We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Graduation Day Class of 2013 - Arcada High”
Review of The Lady Anne

The Lady Anne
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Arcata
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Lady Anne
Ranked #2 of 4 Arcata B&B and Inns
Reviewed June 21, 2013

My husband and I spent three days at The Lady Anne and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The proprietors are so friendly, breakfasts were delicious and the other guests lovely to meet. I would suggest you read the other reviews and consider them.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jenny139
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (32)
There are newer reviews for The Lady Anne
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

12 - 18 of 32 reviews

Reviewed June 14, 2013

From the outside, the house is charming with a lovely front porch. Two cats and a dog roam around the grounds, which is nice for those who miss their own pets. My friend and I, not being a couple, wanted two beds so we chose the Sun Room with a king Temperapedic and a day bed. The price was 1/3 higher than a room for a couple which seemed pretty steep for what you get. The owners Sam and Sharon are nice and try to take care of the grandson, pets as well as the B and B too. It's convenient to the historic downtown and Sam gave us tips on where to go eat. The breakfast was pretty slim: a spoonful of eggs, a half a waffle, juice, coffee, and some fruit sliced. Some sausage or bacon would've been nice for more protein. I had to go get more food afterwards and I'm not a big breakfast eater. In retrospect we should not have stayed 3 nights.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Terra H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

If you're in Arcata, perhaps visiting Humboldt State University, the Lady Anne B&B offers clean, friendly, charming, eclectic accommodations. Two blocks from a local supermarket and in a nice, safe residential area, the Lady Anne is a comfortable refuge, built in 1888. It is packed with memorabilia, almost like an antique store. It is not sophisticated, certainly the opposite of a big-chain hotel or motel. But for what it is, and where it is, you cannot go wrong. Sam and Sharon couldn't be more helpful; they fix a tasty and varied breakfast that they like to serve sometime between 8 and 9 AM. There is a small frige in the dining area where you can keep your beer and wine chilled. My wife and I routinely stay there when visiting our daughter and son-in-law.

Room Tip: Ask if the Sun Room, a spacious bedroom in the back on the second floor with lots of light and space...
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank stan w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2013

Our one night in the spacious sun porch at the back of the second floor was quite satisfying. Good breakfast from friendly hosts Sharon and Sam. Also enjoyed the other guests and the proximity to downtown. Good dinner advice as well.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank harriettm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2011

Apparently a change in ownership left this Victorian beauty with new life. My "suite" - a living room with a gas wood stove, an astounding bed in terms of artistic craftpersonship as well as a good mattress, a clawfoot bathtub, and well, a balky shower (but hey, the tub works great). Spectacular garden. In the suite you have your private garden and outdoor stove. It's got a real stereo if you can figure how to work it, and a TV. so it's not one of those B&Bs that force you to be alone with yourselves. If you've never been to Arcata, it's located in a good spot - far enough from the machinations of the town square, but easy to access those machinations if you want. A couple decent restaurants at Jacoby Square. No end of bars available. Usually live music in several venues on weekends. Anyway, the house is incredible, and now, with Sharon and Sam, it's clean and welcoming. And a pet is happy there too.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bosslady3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2011

Stayed here in September 2011. The house is amazing, and has great potential. As with some of the other reviewers, I thought some small details were overlooked. Whilst 'clean', the place could do with a good dust. Some additions such as the bathroom in the room in which I stayed were economical in their quality, and the toiletries provided could have been nicer - and not made in China. Overall, a good vibe and reasonable for the money.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hannajh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2011

Stayed in the Rose Room. Vanity mirror so dusty you couldn't see your image. Room hadn't been dusted in quite awhile. Repairs also needed.
Bathroom mirror still dirty from previous guests.
Owners very pleasant but interior of B&B needs a serious cleaning!
Very disappointing and expensive for amenities provided.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank newguest_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arcata
0.3 mi away
Hotel Arcata
Hotel Arcata
#5 of 10 in Arcata
137 reviews
1.9 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Arcata
1.9 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Arcata, CA
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Comfort Inn Arcata - Humboldt Area
6.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Humboldt Bay Inn
8.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Bayshore Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lady Anne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lady Anne

Address: 902 14th St, Arcata, CA 95521-5509
Location: United States > California > Humboldt County > Arcata
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Arcata
Number of rooms: 5

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing