We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Delightful Victorian B & B in Fabulous Town” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Lady Anne

The Lady Anne
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Arcata
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Lady Anne
Ranked #3 of 4 Arcata B&B and Inns
San Diego, CA
1 review
“Delightful Victorian B & B in Fabulous Town”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2011

I was hesitant to try this B and B because of some neg reviews but my daughter so wanted to stay in a B & B so decided to give it a try. I am so glad that I did. The owner Sam was delightful as he was very helpful (great sushi referral - Sushi Spot), warm and welcoming. The Blue Room was beautiful and clean. The only reason I didn't give this B & B 5 stars was that the breakfast was good (scrambled eggs and either lemon pancakes or waffles )but not exemplary like some of the other bed and beakfasts that I've stayed in the past. Overall this place is great and what a cool town. You can walk to everything. The Saturday Farmers Market is quite the event. Lots of neat shops. We will be back!

Room Tip: Talk with Sam he will give you the pros and cons of each room. They are all quaint and beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kenoza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    7
    7
    4
    3
See reviews for
7
11
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kennewick, Washington
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2011

Innkeepers everywhere, please sleep in your rooms once in a while or have an honest friend do so. Think of appearances, people! Northern California Best Places gave this B&B a #1 recommendation. I’ve stayed in a lot of small inns and B&Bs through the years, and this one was the most disturbing. On the upside, great bed (Tempurpedic). The lady innkeeper was sweet and helpful, my phone contact with her husband was decidedly odd. Downside: House was a mess. Dust, dirt, mold, awful artwork, windows and sills inside and out were cobwebby and moldy. Garden was in poor shape with junk lying around. Birdbath was filled with algae and yellow muck. Pots with dying or no (?) plants. Dead flowers on the breakfast dining table (Why?! ). Little-to-no sense of order. Household junk and tools left lying around and in bedroom drawers, moldy showers, bad drainage, and birds nesting around the bathroom fans are not conducive to running an inn in a highly competitive field. The breakfast was a simple waffle, fruit that tasted vaguely like onions, and a meager cup of lukewarm coffee in a filthy coffee- and fruit-stained carafe. Seeing how we were the first down for breakfast, could this have been coffee left over from the day before? I trusted the book on this one, and was hugely disappointed. I hear parents are taking over running the inn for the young couple, and I hope they can resurrect the Lady Anne from the ashes.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PaintedPeony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Arcata hotels

Wisconsin
Level Contributor
31 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2010

We stayed in one room of the Union Suite, a lovely, sun-filled room with a peek of the bay. It has a fabulous, tempurpedic bed on a raised, canopy bed and felt like sleeping on a cloud. The small bathroom has a shower door that could use new caulking(moldy) and a pedestal sink that drained VERY slowly. The room and common areas of the B&B had lovely period details in both furnishings and decor. The home's location is very convenient and walkable to the University and shopping/restaurants. The owners, Jennifer and Bryn, are pleasant and helpful, but with a 4 week old baby when we were there, they didn't have the gregarious, conversational tone we have come to expect at most B&B's. Breakfast was tasty enough, but much less filling than any other B&B we have ever stayed at. It consisted of waffles and a couple of fruit slices. No protein to help get through the day.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wis_B_and_B_lover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, Alaska
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2010

I'm not sure who these people paid off to get ANY decent reviews. We were on a 14 day trip and stayed at 3 b&b's, 3 hotels and a goat farm - this place was so far below anything else that I just had to write a review. The house has good bones, but the decorating is tacky and tasteless. The bathroom shower was dirty, the gas "woodstove" had a big hose trailing along the floor from the wall to the stove. The single bed (which is a daybed) squeaked and was so lumpy that my daughter slept with me in the king bed. The whole house smells musty and made our sinuses stuffy. In the morning we went down to breakfast (8-9 am) at 8:30 and the dining room was completely filled with guests. No other seating, not even a cup of coffee to be had. Since we had to be somewhere at 9:30 we left and paid to eat breakfast at a diner nearby. Don't stay here! This place is a rip off.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank maggiedcs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2010

The Lady Anne is a Victorian house in a mostly Victorian neighborhood of Arcata. It's a quick walk down into the town, which is a lovely small college town: excellent bookstores, cafés, clubs, restaurants.

The Lady Anne is not -- but does not pretend to be -- an antique-filled "inn" of luxury and 5 o' clock wine on the veranda. It would require a lot of remodeling and more than a staff of one to make it so.

But you do get a warm welcome, a clean, bright room (yes, the carpets are a bit threadbare, but our rooms were spotless) and a pretty good breakfast in the morning.

Is it good value? It worked for us because a) we wanted to be in walking distance of the town center and b) did not want to stay at a souless chain motel on the highway for just one night.. If your main criterion, though, is "just a place to stay passing through" or you need to spend several nights in Arcata, you might well want to consider a chain.

This is not a "weekend getaway with pampering" place; it's by no means a "romantic inn." But for the price and location, I found it adequate, clean and hospitable.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Allan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bvbsofca
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2010

A beautiful setting with horrible customer service, dirty rooms and an absolute knuckle head roaming around lost. The man of the house was about as engaging as a dead snake. The beds were comfortable but another word for quaint is dump. Needs a lot of repair and is really not a good place. Arcata is a nice town as long as you can deal with the panhandlers and the odd people roaming about. It has actually gone down quite a bit over the years. I would not stay here if I ever go back.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bcbsofca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Beach Gardens, Florida
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2009

Room was not clean...
Breakfast was lovely....

Arcata is my favorite place to visit but this room was overpriced and not worth the money. The room design was hokey not what I thought a Victorian would be at all..

Loved the breakfast....but the stay...not so much...sorry...
Money is too hard to come by these days....
and I cannot recomment this B&B...

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dpcashiers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arcata
0.3 mi away
Hotel Arcata
Hotel Arcata
#5 of 10 in Arcata
3.0 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Arcata, CA
1.9 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Arcata
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Howard Johnson Express Arcata
8.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Bayshore Inn
2.0 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#8 of 10 in Arcata
3.0 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lady Anne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lady Anne

Property: The Lady Anne
Address: 902 14th St, Arcata, CA 95521-5509
Location: United States > California > Humboldt County > Arcata
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Arcata
Number of rooms: 5

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing