We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worst hotel ever”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Fairwinds Motel

Fairwinds Motel
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Arcata
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Fairwinds Motel
Ranked #10 of 10 Hotels in Arcata
Auburn CA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Worst hotel ever”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2013

This was the worst hotel experience I have ever had.
The rooms are moldy smelling and hot. The heater would not turn off. The manager's solution to this was to turn off the pilot light and offer to put a fan in the window.
The lights did not work. The bathroom was outdated and downright unclean.

Do not stay here under any circumstances.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mike F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    5
    7
    4
    11
See reviews for
10
5
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Palmdale, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2013

I had my daughter and niece with me and booked the hotel because it's in walking distance HSU. While checking in there were several ladies in the back room cursing up a storm. Totally unprofessional. I should have walked out, but I didn't. The room smelled grimy even though the window was cracked open. It was cold so we tried turning the heater on but it wouldn't work. The shower was disgusting and the comforters are really out dated. After 10 minutes I was not going to stay there. As I was walking out I looked back to make sure I had everything and saw two used condoms under the bed. GROSS!!!!!! Don't stay here....it's a rat hole.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 78traveler78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern Oregon
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2012

We have stayed at the Fairwinds twice now, and have found it to be clean and comfortable: as in good beds, clean bathrooms, EXCELLENT shower, and a very kind and helpful staff. Yes, it is a bit run-down, but where it counts, things were sparkling and working well.
Since our vehicle broke down en route to Arcata, the part about walking distance to downtown is absolutely true; I also observed a number of local buses go by, so I could have used them as well if I had wanted. Several sweet cafes and restaurants, plus a nice grocery store are all within a couple of blocks. And, Al is a prince among concierges or managers, whatever you call that job; his kindness and easygoing nature made our stay more relaxed.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nadjacrowfeather
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Rosa, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2012

Yes it has one of the best locations in town (with the exception of the Arcata Hotel which has THE best location) however it is gross. I stayed because I wanted to be able to walk to town and up to the school, but if you have a car go up to Giuntoli and stay in something that is modestly modern and not GROSS.
This place stinks, the beds spreads look like the have never been cleaned....just gross. If I were here with my wife and son you couldn't pay me to bring them into this rat hole.
nuff said.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Element1519
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairwindsManagement, Manager at Fairwinds Motel, responded to this review, August 14, 2012
We are sorry that anyone feels the bedspread at our motel was gross, while we always try to keep the cleanliness of our bedding materials by regularly washing it. On the other hand, some people has tried to steal our bedding materials, including one around the time this review was made, and fortunately our staff/housekeeper noticed it and told the would be thief who looked like a hitchhiker type traveller to put the bedspread back. We always stand by our quality and try to keep it high, so if anyone found a problem with it, they could just the staff on duty to check it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Encinitas, California
Level Contributor
57 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2012

After reading reviews I never thought I would stay there. However it is walking distance to HSU so I decided to give it a whirl. I must say it was not bad. The room was clean, the front desk was helpful and I didn't encounter the noise I read about. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bglad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
28 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2011

The hotel is old but well maintained and quiet. The amenities are ok and there isn't really anything special offered, but the hotel is a good place to stay if you are visiting for a couple days and will be out of the hotel most of the time.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joyride0011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monrovia, California
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2011

This motel is nothing special. I booked here because I was dropping my daughter off at HSU and needed a place to spend the night. I just wanted a hotel within walking distance of HSU and inexpensive. The Fairwinds met those requirements. This hotel represents very basic hotel living. Older motel, clean but could use some paint and replacement linens. The room was quiet. The bed was comfortable. Walking distance to downtown Arcata. I got exactly what I expected - a motel room. Staff in the front office was friendly. They had coffee on. If I were touristing or staying for more than just one night, I wouldn't stay here. But it worked for me for the one night I was there.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marklaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arcata
0.4 mi away
Hotel Arcata
Hotel Arcata
#5 of 10 in Arcata
3.0 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
1.8 mi away
Comfort Inn Arcata - Humboldt Area
1.8 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Arcata
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Arcata, CA
8.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Bayshore Inn
7.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Humboldt Bay Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairwinds Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairwinds Motel

Property: Fairwinds Motel
Address: 1674 G St, Arcata, CA 95521-5649
Location: United States > California > Humboldt County > Arcata
Amenities:
Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 10 Hotels in Arcata
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fairwinds Motel is a motel in Arcata, California, where distance is better expressed in minutes, not miles. It is located by the 101 Freeway along the California North Coast right next to Humboldt State University in the heart of the Redwood Country between the Humboldt Redwoods State Park and the Redwood National Park, home of the world tallest trees and other nature attractions, all of those can be reached in less than 60 minutes of driving. The motel rooms are clean and comfortable with free wireless internet so you can do business while relaxing. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Fairwinds Hotel Arcata

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing