We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best in area, and number 1 suggestion by CSU Humboldt Staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western Arcata Inn
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Arcata
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 20, 2012

After much review from TripAdvisor readers, and a good recommendation from Humboldt University staff, we selected the Best Western Arcata Inn as our choice to stay for 2 nights while scouting the university. Clean. Bedding Clean and soft! Reception staff quick, friendly and helpful. We checked in at just before 4pm, and room was ready. Fresh smelling, no smoke, two double beds and new flatscreen tv. Fast wireless internet, FREE, and reliable. Make sure to tell reception that you'll be needing internet at checkin, and she'll hand you a login and password sheet. New bathroom and fixtures, all the coffee fixings. Close to the university, 1 exit away. Little road noise. Hotel filled up as the evening went on. Obviously a good choice.
I checked the heater, which was off when we got to the room. Turned it on for a few minutes. Efficient - it quickly heated the room. Manually turned it off. Now room is perfect for sleeping.

Room Tip: On second floor. Stairs are unprotected. Close to parking though, so even in the rain and no umbre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheSk8Guru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (729)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

643 - 649 of 729 reviews

Reviewed March 17, 2012

Our room was sweltering when we walked in. The floor lamp wouldn't turn on, and neither would the tv. This was not the greatest of beginnings to our overnight stay. However, after a call to the front desk, and a visit from a very friendly young woman, everything was set in order. She crawled behind the tv console and restored the power. Apparently some workers had been working on the room the day before and had disconnected some electrical outlets and had turned the heat way up. The critical side of me says that the room should have been ready to receive guests. On the other hand, I did appreciate the quick response from the front desk.

Not much else to say about our stay. We came, we slept, we ate breakfast. The room was clean. Breakfast choices included fresh waffles with the do-it-yourself waffle maker and fresh fruit. I don't know why so many hotels, this one included, insist upon blaring the tv news when families are eating in the breakfast room. Can't we do without reports of the latest political squabbles, gun violence and sex scandals? If people want to watch this stuff in their rooms, so be it. But why not allow families to eat their breakfast without it?

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank talenthouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2012

Exceptionally clean. Friendly, helpful staff. Great free cookies in the lounge. Nice grounds for the pet.
Very well located to all area attractions.

For the best Mexican style food the Valley Azteca across the street has the best in the area or maybe anywhere. The mole is as good as it gets and the huarache is a delight. No gloppy stuff here, real taste is the idea.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tim L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2012

Nothing fancy but a satisfactory hotel and a comfortable room with polite and helpful staff. I felt fine staying here as a solo traveler. Give this hotel a try instead of the Best Westerns in Eureka.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bolinas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2011

From the time we walked into our room and saw the “Clean Remote” with its sealed keypad such that the housekeeping staff can easily disinfect its surface, to finding the old-fashioned bottle opener mounted under the sink, we knew that they had paid attention to the “little things” that make a hotel stay enjoyable like the Sunbeam hair dryer with its retractable cord. There’s also a tri-compartment body wash/shampoo/conditioner dispenser in the shower and a full rocker/recliner in the room. In addition, when’s the last time you saw sheets below and above the blanket – all underneath a wonderfully comfy comforter? And when’s the last time you had freshly baked cinnamon roles at a complimentary breakfast? We’ll definitely be back!

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Contraclarinet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2011

Neat room! Good place to stay near food. We ate breakfast near Trinidad Lighthouse.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dezigurl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2011

This hotel is near restaurants, small stores and a grocery store, so very convenient.
The breakfast bar had 3 waffle bakers, and mostly breads of different types, muffins, etc.
Protein was hardboiled eggs and yogurts. Flavored coffees and herbal teas.
Room was comfortable. Only negative on the room is we had to keep the bathroom door closed because there was a bright light shining through the window.
Our second night there a group of young people invaded the parking lot, jumped into the pool and created a ruckus. My only complaint is that the manager should have called the police sooner. We had noise for a couple of hours at least before they arrested some of them and broke up the party.
The first and third nights were without incident.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lmcathy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arcata
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Arcata, CA
0.1 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Arcata
10.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Bayshore Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Humboldt Bay Inn
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Arcata - Humboldt Area
2.3 mi away
Hotel Arcata
Hotel Arcata
#5 of 10 in Arcata
139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Arcata Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Arcata Inn

Address: 4827 Valley W Boulevard, Arcata, CA 95521-4693
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Humboldt County > Arcata
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Arcata
Price Range: $102 - $162 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Arcata Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 62
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Best Western, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Best Western Arcata Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Arcata Hotel Arcata
Arcata Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing