We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay Somewhere Else”
Review of Super 8 Arcata

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Super 8 Arcata
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in Arcata
Reviewed November 8, 2007

This motel does not want to provide 24 hour coffee as they are required to by franchise regulations. Air conditioner in room does not get cool enough and they do not want to fix it. Hotel requires a $50 deposit for cash customers. Stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed: November 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Donald C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (289)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

279 - 285 of 289 reviews

Reviewed June 26, 2007

This is definitely the worst place that I've ever stayed at. The Wi-Fi worked 20% of the time. The phones didn't work, the lock was broken, the fridge made a loud clicking noise like a rabid gerbil, there wasn't an iron in the room, the front desk was empty most of the time, the lazyboy smelled like elephant droppings, the outer door in the building was broken, and the parking lot is extremely far from most of the rooms. To top all of off with a cherry, the walls are paper thin so that you can hear every cough, whisper, and fart, from every room that surrounds you, including the one above. Remember to bring earplugs. These are really not exaggerations...It was so bad, that I had to check out and move to another hotel nearby...

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank ashe79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2007

I stayed at the Super 8 because it was well-rated on tripadvisor and it was $20 cheaper than the #1 rated motel. I asked for a quiet room, and they gave me a 2nd floor (top floor) room with a storage room on one side and a guest room on the other side. The walls are thin but the people next door settled down by 11 and I had a comfortable night's sleep. The room was spacious and simple. The bathroom was dingy, with paint peeling behind the toilet, but clean enough. The plumbing worked properly; the shower had good water power and had plenty of hot water. The heater/fan unit was in bad need of cleaning; dust and dirt were caked on it. I didn't turn it on for fear of blowing dust around in the room. For breakfast, they offer English muffins or packaged Danish in the reception area (2 small tables), so I went next door to McDonald's instead. If you're not too picky and just want a basic room that doesn't cost a lot, this motel is for you. A great place to eat is Lost Coast Brewery in downtown Eureka. They have excellent fish 'n chips and specialty beers and ales.

  • Stayed: April 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BirdingIsFun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2007

My husband and I have stayed here twice now and both experiences have been good ones. The staff is friendly and for a $5.00 nightly fee our dog was able to stay with us. The continental breakfast consisted of the usual packaged pastries, English muffins, orange juice, and coffee. The king sized bedroom was very large with plenty of room for our pet to stretch out. Access to the area behind the hotel for walking our pet was easy and convenient to get to. The bathroom was small but clean and if you like a showerhead with lots of power, you’ll like this one. If the strong smell of smoke (and I don’t mean from cigarettes) gets to you than this is not the place for you. We were visiting the area on 4:20 which some say is a local holiday weekend so maybe the smell isn’t always so strong. Our room did not smell but stepping out into the halls was sometimes overwhelming. We did notice late at night the local police patrolled the hotel parking lot about every hour and when we asked the front desk if there had been problems, she said “no, that the PD patrolled to keep things safe”. The room view choices are of either the back of Best Western Hotel or McDonalds but for the price it’s a great place to stay and we will definitely go back.

  • Stayed: April 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank CaliforniaMcKenna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Mill Valley, California
18
Reviewed June 21, 2006

We arrived at the end of a busy (oyster festival) weekend with late maid service in full swing. Our very basic room was however spotless and we were thrilled to have a nonsmoking room to share with our large dog. Access to rooms is via an interior corridor. The staff were friendly and helpful. This motel is located beside the freeway and the back of the parking lot is securely fenced. The neighboring motel is set back even more from the freeway and this provided a large recently mowed grassy field. This was a great place for our dog to be off leash. The field was free of stickers and trash -- really nice. There is at least one outdoor well-fed cat -- we saw it in the evening and the next morning. In the shrubbery beside the motel we saw a full cat food dish. If you stay here with a pet, keep an eye out for the outdoor cat and its food. A very modest free continental breakfast is provided. There is no pool. North on 101 is Clam Beach which has a very small wooden bridge for foot traffic located to the right of the parking lot. This is a beach where dogs can run off leash but only near the surf. Cars are driven onto this beach as well. Dogs are also allowed at a county park on the west side of the 101 exit used to reach this motel.

Stayed: June 2006
8  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2014 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2014
Thank Rebecca D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2014
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Valentina V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arcata
0.1 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Arcata
0.3 mi away
Ramada Arcata
Ramada Arcata
#8 of 10 in Arcata
251 reviews
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Arcata - Humboldt Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Arcata, CA
2.3 mi away
Hotel Arcata
Hotel Arcata
#5 of 10 in Arcata
139 reviews
7.6 mi away
Rodeway Inn
Rodeway Inn
#11 of 21 in Eureka
246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 Arcata? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Arcata

Address: 4887 Valley West Blvd, Arcata, CA 95521-4693
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Humboldt County > Arcata
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in Arcata
Price Range: $74 - $249 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Arcata 2*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Super 8 Arcata reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Hotel Arcata
Super 8 Motel Arcata
Super Eight Arcata
Arcata Super Eight
Arcata Super 8

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing