We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Complaint of Tour Bus Idling outside room 6:5 am”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Arcata Inn
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Arcata
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 19, 2013

A tour bus arrived and idled its loud motor in front of the motel, where my room was, for 45 minutes. After 30 minutes I asked the on duty desk personnel to tell the bus driver to turn it off, as required by state law, and nothing happened. I confronted the bus driver, and he tried to yell me down, I left. Why didnt the hotel representative do his job.



  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Peter G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (735)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

609 - 615 of 735 reviews

Reviewed February 11, 2013

Our room was very clean, the sheets and blankets were clean and soft.the front desk staff were friendly and even had some little dog bones for my dog. There is a 20 dollar non refundable pet deposit. The pool and hot tub was really nice and my 5 year old had a lot of fun swimming.
the location isn't very pretty but it doesn't seem unsafe. there is a grocery store and a few fast food restaurants close by.
I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jeanieandian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2013

Stayed 2 nights in Feb. in king room. Room was large, bed comfy, had 2 tables and desk, towels plush, reasonably quiet- no freeway noise. Stores and food within walking distance. Cont breakfast from 6 to 10. Good assortment- waffles, cold cereal, boiled eggs, biscuits and gravy, various types of bread and bagels, yogurt and string cheese.Nice hot tub with good hours. Clean room, helpful staff and cookies in lobby. Heater was very noisy at night- turned off 2nd night and room stayed warm enough to get good sleep.Shower /toilet area very compact but that's hopefully not where you spend all your time. One negative on the 1st night the smell of pot outside some of the rooms (this is Humboldt county) was overwhelming and would drift in the rooms if you left door open long.The next night only a little lingered. Plenty of cigarette receptacles on the walkway outside-glad I didn't get that room the next night. Otherwise pleasant stay,reasonably priced and have stayed here before and would come back again.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dick B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2013

This hotel is very nice. My room was up front & very quiet, even with the big rigs parked out front, I never heard them leave in the early morning hours. My room was very clean & the bed was very comfortable. There was a flat screen TV, microwave & small refrigerator in my room. Every afternoon that I was there the staff made & served cookies located in the office. Coffee & other hot drinks were also available. Breakfast was standard, but good. The waffle machine turns out homemade tasting waffles. String cheese was also offered. Never seen that offered at any other motel before. The towels were nice & white & fluffy. I would recommend that you stay here.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
1  Thank LLOYD B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2013

I've read reviews about how hotels in Arcata are ugly and smell musty, especially during winter season. When I checked in this hotel during my business trip, I was pleasantly surprised about how clean, warm, and comfy my room is, not to mention the friendliness of the staff who would bend over backwards to ensure my stay was close to perfect. It's hard to believe the hotel was some decades old already. Definitely I would come back again to this hotel!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SnOwMeW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2013

Stayed at this hotel a couple of nights while touring the redwoods to the north in October. Although an older style hotel, the rooms have been updated. Everything worked as expected (including wi-fi). I thought the location right off the highway was very convenient, as was having some food options nearby. The continental breakfast was a bit better than average, although there is limited seating at peak times. Front desk staff helpful, as they generously accomodated an early check in.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank e_onthego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2013

This Best Western is a great example of how to turn an old, outdated motel in a little TripAdvisor gem.

It's obvious that the hotel "bones" are old but you would never tell once inside your room. The beds are on par with the Westin Heavenly bed - very soft and comfy. WiFi was smoking fast. Breakfast was a nice spread with the typical carbs (cereal, muffins, bagels) but with fresh fruit, mozzarella sticks and boiled eggs.

The dog area is in the back of the hotel. In the morning, you'll see all the other dog parents in various stages of dress walking their dogs back and forth across the back fence.

Room Tip: No reservation? Find the best rate on your smart phone and take it to the office with you. The front...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank WISCGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arcata
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Arcata, CA
8.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Humboldt Bay Inn
0.1 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Arcata
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Bayshore Inn
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Arcata - Humboldt Area
2.3 mi away
Hotel Arcata
Hotel Arcata
#5 of 10 in Arcata
139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Arcata Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Arcata Inn

Address: 4827 Valley West Blvd, Arcata, CA 95521-4693
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Humboldt County > Arcata
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Arcata
Price Range: $93 - $134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Arcata Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 62
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Best Western, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Best Western Arcata Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Arcata Hotel Arcata
Arcata Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing