We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Fairwinds Motel
Nearby Hotels
$130
ComfortInn
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$68
$64
Motel 6
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$186
$169
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$75
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$125
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$80
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Arcata Inn(Arcata)(Great Value!)
$129
$122
BestWestern.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$76
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Arcata(Arcata)
$107
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Blue Lake Casino Hotel(Blue Lake)(Great Value!)
$120
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (32)
Filter reviews
32 results
Traveler rating
0
5
7
6
14
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
0
5
7
6
14
See what travelers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
28 - 32 of 32 reviews
Reviewed September 21, 2006

This place is old but well maintained. The room is reasonably clean, better than some places that I've stayed before. The coffee in the lobby was made only after I requested so I have to wait about 5 minutes, good coffee though, better than the coffee I got from the restaurant near the motel.
Overall, my two days in Arcata is very enjoyable, especially because everything is within walking distance.

  • Stayed: September 2006, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank webmail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2006

We past through Arcata on our way to Redwood National Park. We had not pre booked a motel. Unfortunately there were preview days at the local university so most motels we fully booked. Our guide book DK Eyewitness Travel California (the latest and updated edition) recommended this motel. It was late and we made the mistake to believe the guide book and paid for the room without having seen it. The room was in a bad shape. Peeling plaster and wallpaper that was loose at many places. The walls and carpet had terrible stains. The room itself was not really clean but to be fair not really dirty either. The worst thing was the absence of airconditioning (there was a heat wave in California in July). We learned 2 lessons: 1) do not trust guide books and 2) do not book rooms in unfamiliar motels without seeing the room first.

  • Stayed: July 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Paaltjes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fairmotel, Manager at Fairwinds Motel, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2006

We really appreciate the comments from our customers and want to explain some things about our motel.

1. Our motel was built without any air conditioner due to the average summer temperature of only 64 - 65 degrees locally. We do have well maintained heaters in all of the rooms which are much more often used even in summer time. We regret that some of our customers were not happy because we don't have air conditioners in our rooms, and we wish they can find a more suitable place to stay.

2. Our rooms are in good condition and well maintained including the wall, carpet, lighting , bedding etc. We keep the rooms clean and fresh, although, being a motel of 40+ years old, there are some areas that maybe not perfect or overlooked, for example, the closet corners which are not really in the view of any customers, unless they are practicing to be a building inspector.

3. We always have a policy to refund the customer if requested before the stay is fully consumed. Some with 25% cut if the room was used, or some without any cut at all if the room is barely or not used at all. We fully understand that customer satisfaction is very important in hospitality business, but unfortunately, we can not satisfy everybody.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2018
Google Translation

  • Stayed: March 2018, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2014
Google Translation

Room Tip: non ho visto le altre ma la nostra era al piano terra sotto la rampa di scale, entrando sulla sinistra, pessima.
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews