, that worked for us but may not work for people with small kids.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank sltravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotts Valley, California
1 review
Reviewed June 25, 2012

We have stayed at Timberline Lodge in winter for ski trips, and summer for reservoir trips, and it is always the perfect choice. Great food choices within walking distance, and a sporting goods store across the street for forgotten items. The owner Colleen is very accommodating and provides a very friendly, personal experience. Excellent value.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fairfield
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2012

2 nights in room with cozy cabin decor. loved excellent king bed and sheets, with 6 pillows of varying softness (great!!). the lodge is right in town and very convenient. really close to beautiful White Pines Lake. we would definitely stay again.

would have been nice to have in the room: kleenex and fridge. also an icemaker somewhere on the premises.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scarletfuschia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburg, California
1 review
Reviewed August 29, 2011

We were pleasantly surprised at the cleanliness and quaintness of this lodge. We felt like we were staying in a log cabin or chalet! It was so cute and cozy! Very clean, from the bedding to carpets to bathroom. Very rustic with lots of charm. We will definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arnold
1.2 mi away
Mountain Retreat Resort
10.3 mi away
Murphys Suites
Murphys Suites
#2 of 4 in Murphys
204 reviews
19.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Sonora Oaks Hotel & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Cedar Inn & Suites
10.2 mi away
Murphys Inn Motel
Murphys Inn Motel
#1 of 4 in Murphys
291 reviews
16.8 mi away
Travelodge Angels Camp CA
Travelodge Angels Camp CA
#3 of 5 in Angels Camp
497 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Timberline Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Timberline Lodge

Property: Timberline Lodge
Address: 890 Highway 4, Arnold, CA 95223
Location: United States > California > Arnold
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Arnold
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Timberline Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rooms at Timberline Lodge are delightfully different and offer unique choices not found in most lodging accommodations. Whether you’d like a room for one person or a room for a family or group of eight, you’ll find Timberline to be your Lodge of Choice also.Many rooms have rocking chairs, a free-standing gas fireplace, a vaulted ceiling, or possibly a “tree-trunk” as a structural element. The décor is rustic, with beautiful wood, log accents, and they are always exceptionally clean and comfy with internet, large TV's, Micro/Frig, stylish baths, You'll love discovering, "Mountain Charm meets Modern Mountain Style"! Book Today! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Timberline Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Timberline Hotel Arnold

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing