We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Mountain Retreat Resort, a VRI resort
Nearby Hotels
Murphys Inn Motel(Murphys)(Great Value!)
$119
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Murphys Suites(Murphys)(Great Value!)
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Christmas Tree Inn(Mi Wuk Village)(Great Value!)
$125
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Wildwood Inn(Twain Harte)(Great Value!)
$100
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Plus Cedar Inn & Suites(Angels Camp)(Great Value!)
$187
$159
BestWestern.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Travelodge by Wyndham Angels Camp CA(Angels Camp)(Great Value!)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
El Dorado Motel(Twain Harte)
$99
$94
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Pioneer Inn & Suites(Pioneer)(Great Value!)
$83
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$100
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
The Robin's Nest(San Andreas)
$110
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (227)
Filter reviews
227 results
Traveler rating
145
57
14
9
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
145
57
14
9
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbig trees state parkgolf coursefull kitchenlake tahoewine tastingwasher and dryerliving roomindoor pool and jacuzzioutdoor activitiestall treesgrocery storeclubhousecondounitssnowmilesforest
Filter
Updating list...
196 - 201 of 227 reviews
Reviewed May 13, 2013

We have been going to Mountain Retreat for over 25 years. My mom and dad were original owners. They have both passed away and they are my husbands and mine. The staff are beyond nice. Love them all. The only thing that was difficult was getting stuff out of the oven as there was only one mitt, no other potholders. We could have gotten more from the office but didn't bother. They are very accomodating. Toured the renovation of the club house. It is awesome. Can not wait for it to be completed. We have three different weeks this year and looking forward to each one. We own 13 and 15. They are great condos to stay in whether there is 2 or 8 of us. So much to do in the Arnold area, shopping, hiking, fishing, golfing, driving to near by lakes and streams. Not much for kids to do at the resort until the clubhouse reopens.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Melody D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MTR A, General Manager at Mountain Retreat Resort, a VRI resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 16, 2013

Hi Melody D,
We are so sorry to hear of your late parents, however, we're glad that we can continue the tradition in welcoming you and your husband back year after year. We're pleased to learn of all the great activities you participate in when visiting Arnold as well. We hope to welcome you back again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2013

Excellent resort location if you want nice quiet mountain getaway, we're a family of 5 from Kingston, ON Canada & stayed in unit 1, very roomy, clean, bathrm wall paper have to go, its outdated, towels are nice & fluffy, staff are excellent, we have no cell phone service in Arnold, which is not good if you need to call for help, but there's internet. they're renovating the clubhouse, we have no time to use anyways. must see are yosemite 2hr drive, lake alpine 45 min, San Francisco 3 hr + traffic, Golden Gate, Lombard's crookedest st., Saints Peter & Paul church, Coit tower, Alcatraz, Pier 39, Fisherman's wharf, Franciscan restaurant have great seafoods, beautiful ambiance looking the rock (alcatraz). if you pass the 2 hr free parking stamped from the restaurant, be prepared to pay $3.00/20 min

Room Tip: excellent location if you want quiet, nice & roomy mountain getaway, resort is very nice, the bathrooms wallpaper have to go its outdated, they're renovating the clubhouse, we have no time to use anyways, bathrm towels are nice & fluffy, staff are very nice, you can ask anything in the office if you ran out of supply, re: alum foil, they also have tongs on steroids for BBQ, we missed the ice cream night cause we thought it's wed but its tues, & Sheila gave us a 1/2 gallon of ice cream (death by chocolate) to enjoy no cell phone service when you get to arnold, not good if you need to call for help, lake alpine is just 45 min drive, very peaceful & beautiful, yosemite is about 2 hr drive & san francisco is 3 hr drive, our family loved pacific ocean, wetting their feet in pacifica & driving on Hwy 1 going to Santa Cruz boardwalk & pier & having dinner their, parking in public lot is only .50/hr, compared to san francisco 3.00/20 min. in fisherman's wharf if you pass the 2 hr free parking when you eat in their restaurants (Franciscan Rest-good food, beautiful ambiance looking the alcatraz). Golden gate bridge, lombards crookedest street, saints peter & paul church, coit tower, alcatraz are a must see. Our family of 5 from Kingston, ON Canaada enjoyed our stay here
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 28eugene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MTR A, General Manager at Mountain Retreat Resort, a VRI resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 16, 2013

Hi 28eugene,
Thank you for reviewing your stay at Mountain Retreat Resort. It sounds like you and the family had a ton of fun visiting Arnold and checking out Yosemite National Park, Golden Gate Bridge, Alcatraz, and a ton of more sites. We're glad you all had a great time and hope to welcome you back again in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2013

We stayed at here after having visited Yosemite National Park. We were a family of three adults and two small children, and we slept comfortable in our cabin. The kitchen was well stocked and bathrooms had lots of towels. In addition, the staff were very helpful. Unfortunately the new recreation center (with the pool) was still under construction when we were there. This left very few activities for our little kids. There are also not a lot of activities in the area in general (other then golfing and tennis). So if you're looking for a quiet getaway to relax and read a book, this is the place for you. However, if you have children and you're hoping for a pool, playground, etc then this is not the place for you. Your kids will be bored.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jamie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MTR A, General Manager at Mountain Retreat Resort, a VRI resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 16, 2013

Hi Jamie C,
We hope you had a great time at Yosemite National Park and are so glad you chose Mountain Retreat Resort for your stay. We hope the renovation of our recreation center did not cause much of an inconvenience during your stay and we appreciate your feedback regarding our activities. We will certainly share this with our entertainment team. We hope to welcome you back for a better stay in the future as our clubhouse will be open the first of June.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2013

we found this resort just perfect! We stayed in calistoga unit 10 which slept 8. It was very clean and didn't find it dated. Very comfortable, cozy and rustic feel which made it perfect for the mountains. The staff was very kind and helpful. The kitchen was fully stocked and plenty of towels with a towel exchange mid week. Washer/dryer was helpful too. Reserved parking spot for each unit. We took day trips to San Francisco (3 hrs away) and Sacramento ( 2 hrs). Clubhouse was closed but not a problem for our 4 kids since they had electronics, movies, books and day trips. Big Trees Market was big and well priced. Eating tips: Bristols for breakfast, sequoia woods country club on Thursday nights for dinner. In murphys, pizza plus had great pizza. Ironstone winery is beautiful and has the largest gold nugget and the mercer caverns were amazing. We loved this trip and area!!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 530LauraS530
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MTR A, General Manager at Mountain Retreat Resort, a VRI resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 12, 2013

Hi 530LauraS530,
Thank you for reviewing your stay at Mountain Retreat Resort. We're glad you enjoyed the units, accommodations, and ability to visit San Francisco. There's plenty to do in the area and we hope you had a great time dining at some great restaurants. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2013

The cabin was really not too bad for the price. Granted it was a bit dated but fairly well maintained. It is also roomier than other newer ones I have stayed in. Kitchen have most of the equipment you would need to prepare a nice home cooked meal. Plenty of towels in the bathroom but some of the toiletries are missing (no shampoo or conditioner?) Linens are clean and the sofa sleeper was reasonably comfy despite being a little springy.

No issues with check-in or check out. Wouldn't mind staying again in the future.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Verlisia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MTR A, General Manager at Mountain Retreat Resort, a VRI resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2013

Thank you for your review of Mountain Retreat. We are very happy you enjoyed your stay with us and greatly appreciate your shared feedback. We hope to welcome you back again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews