We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good food, lots of selection”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Plaza Grill

Plaza Grill
Ranked #11 of 103 Restaurants in Arcata
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $9 - $25
Cuisines: American, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children, Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Good food, lots of selection”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2014

Good location in the Jacoby Storehouse on the Plaza. The variety of food served ensured every finicky eater in our group found something to enjoy (we had the bacon macaroni and cheese, mahi mahi fish tacos, chicken fettucini, and ling cod), everyone was happy! Nice atmosphere. Reasonable prices for the quality. The longevity of this restaurant in a college town is a good testament.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank PJMtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    40
    20
    7
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
262 reviews
137 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
“Our reliable restaurant in Arcata”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2013

Whenever my wife and I come to Arcata to see our daughter and son-in-law, we go to the Plaza Grill. It is our reliable restaurant in Arcata...nothing fancy, perhaps not outstanding but certainly above average. It usually is comfortably full of mixed ages from families to old timers to students. This time two of us had a shepherd's pie - tasty and a nice portion. My wife had a delicious California burger and our daughter had clam chowder and a spinach salad. No complaints, except perhaps a bit on the noisy side. It is very popular and rightly so; the service was very good and the place was friendly.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank stan w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Vernon, Washington
Level Contributor
86 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Atmosphere good, food average, value poor!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2013 via mobile

My $12 spinach salad tasted good but was the size of a dinner salad. The service was very friendly but slow. Not a good value or choice. It was in a cool old building though.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Valerie V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Astoria, Oregon
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good food, fast, friendly service.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

We stopped here on our west coast trip and were very impressed with the atmosphere, service, friendliness of the staff, food and promptness. We didn't feel that the price was out of line for the quality and amount of portions. The venue is located in an old building on the town square upon which there were several hippy type young people hanging out. Seemed to add to the easy going relaxed atmosphere of the whole situation.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bryankk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Didn't get waited on”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2013

We planned on having dinner there while visiting Arcata. But after being seated and given water no one ever came back to our table or even gave us a menu. We could tell by people sitting at other tables that the restaurant was short staffed. That coupled with a table that had been cleaned with a sour dish cloth, we decided to look for someplace else to eat.
We went to a restaurant next door and had a wonderful meal and great service.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lucky715
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Plaza Grill also viewed

Arcata, Humboldt County
 
Arcata, Humboldt County
Arcata, Humboldt County
 

Been to Plaza Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing