We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“travel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Comfort Inn Arcata - Humboldt Area
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Arcata
GreenLeadersSilver level
Write a Review

523 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    119
    186
    125
    57
    36
See reviews for
256
119
39
49
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tehachapi, California
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2012

Just a few miles from the airport--a very easy drive--this Howard Johnson is pretty much what you would expect: clean, neat, well run. Front desk staff get an "A" for being helpful. The room was well stocked: fridge, microwave, coffee maker, hairdryer. The bed was comfortable and I wasn't bothered by noise (and I am a light sleeper). There are about 3 fast food and 3 regular restaurants within walking distance.

Less than perfect: The breakfast options were pretty dreary, especially the muffins, which had been quartered for some reason, leaving them pretty dried out after an hour or two. Patrons should also be advised that there is no elevator in this 2-story hotel. No problem for me, but it might be for some.

I would stay here again without question.

Room Tip: You may wish to choose a first floor room as there is no elevator going to the 2nd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kifu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed October 3, 2012

good location!
little more then what I wanted to pay for the area but that was the going rate.
I would stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FAIRBANKS
1 review
Reviewed September 30, 2012

Excellent value for our Arcata visit. Extra large clean room with a firm king bed. We slept well and used breakfast room several times during our stay. Recommended.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Helpful?
Thank JOHN W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PETALUMA
1 review
Reviewed September 30, 2012

Great accommodations for the money. Only negative was that the internet kept bogging down and would often stop working and the beds were very uncomfortable. Loved the breakfast spread and the fresh waffles! Staff were very gracious and helpful. If visiting Arcata in the future, we will definitely stay here again

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Helpful?
Thank TERI C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hinckley
1 review
Reviewed September 29, 2012

Great quality for price. Clean, comfortable and close to the highway. A little difficult to navigate in the breakfast room. But overall everything was beyond our expectations.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Helpful?
Thank CATS710
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arcata
0.1 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Arcata
0.0 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Arcata, CA
2.2 mi away
Hotel Arcata
Hotel Arcata
#5 of 10 in Arcata
133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Ramada Arcata
Ramada Arcata
#8 of 10 in Arcata
224 reviews
10.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Bayshore Inn
0.1 mi away
Best Western Arcata Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn Arcata - Humboldt Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Arcata - Humboldt Area

Property: Comfort Inn Arcata - Humboldt Area
Address: 4700 Valley West Blvd, Arcata, CA 95521-4660 (Formerly Howard Johnson Express Arcata)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Humboldt County > Arcata
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Arcata
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Comfort Inn Arcata - Humboldt Area 2*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of the redwoods, the Comfort Inn Arcata is the perfect place to spend your vacation while exploring California's pristine northern coast. Located conveniently nearby to restaurants, markets, and beautiful beaches, you will find Humboldt county to be a relaxing getaway. The hotel itself offers complimentary hot breakfast, an indoor heated swimming pool, and a spa to help you feel relaxed and right at home. Recently renovated, our interior access rooms are cozy and furnished with new furniture and beds. We also offer guest laundry services, a fitness room, free high speed wireless internet, and 24 hour front desk service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Agoda so you can book your Comfort Inn Arcata - Humboldt Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Express Inn - Arcata Hotel Arcata
Howard Johnson Arcata
Arcata Howard Johnson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing