We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“family week end”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Comfort Inn Arcata - Humboldt Area
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Arcata
GreenLeadersSilver level
SAN JOSE
1 review
“family week end”
Reviewed September 26, 2012

room was good. the t.v work well the bed flt good .i need some things and went to the store down the street and that was great

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Helpful?
Thank LAUREA V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

516 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    118
    180
    125
    57
    36
See reviews for
254
116
38
49
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
REDDING
1 review
Reviewed September 25, 2012

While the front desk help was helpful, courteous and friendly,....the motel (not hotel) was dirty, dingy and unkempt. The redeeming quality was the pool my nephews used (they were guests at the motel as well). Our room was sadly overused. The electrical outlet came out of the wall when unplugging an appliance, the bathroom door looked like an axe murderer had mauled it, the door handle on the bathroom was so loose it nearly fell off in your hand. We didn't shower - as the towels had hair on them. The bed linens were so sparse I used blankets from my vehicle. We opened the window in the room to let out the musty, old, smoky scent that had permeated everything in the room. Sad, that I paid nearly $100 to stay. Never Again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Helpful?
Thank M B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Arcata hotels

ALTA LOMA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2012

Overall this Hotel is great. It is all non-smoking so that was a plus for us. Lacks a little space when it comes to breakfast time and does not have a elevator.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Helpful?
1 Thank MARIA M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SAINT HELENA
1 review
Reviewed September 23, 2012

I found the Hotel staff very friendly and helpful. When looking for a place to have dinner the desk clerk not only recommend a place but was very good at giving directions. My only recomendation would be to find a better way to serve breakfast. The room was small and the coffee was very weak. Other than that we had a wonderful visit and experience.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Helpful?
Thank CAROLYN H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hopkinsville
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2012

friendly staff, nice large room, good value, great location, well constructed, quiet, would visit again if in the area,

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Helpful?
Thank Neldon W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Folsom
2 reviews
Reviewed September 20, 2012

This property looks nothing like the photos online. It is old, dirty, smells horrible, broken bed, lights not working. I was charged $30 extra for a second person, sleeping in the same bed. If you can avoid it, I would not recommend staying at this property. There was the most horrific smell of Indian food throughout the hotel. The worst hotel I have stayed at in many many years.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Helpful?
Thank Deanne N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BRISBANE
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviewed September 17, 2012

This place is not fancy but it met our needs and the only downside was the location being slightly out of town. However, it was off the highway and there was no traffic noise. There were some shops and cafes up the road for food. The room was comfortable and we appreciated the use of the laundry. We had fun making the waffles in the morning and appreciated having fresh fruit and yoghurt on offer. It was good to have a window that opened for fresh air. The towels were thick and fluffy.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Helpful?
Thank JustCuriousBrisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arcata
0.1 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Arcata
0.0 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Arcata, CA
0.4 mi away
Ramada Arcata
Ramada Arcata
#8 of 10 in Arcata
195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Hotel Arcata
Hotel Arcata
#5 of 10 in Arcata
133 reviews
10.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Bayshore Inn
0.1 mi away
Best Western Arcata Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn Arcata - Humboldt Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Arcata - Humboldt Area

Property: Comfort Inn Arcata - Humboldt Area
Address: 4700 Valley West Blvd, Arcata, CA 95521-4660 (Formerly Howard Johnson Express Arcata)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Humboldt County > Arcata
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Arcata
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Comfort Inn Arcata - Humboldt Area 2*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of the redwoods, the Comfort Inn Arcata is the perfect place to spend your vacation while exploring California's pristine northern coast. Located conveniently nearby to restaurants, markets, and beautiful beaches, you will find Humboldt county to be a relaxing getaway. The hotel itself offers complimentary hot breakfast, an indoor heated swimming pool, and a spa to help you feel relaxed and right at home. Recently renovated, our interior access rooms are cozy and furnished with new furniture and beds. We also offer guest laundry services, a fitness room, free high speed wireless internet, and 24 hour front desk service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Comfort Inn Arcata - Humboldt Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Express Inn - Arcata Hotel Arcata
Howard Johnson Arcata
Arcata Howard Johnson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing