We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Days Inn & Suites Arcata
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Arcata
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed October 29, 2012

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn
Thank S M
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
DaysInnSuitesArcata, Manager at Days Inn & Suites Arcata, responded to this reviewResponded March 3, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a ReviewReviews (493)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

446 - 452 of 493 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
LAGUNA HILLS
1
Reviewed October 24, 2012

The staff was really friendly and helpful. The room was clean, beds comfortable, and all the lights worked. The bathroom was clean, the shower worked great, and there were plenty of towels. The continental breakfast was more than I expected.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DaysInnSuitesArcata, Manager at Days Inn & Suites Arcata, responded to this reviewResponded March 3, 2013

Thank you for posting a review about your stay with Days Inn & Suites Arcata. I am happy to hear you enjoyed your stay! We work very hard to ensure the cleanliness of our rooms and the comfort of our guests. It is gratifying to hear we have achieved our goals. We hope to see you again in the future, when you can experience all the upgrades and renovations we have completed and those soon to be finished.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2012

The front desk personnel were very friendly and helpful; breakfast was good; however the room carpeting was very dated and stained. The room and bathroom were clean but the stained carpeting (looked like a large blood stain) really was gross. Didn't notice it until the following morning as we arrived late and tired and by then did not feel like moving to another room for the last night. TV was old tube type.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn
Thank Jorge B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DaysInnSuitesArcata, Manager at Days Inn & Suites Arcata, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2013

Thank you Jorge B, for leaving feedback on your stay with us in October, 2012. We are happy you were made to feel welcome when you arrived. We are currently in the process of updating each room, so the issues you found in your room have either already been fixed or will be in the very near future, including new televisions. We hope to see you again on your next trip to Arcata.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2012

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn
Thank ADRIAN D
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
DaysInnSuitesArcata, General Manager at Days Inn & Suites Arcata, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2012

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed October 10, 2012

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn
Thank BRIAN Y
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
DaysInnSuitesArcata, General Manager at Days Inn & Suites Arcata, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2012

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed August 13, 2012

The motel is off the 101 outside Arcata surrounded by other motels and crappy restaurants. You could be anywhere or nowhere. First impressions were dire. It looks like a decayed council estate in the north of England (public housing). Even though I had a confirmed and paid for booking, I had to wait 10 minutes to check in as the sole receptionist had to deal with a queue and endless phone calls. The room inside, painted in a depressing orange-brown, was spacious and the beds were comfy. The shower was fine. But the curtains were falling off. Our room on the top floor at the far end was very quiet as long as you switched off the fridge. Breakfast was acceptable; the coffee was fine. Overall a standard budget hotel. It is clean and functional but I noted that someone checking in, in front of me, was paying $40 more for the room than I had online.

Room Tip: Room 222 is very quiet but gets no sunlight
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Neil R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DaysInnSuitesArcata, General Manager at Days Inn & Suites Arcata, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2012

Thank you, NLR, for your review. While we are disappointed that your stay was not as you expected, we are gratified that you recognize the outstanding aspects of our hotel and the value our guests receive. We pride ourselves on guest service and regret the fact that you happened to check in at a time when a wait was necessary. This property was purchased June, 2012 and is now a Days Inn & Suites. We have undertaken many upgrades, such as resurfacing the parking lot, renovating the jacuzzi, resurfacing the pool and bathtubs in almost all of the rooms. There are many more upgrades and renovations in the near future. We do hope you will return, should you be in the area, and see these improvements for yourself. Hotels these days take reservations from many sources, including the internet. Each site has individual rates and agreements with the hotels, so it may seems a guest pays more, but in fact, that rate may include many detailed items or days not obvious to the observer. We also have suites which cost more than a single room. This may have been the case that you observed.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2012

The owners of the Arcata Redwood Inn have recently redone the rooms from the studs out and they are wonderful. The exterior is still a little shabby however. If they bring the exterior up to the same quality as the rooms and the lobby, they will have a first class motel. The free breakfast was good and was kept stocked. Would stay there again.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank singlechic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DaysInnSuitesArcata, General Manager at Days Inn & Suites Arcata, responded to this reviewResponded October 13, 2012

Thank you, Singlechic, for your review. It is gratifying to receive honest feedback from our guests. We are happy you enjoyed your stay and were checked in to one of the rooms we have already renovated. Soon all rooms will be of the same quality. This property was purchased in June 2012 and turned into a Days Inn & Suites. We have a goal to renovate every room and upgrade every aspect of the hotel. Unfortunately due to the wet weather we experience here, it will probably be spring before we will be able to renovate the exterior to the standards we strive for. We have, however, undertaken many upgrades including resurfacing the pool, renovating the jacuzzi and resurfacing the parking lot. The staff is pleased that you had a positive experience here and hope you will stay with us again should you return to the area. You will see for yourself what improvements have been made.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arcata
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Arcata, CA
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Arcata - Humboldt Area
0.3 mi away
Ramada Arcata
Ramada Arcata
#7 of 10 in Arcata
256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Bayshore Inn
8.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Humboldt Bay Inn
2.2 mi away
Hotel Arcata
Hotel Arcata
#5 of 10 in Arcata
139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Days Inn & Suites Arcata? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn & Suites Arcata

Address: 4701 Valley West Blvd, Arcata, CA 95521-4637 (Formerly Arcata Redwood Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Humboldt County > Arcata
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Arcata
Price Range: $78 - $172 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Days Inn & Suites Arcata 2*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently close to Highway 101 and Arcata/Eureka Airport you will find our Days Inn Hotel & Suites Arcata CA hotel. Begin your day with a free continental breakfast or check your email using free Wi-Fi Internet access. When it's time to relax, go for a swim in our indoor heated pool or spa tub and then dry off in your guestroom, featuring a refrigerator and microwave. For additional space, upgrade to a suite with a hot tub or sofa bed. Our hotel in Arcata also features handicapped-accessible rooms as well as parking for large vehicles. LOCAL ATTRACTIONS Spend the day strolling through Arcata Plaza, where on weekends you will find a Farmers Market or festivals, in addition to many shops and restaurants. In the summer you can see the Humboldt Crabs take the field at The Arcata Ball Park. Experience old-world charm close by in the town of Eureka, home to numerous boutique shops and historic buildings. Our Arcata hotel is also close to Humboldt State University, Sequoia Park Zoo, Humboldt Lagoons and the Trinidad beaches. DINING OPTIONS Enjoy delectable Italian specialties close by at Abruzzi Restaurant, or grab a fresh beer on tap at Lost Coast Brewery. If you love sushi, visit Cafe Tomo, located in Arcata Plaza. When looking to have a family meal, try Samoa Cookhouse, known for their all-you-can-eat biscuits and gravy and fried chicken, all served family-style. Familiar and quick options are also near our Arcata hotel including Carl's Jr., McDonald's and Subway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Days Inn & Suites Arcata reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arcata Redwood Hotel Arcata
Comfort Inn Arcata
Arcata Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing