We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing spot” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mountain Retreat Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Mountain Retreat Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Arnold
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Relaxing spot”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

Our family of 4 stayed 5 nights here at the end of August 2013. Our 2 bedroom 2.5 bath condo was plenty big, well equipped and private. We enjoyed the resort, use of the outdoor pool at the golf club across the street (open seasonally), movie night and the ice cream sundae night. The staff were all very friendly. The exercise room is minimal and dated- but it did the trick.

Restaurants in Arnold are easy to get to and there are many good choices. We ventured to nearby Murphys, CA and went on a tour of Mercer Caverns and Ironstone Winery. Calaveras Big Trees State Park is just a few minutes away.

The main negative of the week was that there was some smoke (mainly in the mornings) from the Rim fire near Yosemite. I hadn't considered that the area has serious forest fire potential. The folks at Mountain Retreat were helpful in talking to us prior to our arrival about the level of smoke and what to expect.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mararusslilasam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    120
    44
    9
    5
    3
See reviews for
102
44
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

We wanted a week of peace and quiet before the Caledonian Club of San Francisco Scottish Gathering and Games in Pleasanton. Labor Day Week end. I'm the Chief and Games manager and have been inundated with calls and emails for the past month. Having most of the problems resolved I thought my wife and I need a weeks rest. I hadn't booked my week at the mountain Retreat Time share so I gave Kelly a call to see if anything was available. She accommodated us right away even at such short notice. So far the week has been fantastic. The staff couldn't be nicer especially the reception clerk Sheila. The condo is fantastic.clean.beautiful, well stocked with all the amenities. The upgrades to the pool and recreation area upstairs is gorgeous I just cannot say enough good things about everything. I just want say Thank you so much to everyone involved. George McCombe. San Jose. Ca.

Room Tip: Call Mountain Retreat in Arnold California first & foremost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank George M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MTR A, General Manager at Mountain Retreat Resort, responded to this review, August 31, 2013
Hi George M,
Thank you for reviewing your stay and experience with us at Mountain Retreat Resort. We're thrilled you had such a wonderful experience and we're so glad that we could accommodate you and your guests on such short notice. We appreciate your kind words regarding Kelly and Sheila and we'll be sure to share with them. We hope to welcome you back again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach
Level Contributor
59 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

Our family of four stayed here from July 20-27th. Had a very spacious 2 bedroom 2 1/2 bath condo. In a great location across from the Sequoia Woods Country Club with many areas nearby for walking. The brand new clubhouse was very nice, but we ended up swimming in the pool across at the Country Club during the day a couple of times as it was a nice big outdoor pool. Had a well stocked kitchen with plenty of dishes, utensils and stainless steel cookware, too. One of the best stocked condo kitchens I have seen! Staff was very courteous and professional. Location was great to the nearby caves and Calavaras Big Trees State park. One note...for AT&T cell users, there is absolutely NO coverage in Arnold! Nearest signal would be in the town of Murphys about 14 miles away. However, Wi Fi was pretty good at the resort, so we managed for the week! Had a great stay and if the opportunity ever comes up in the future, we would stay here again!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GHTfromHB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MTR A, General Manager at Mountain Retreat Resort, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Hi GHTfromHB,
Thank you for reviewing your stay at Mountain Retreat Resort. We're thrilled you and your family had a wonderful stay with us. We provide many accommodations to our guests that we feel will assist in making their trips enjoyable. It sounds like your family had a great time visiting some offsite locations during your visit. We hope the opportunity rises and that we will be inviting you and your family back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheyenne, Wyoming
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

So we stayed at this hotel about 3 1/2 years ago finding it out of no where and we absolutely fell in love with it. It was this little place with such a mountain cabin charm with a warm and inviting feel. It had little knick-knacks and fish on the walls and other really cool things you would only see in the mountains. We just visited it again and WHAT DID YOU DO??? I had heard that the main lobby area had a fire and they rebuilt but they most defiantly went in a different direction. The lobby now looks like a Courtyard Marriot and the furniture just does not belong in this setting. The staff is still fantastic and we had a great time but our little mountain getaway now just seems...corporate...The golf course at Sequoia Woods is still a wonderful place to play.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BigWhiskeyWyoming
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MTR A, General Manager at Mountain Retreat Resort, responded to this review, September 15, 2013
Hi BigWhiskeyWyoming,
Thank you for reviewing your stay at Mountain Retreat Resort. We're happy to hear you had a great stay, but understand you are not happy with our renovations. The room renovations were predicated on safety needs and the problems that come with 15 year old funiture. The current funiture is not permanent and we will be looking to replace it with a more rustic look in the coming years. We know our resort still has the same charm, it just looks a tad more modern. We hope this won't keep you from staying with us in the future. We'd love to have you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staten Island, New York
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013 via mobile

Mountain Resort is a beautiful resort which by it's location gives you access to both Lake Tahoe and Yosemite national park. After a day of nature hunting it was a pleasure spending time at the resort.The staff are all professional and that go out of their way to make you comfortable.They are proud to work for their facility and it shows. Staying at this resort is worth your time and attention.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Firstcallrs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MTR A, General Manager at Mountain Retreat Resort, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Hi Firstcallrs,
We're thrilled to learn of your recent vacation with us at Mountain Retreat Resort. We're so glad you had such a wonderful time hunting and hanging out on the property. We hope you had a chance to check out Lake Tahoe and Yosemite National Park as well. We look forward to having the opportunity to welcome you and your guests back for another great stay in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alamo, CA
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

I'm an owner here and we always enjoy our week. The area has much to offer. Golf, fishing, wine tasteing, hiking, winter sking, fine dining and much more. Murphy's is a can't miss, Arnold is cute and several other towns within an hour are worth exploring (especially Sonora).

The units are Mountain Retreat are set in about eight different buildings, They range from 2-4 units per building. All units are 2-3 levels. Think cabin and not condo. You really get the fell of a mountain cabin in these units. They are nice but slightly dated. Always clean and well stocked. The new clubhouse & office will open in June, 2013. The golf course next door is tight but very enjoyable. You can also use their pool and restaurant.

Room Tip: All the rooms are different but all are nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank mfenley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MTR A, General Manager at Mountain Retreat Resort, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Hi mfenley,
Thank you for reviewing your recent stay at Mountain Retreat Resort. It's great to hear how much fun you and your family had golfing, fishing, wine tasting, hiking, and exploring everything Arnold has to offer. We're excited about the updated clubhouse and office being completed soon. We hope to welcome you back again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alamo, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

My family and I have been coming to Mountain Retreat once or twice a year for nearly four years. As soon as we walk through the door, we know that we are in our "home away from home". The condos have everything we need from a fully equipped kitchen to a large flat screen TV with DVD player. Our unit has 3 stories including a loft with a queen sized sofa bed. Each of the two bedrooms downstairs has its own bathroom and an outside door opening to a private deck. The middle level is light, open, and airy. The living room with a high cathedral ceiling, wood-burning fireplace, has double doors leading to the spacious balcony. Also on this level is the half bath and the kitchen which is open to the living area.

The staff here is incredibly helpful, friendly, and welcoming. They go out of their way to assure that guests have everything they need during their stay.

The location of Mt. Retreat is ideal. Calaveras Big Trees State Park is just a few minutes up Highway 4. Arnold has good restaurants and interesting shops. The charming little town of Murphys with its many wine tasting rooms, boutiques, and excellent restaurants is only a 20 minute drive from Mt. Retreat. The Sequoia Woods Restaurant just across the street from Mt. Retreat serves excellent food in their dining room which overlooks the golf course.

The recreation center is scheduled to re-open during the first few weeks of June, 2013. At that time, guests will be able to enjoy the heated indoor pool, the workout room with the latest equipment, and the lounge.

I highly recommend Mt. Retreat for those who want to enjoy a peaceful, relaxing vacation in the midst of the natural beauty of the California gold country.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Driscoguest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arnold
11.1 mi away
Murphys Suites
Murphys Suites
#2 of 4 in Murphys
4.0 of 5 stars 167 reviews
17.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Cedar Inn & Suites
19.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Sonora Oaks Hotel & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.9 mi away
WorldMark Angels Camp
WorldMark Angels Camp
#2 of 5 in Angels Camp
4.5 of 5 stars 175 reviews
20.0 mi away
The Robin's Nest
The Robin's Nest
#1 of 3 in San Andreas
5.0 of 5 stars 54 reviews
11.0 mi away
Murphys Inn Motel
Murphys Inn Motel
#1 of 4 in Murphys
4.5 of 5 stars 258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mountain Retreat Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountain Retreat Resort

Property: Mountain Retreat Resort
Address: 936 Cypress Point Dr, Arnold, CA 95223
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Arnold
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Arnold
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Mountain Retreat Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the quiet Sierra pines of Arnold, California in Calaveras County, Mountain Retreat is just three hours from Lake Tahoe, Yosemite and the San Francisco Bay Area. The suites are duplex-style, which give our guests ample space and privacy during their stay with us. A Convenience Fee will be applied to all reservations at check in. This fee will include Internet and parking along with all other resort amenities.Accessibility: Not all areas of our resort are Handicap Accessible. There are stairs leading to each suite as well as other areas on property. Mountain Retreat will be undergoing construction of a new Maintenance Building beginning August 1 2014 - December 1 2014. Noise should be expected during the hours of 8:00 a.M. - 5:00 P.M. Monday - Friday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire and Odigeo so you can book your Mountain Retreat Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mountain Retreat Hotel Arnold

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing