We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unclean”
Review of Super 8 Arcata

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Super 8 Arcata
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in Arcata
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Unclean”
Reviewed August 20, 2012

Even by seedy motel standards, this place is a dump. The property is full of litter and our room, foul as it was, was not cleaned properly during our stay. The whole place stinks and as a smoker, I find that takes some doing. The only bright spot was the staff who were super helpful. The owner of the franchise needs to read these reviews.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank shrinkrapt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

279 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    54
    83
    62
    52
See reviews for
113
59
47
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hershey, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2012

We stayed here for a night in July while visiting Trinidad and it was a great stay. The staff was friendly and they made sure that we were satisfied with our stay. The breakfast was decent. We got a good night's sleep and would return!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Penngirl29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shasta Lake, California
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2012

This was about the only hotel that had rooms. The hallway was really dirty, they left the doors open to the outside parking lot so you felt unsafe and anybody could walk into the hotel hallways and they smelled like cigarette smoke. The blanket on the bed had what looked like blood on it so we asked for another blanket. They gave us a clean blanket that had a hole cut out and a cigarette burn whole in it. The good thing is that they had police patroling the parking lot frequently. The shower arm that holds the curtain was falling off and therefore leaked water all over the floor. The other people that were staying in the hotel were a little scary, they looked more like people who lived on the street. I've stayed at Super 8's in Montana before and they were clean and halfway updated, this one was just disgusting.

Room Tip: Don't stay in room 131
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Randi D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Arcata hotels

Germany
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2012

I was in the middle of a 5 day trip up the coast. I booked this hotel due to the price (around $70) and the fact i wanted something a bit better than the bottom of the line Motel 6 types. What I found was dirty hallways, room and lobby. Ok the staff was very friendly and helpful but the owner should be ashamed of himself. The breakfast area IS THE LOBBY, about 8 by 10 feet with two small tables where over a hundred rooms are suppose to all get a light breakfast. What is worse is the majority of guests appeared to be street people, standing around, some with wine bottles. I was a bit concerned about leaving my car parked in the lot over night. Next door is a Mc Donald's drive thru which has a PA system which can be heard from the hotel. Wonder if this is a 24 hour drive thru. I'd pay $20 more and should have but in the past my stays at Super 8 hotels have been pleasant and I've been happy with what you got for the money.

Room Tip: Arcata is not far from Eureka, Arcata is home to the University so you'll find much more student...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank derkdiggler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2012 via mobile

There was nothing awful about this hotel, but I probably would bot stay there again. There are other hotels in the same price range that are better quality. The rooms were in need of updating.

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Anmb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, TX
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 1, 2012

I stayed here because it allows dogs, and my very clean, very well trained therapy dog is with me. The first room they put me in reeked of cat pee. They must have had a male cat that sprayed everywhere, and they haven't cleaned it properly. (Or just ban the cats!) In our new room, I put down towels before I would let her lie on the floor because it's so dirty here. Carpets are filthy. Used, crumpled, dirty napkins & other old trash (old because covered in dust) stuffed between desk & wall. Obvious clumps of dark dust clumped onto the carpet in corners and near the beds. Grime on all surfaces. Phone completely coated with brown, greasy something or other. I sprayed everything with industrial strength cleaner & still tried not to touch anything. Chairs dark brown/black where dirty people have sat on the backs. I put towels on everything before sitting or touching. If I didn't have my sweet puppy with me, I would never have stayed. I saw the one maid at the trash can right by the back door, digging down into it with her bare arms to pull out bottles and cans to recycle. While I'm happy that she recycles, I'm concerned about the additional filth she got all over her arms & uniform in the process because that thing was full and like everything else in the hotel, covered with old, gross-looking grime. It's also where people have to throw their bags of dog poop. One bright spot is that the place does not smell like antiseptic or perfumes, and other than the cat--pee-smelling room, it doesn't smell like an old dirty hotel. I've stayed in a lot of Super 8's. They're usu basic, but clean & fine for driving trips. This one is absolutely horrible, and I doubt I would stay here for even one night passing through even if I didn't have my dog with me. Some of the other customers are also truly scary looking and horrible smelling--dirty, unkempt, smelly (like haven't showered for days) butt crack showing, stringy unwashed hair. I know the hotel isn't directly responsible for that, but it was one other thing that made this a horrible stay. The furniture is falling apart. Lamp shades have been violently torn/cut by people, and something horrible smeared onto them. Lamps covered in greasy-looking dust. Chair wobbles so badly it may break completely apart soon. Bed sagging, springs sprung, pillows thin & dirty (I brought my own).

Room Tip: If you still insist on staying here, check the room out before you bring all your luggage up. You m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Arisu M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
richmand
1 review
Reviewed April 23, 2012

The staff was courteous and helpful.The facility is relatively old and the rooms are well appointed, noise level is not bad. The breakfast was ok grade for this kind of motel. In-room coffee was actually better than that in the breakfast room.There is not much seating in the breakfast room

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kiros m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arcata
0.1 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Arcata
0.3 mi away
Ramada Arcata
Ramada Arcata
#8 of 10 in Arcata
224 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hotel Arcata
Hotel Arcata
#5 of 10 in Arcata
133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Arcata - Humboldt Area
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Arcata, CA
7.9 mi away
Town House Motel - Historic Old Town
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 Arcata? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Arcata

Property: Super 8 Arcata
Address: 4887 Valley West Blvd, Arcata, CA 95521-4693
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Humboldt County > Arcata
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in Arcata
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Arcata 2*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Super 8 Arcata reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Hotel Arcata
Super 8 Motel Arcata
Super Eight Arcata
Arcata Super Eight
Arcata Super 8

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing