We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A bit dated”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Comfort Inn Arcata - Humboldt Area
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Arcata
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed August 23, 2012 via mobile

Upon check was told that we had been upgrade to a suit, thought wow this is going to be nice, well our room was ok, large, with the only extra of a sofa in the room. The room itself was quite dated but clean with 1 king bed, fridge, microwave, iron & ironing board. Bed sheet's were whitish and not soft. The bathroom towels were small & rough. We didn't use the indoor pool but it looked ok as well as the laundry room.
The backview we had looked onto Hampton Inn & Suites (not very exciting view). The chap on reception was very nice, helpful & informative.
Location was good and not far from the freeway. A 5 minute walk away are a few local restaurants, the Chinese buffet is very and good value for food; $10.95 all you can eat buffet. 
The Breakfast was not very good, not great choice, very small area which got very congested, and only 4 tables.
Overall an average stay, could be better if they updated the rooms with some colour and improved the reception / breakfast area.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SJLSurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (528)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

464 - 470 of 528 reviews

Reviewed August 4, 2012

I have stayed at cheaper hotels for less money, yet were nicer. Only stayed one night because of the high price. Went across the street the next night for less money and a nicer establishment. Lesson learned and will book a room early during peak season.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nonnieto3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2012

This hotel was in a good location, very quiet but at the same time close to many restaurants and in a good location for visiting the places we wished to see.
The staff were helpful and cheery and the room was very clean and comfortable. We slept well on both nights. The breakfast was good and served in a small but clean room, just off reception.
We enjoyed our stay here.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank casswife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2012

My husband and I stayed one night at this motel and were very satisfied. My main "thing" is cleanliness and this place fit the bill. Good location, quiet room. Free in-room Internet which was satisfactory.

Room Tip: We always ask for a room on an upper floor to avoid folks walking over our heads all evening.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Califaloha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2012

We stayed one night in a King room during a recent trip to Arcata. The hotel was super clean and fresh. It appeared as if this is a new hotel. Good breakfast, good sized breakfast room, about a mile from the highway, quite a few restaurants in close proximity, lots of parking, close to the campus and historic downtown. We paid less than $80 for our stay and felt that this was a great bargain. The hotel staff were prompt and friendly.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CA_Travel_Two
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2012 via mobile

This place definitely fit the bill for a one night stay...but more than that would be pushing it. While clean, it is older and the beds clearly are on the older side if my back is any indicator of that. Of all the hotels we stayed in on our trip, this one left me hurting the most the next morning. Also, this is supposed to be an entirely smoke free hotel, but our room smelled distinctly of smoke when we checked in. To the staffs' credit, they did offer a room change when we brought it to their attention (so that we wouldn't be charged an extra cleaning fee for something we hadn't done). Breakfast was the standard and nothing to complain about. We choose Arcata over Eureka after a day in the Redwoods and the next day as we drove through Eureka, we were very glad we had. We'd choose Arcata over Eureka again....60/40 on if we'd choose Howard Johnson or not.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dontw0rrybhappy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2012

My husband and I were on a weekend road trip to the redwoods, and we stayed at this HoJo for one Saturday night this past weekend. I called around 4pm to let the front desk clerk know that we would be checking in after 7pm. He said it wasn't a problem because our credit card was holding our reservation. This turned out to be a good thing because the hotel seemed pretty busy that night. We had to wait about 10 minutes to check in, but the clerk was polite and helpful. We didn't use the indoor pool/spa, but it looked great (and crowded!). There is also a very small fitness room (one treadmill, one bike, one weight machine), and a laundry room. Our room was a king on the second floor. Yes, there is no elevator, but that didn't bother us at all. Other than the hideous dark green carpet and outdated decor, the room itself was clean. Typical Wyndham chain bath amenities, and although the showerhead seemed to have hard water stains, it worked well and we had plenty of hot water. There was a lack of convenient power outlets, but we made do. The number of cable TV channels was amazing! Plus a lot of them are HD! We loved having a window with a screen that we could open to get fresh air. Our window faced the Hampton Inn next door. The lot has plenty of parking spaces compared to the amount of rooms, so parking wasn't an issue. The location is great: near the freeway, other hotels, and a strip mall with a supermarket and a few restaurants. The rate was well under $100/night, and that is pretty good for free WiFi, free breakfast, free parking, and a clean room. Although breakfast was supposed to start at 6:30am, the desk clerk said we could request some of the items earlier in the morning if we were leaving early. We left between 5:30-6, and found everything was already out! Hard-boiled eggs, ripe bananas, dry cereal, oatmeal, pastries, toast, etc. I think the only thing missing was the waffle batter, but we were told that wouldn't be out until 6:30. Besides, we wanted our breakfast to-go anyway. Yes, it isn't a brand new, fancy hotel, but it was definitely worth what we paid, and we wouldn't hesitate to stay there again when traveling through that area.

Room Tip: If you don't want to walk up the stairs, ask for a room on the ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sophie832
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arcata
0.0 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Arcata, CA
0.1 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Arcata
8.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Humboldt Bay Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Bayshore Inn
0.4 mi away
Ramada Arcata
Ramada Arcata
#8 of 10 in Arcata
251 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hotel Arcata
Hotel Arcata
#5 of 10 in Arcata
139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn Arcata - Humboldt Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Arcata - Humboldt Area

Address: 4700 Valley West Blvd, Arcata, CA 95521-4660 (Formerly Howard Johnson Express Arcata)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Humboldt County > Arcata
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Arcata
Price Range: $89 - $169 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Comfort Inn Arcata - Humboldt Area 2*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of the redwoods, the Comfort Inn Arcata is the perfect place to spend your vacation while exploring California's pristine northern coast. Located conveniently nearby to restaurants, markets, and beautiful beaches, you will find Humboldt county to be a relaxing getaway. The hotel itself offers complimentary hot breakfast, an indoor heated swimming pool, and a spa to help you feel relaxed and right at home. Recently renovated, our interior access rooms are cozy and furnished with new furniture and beds. We also offer guest laundry services, a fitness room, free high speed wireless internet, and 24 hour front desk service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Choice Hotels, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Comfort Inn Arcata - Humboldt Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Express Inn - Arcata Hotel Arcata
Howard Johnson Arcata
Arcata Howard Johnson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing