We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Food!”

Bristol's Ranch House Cafe
Ranked #13 of 21 Restaurants in Arnold
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Oakland, California
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Great Food!”
Reviewed March 15, 2013

We've been going to Bristol's for three or four years now; every chance we're in the neighborhood. The food is always great and the portions generous. It can take a little time to get your food since everything is cooked to order by the wonderful chef/co-owner Ms. Patty. Her Partner Richard, will seat you, bring you coffee and refills and make small talk while you wait!

The food is really good. On the weekends there is prime rib to go with your eggs and their French Dip sandwiches (Fireman's Specials here) are made with prime rib too. Can't beat a prime rib sandwich for under $10! My favorite for breakfast is Ms. Patty's omelet with a not very hot pepper in it, homemade salsa and guacamole and I add ham. Comes with home fries and toast. I don't need to eat again that day! If you lucky, her son Carson will be working that day or the wonderful Chris. This is a nice, friendly place with really good food. I don't know if they take reservations.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pattyesq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    19
    7
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, California
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“cozy cafe, generous breakfast portions”
Reviewed September 5, 2012

We stopped here for Sunday breakfast and it was very good and plentiful. Located conveniently right by Highway 4 in Arnold town center with plenty of easy parking. If you come between 6-9am there is an early bird breakfast special that we unfortunately missed but price was still good. Had Huge breakfast for two for under $20. Atmosphere is Cozy and very homey. Table next to us had 5 kids under 10 years old and the waitress handled their exuberance with easy friendly attitude and professionalism. Nice little neighborhood restaurant for a pleasant meal.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PhoenixFun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Andreas, California, United States
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Homey cafe”
Reviewed May 22, 2012

We had their lunch after St. Patrick's day and I had Corn beef and cabbage which was ok and my huband had a sandwich. It was late morning and looking around we should have had eaten from their breakfast menu. Friendly staff.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Barbara S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland
Level 6 Contributor
146 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Great and moderate breakfasts”
Reviewed January 30, 2012

A good place to warm up with a big breakfast before heading for the ski hills or the rivers and lakes. Moderately priced and down-home cookin'

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank namsmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san jose
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Nope. Gave it a try but won't give it a 2nd chance--”
Reviewed August 11, 2011

Kinda dirty (sticky tables), sloooow service, despite the fact that on a Sat. in Aug. (shoulda known then) there were only like 4 tables full....and food was mediocre at best....and not cheap enough to justify a dark, kinda dingy restaurant.

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sjsandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bristol's Ranch House Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Bristol's Ranch House Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing