We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Convenient and friendly”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Days Inn & Suites Arcata
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Arcata
GreenLeadersBronze level
West Yellowstone
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Convenient and friendly”
Reviewed November 15, 2007

We were traveling down the coast and decided to try Arcata instead of Eureka, and we're glad we did. The price was right, the hotel was very dog friendly. The room was a little bit worn, but very clean. The fridge and microwave worked fine. The breakfast was good. The staff was very friendly and helpful, suggesting places to hike, bike and play with our dogs.
There is a shopping center across the street with a grocery store , pizza place, and chinese buffet, all very good.

  • Liked — It was quiet and clean and well located.
  • Disliked — Wish they had yogurt at breakfast.
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank patit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

449 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    117
    176
    92
    39
    25
See reviews for
226
104
32
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
fl
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2007

my family stayed one night.9/7/07 friday. comfort inn had 2 queen beds. frig; all comforts; the clerk at office was very professional. our tv remote needed new batteries. promptly fixed. comfort inn was close to stores and restaurants which is good when you are tired from traveling;
will stay again; please see the red woods thet are lovely as a travel suggestion.

  • Liked — very professional manner
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank boog1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2007

We were refunded our stay from our B&B in the depressing, dead town of Ferndale, CA and headed toward Arcata. We stopped at this Platinum Award winner Comfort Inn. From the outside it looked like a typical motel, but we were warmly greeted and we checked into the largest hotel room we've ever stayed. Please do yourself a favor and pass up the towns of Ferndale and Eureka and head toward Arcata where there is actually human life! We ended up saving over $100 by staying here instead of the overpriced, under accommodated B&Bs of Ferndale.

Stayed July 2007
Helpful?
5 Thank floridaorbust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2006

I learned on my trip that when I book w/ a AAA rate, I get the least exciting room in the building. My experience here was no exception. It was a basic room, no frills, rather clean, but not really feeling overly clean or comforting. I stayed at better Comfort Inns later in the trip (Weed and Red Bluff, CA). The breakfast buffet was mediocre - I think we took some coffee and hit the road. There is a tasty Mexican restaurant across the street.

  • Stayed August 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Iheartlance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern California
Level Contributor
58 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2006

I stay in Arcata about once a year, but has been two years this time since I was there last. Usually I stay at BW Arcata Inn and have had nothing but very good experiences there, however since it's been 2 yrs, I checked reviews and noted the BW was getting lowewr marks and the Comfort Inn here got super reviews, so maybe I expected too much, and set myself up for disappointment.

I didn't think this motel was anything special. I stayed 3 nights. I will say the rooms were spacious, and clean, and I did like the fact the rooms had a small fridge, and small microwave, but the fridge was loud turning on and off all night. The A/C fan was also very loud, and additionlly had an annoying clicking sound to it. The walls seemed to be good because I didn't hear any neighbors through the walls (except outside), and I did not hear water pipes when someone in another room flushed or showered. The tub shower was good and had plenty of pressure. So many other places are too low flow.

I had to flush the toilet twice too many times, and at checkout I heard another complaint about toilet problems. Also the TV remote did not work so I got another from the office and fresh batteries, Niether worked still, so had three nights without a remote for the 20 or more channels. Hard to surf that way.

I guess the breakfast was okay, but pretty limited, and very confined with very lttle seating, and lots of bumping people when trying to get your stuff. The breakfast lady was very friendly and accomodating though. Free newspapers also.

Another complaint is yes the pool was okay, but the hot tub was clear over at the far other end of the property, and was very tiny in a lit up little room. If more than two people were in it then knees would be clattering. Also would be impossible to even take a hot tub if your kids needed to be supervised in the pool since they were at opposite ends of the property. That made no sense. There was NO fitness room. I had read somewhere that there was here.

Anyway, I'm not bashing the place, but I just expected much more after all those five star reviews I read. Normally I don't stay at any place under three star ratings, and this was 2-1/2 per AAA. So based on that it was overall okay, and again it was clean (much important!). It was very adequate for a 2+ star property if you're used to staying below a 3. Otherwise it was very basic if you're used to 3+ properties. Hope this sheds some light.

  • Liked — good location with nearby restaurants, stores, gas, beach, river
  • Disliked — Pool and hot tub way too far apart
  • Tips/Secrets — explained in review
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank machete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walnut Creek
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2006

Very pleased with our recent stay at the Comfort Inn! The check-in people very friendly, the rooms were quite clean and spacious, with coffee makers, fridge/freezer, microwaves and amenties. Have stayed at much more expensive places that did not have the above. The place has a nice indoor pool that was much appreciated by my daughter. There is a generous continental breakfast that includes make your own waffles. We liked that breakfast ran till 10:00 a.m. for those who like to sleep in.

The housekeeping staff was very nice too and helped us after a problem with the do not disturb sign (our fault). RIght across the street is a grocery store, coffee place and a very decent chinese buffet eatery. My family and I would stay here in a heartbeat!

There are a lot of college kids and travellers here, but the place was quiet after 11:00 p.m.

  • Stayed July 2006
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Janiele
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2006

The Comfort Inn in Aracta was the nicest motel I stayed in on my 3 week trip to California. The staff was friendly and helpful and made me feel at home. The rooms were clean and quiet and an indoor pool. WOW I needed that after a long day in the car. A free newspaper, hot waffle for breakfast +++. A 5 star hotel at 3 star prices. Yes, I would definitely recommend the Comfort Inn.

  • Stayed June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank devotedsister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arcata
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Arcata - Humboldt Area
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Arcata, CA
0.3 mi away
Ramada Arcata
Ramada Arcata
#9 of 10 in Arcata
3.0 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Bayshore Inn
2.2 mi away
Hotel Arcata
Hotel Arcata
#5 of 10 in Arcata
3.0 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
8.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Humboldt Bay Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Days Inn & Suites Arcata? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn & Suites Arcata

Property: Days Inn & Suites Arcata
Address: 4701 Valley West Blvd, Arcata, CA 95521-4637 (Formerly Arcata Redwood Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Humboldt County > Arcata
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Arcata
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Days Inn & Suites Arcata 2*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently close to Highway 101 and Arcata/Eureka Airport you will find our Days Inn Hotel & Suites Arcata CA hotel. Begin your day with a free continental breakfast or check your email using free Wi-Fi Internet access. When it's time to relax, go for a swim in our indoor heated pool or spa tub and then dry off in your guestroom, featuring a refrigerator and microwave. For additional space, upgrade to a suite with a hot tub or sofa bed. Our hotel in Arcata also features handicapped-accessible rooms as well as parking for large vehicles. LOCAL ATTRACTIONS Spend the day strolling through Arcata Plaza, where on weekends you will find a Farmers Market or festivals, in addition to many shops and restaurants. In the summer you can see the Humboldt Crabs take the field at The Arcata Ball Park. Experience old-world charm close by in the town of Eureka, home to numerous boutique shops and historic buildings. Our Arcata hotel is also close to Humboldt State University, Sequoia Park Zoo, Humboldt Lagoons and the Trinidad beaches. DINING OPTIONS Enjoy delectable Italian specialties close by at Abruzzi Restaurant, or grab a fresh beer on tap at Lost Coast Brewery. If you love sushi, visit Cafe Tomo, located in Arcata Plaza. When looking to have a family meal, try Samoa Cookhouse, known for their all-you-can-eat biscuits and gravy and fried chicken, all served family-style. Familiar and quick options are also near our Arcata hotel including Carl's Jr., McDonald's and Subway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Days Inn & Suites Arcata reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arcata Redwood Hotel Arcata
Comfort Inn Arcata
Arcata Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing