We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stephen King Novel?”
Review of The Lady Anne

The Lady Anne
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Arcata
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Lady Anne
Ranked #2 of 4 Arcata B&B and Inns
Reviewed May 28, 2011

Innkeepers everywhere, please sleep in your rooms once in a while or have an honest friend do so. Think of appearances, people! Northern California Best Places gave this B&B a #1 recommendation. I’ve stayed in a lot of small inns and B&Bs through the years, and this one was the most disturbing. On the upside, great bed (Tempurpedic). The lady innkeeper was sweet and helpful, my phone contact with her husband was decidedly odd. Downside: House was a mess. Dust, dirt, mold, awful artwork, windows and sills inside and out were cobwebby and moldy. Garden was in poor shape with junk lying around. Birdbath was filled with algae and yellow muck. Pots with dying or no (?) plants. Dead flowers on the breakfast dining table (Why?! ). Little-to-no sense of order. Household junk and tools left lying around and in bedroom drawers, moldy showers, bad drainage, and birds nesting around the bathroom fans are not conducive to running an inn in a highly competitive field. The breakfast was a simple waffle, fruit that tasted vaguely like onions, and a meager cup of lukewarm coffee in a filthy coffee- and fruit-stained carafe. Seeing how we were the first down for breakfast, could this have been coffee left over from the day before? I trusted the book on this one, and was hugely disappointed. I hear parents are taking over running the inn for the young couple, and I hope they can resurrect the Lady Anne from the ashes.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank PaintedPeony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (32)
There are newer reviews for The Lady Anne
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

20 - 26 of 32 reviews

Reviewed September 29, 2010

We stayed in one room of the Union Suite, a lovely, sun-filled room with a peek of the bay. It has a fabulous, tempurpedic bed on a raised, canopy bed and felt like sleeping on a cloud. The small bathroom has a shower door that could use new caulking(moldy) and a pedestal sink that drained VERY slowly. The room and common areas of the B&B had lovely period details in both furnishings and decor. The home's location is very convenient and walkable to the University and shopping/restaurants. The owners, Jennifer and Bryn, are pleasant and helpful, but with a 4 week old baby when we were there, they didn't have the gregarious, conversational tone we have come to expect at most B&B's. Breakfast was tasty enough, but much less filling than any other B&B we have ever stayed at. It consisted of waffles and a couple of fruit slices. No protein to help get through the day.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wis_B_and_B_lover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2010

I'm not sure who these people paid off to get ANY decent reviews. We were on a 14 day trip and stayed at 3 b&b's, 3 hotels and a goat farm - this place was so far below anything else that I just had to write a review. The house has good bones, but the decorating is tacky and tasteless. The bathroom shower was dirty, the gas "woodstove" had a big hose trailing along the floor from the wall to the stove. The single bed (which is a daybed) squeaked and was so lumpy that my daughter slept with me in the king bed. The whole house smells musty and made our sinuses stuffy. In the morning we went down to breakfast (8-9 am) at 8:30 and the dining room was completely filled with guests. No other seating, not even a cup of coffee to be had. Since we had to be somewhere at 9:30 we left and paid to eat breakfast at a diner nearby. Don't stay here! This place is a rip off.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank maggiedcs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2010

The Lady Anne is a Victorian house in a mostly Victorian neighborhood of Arcata. It's a quick walk down into the town, which is a lovely small college town: excellent bookstores, cafés, clubs, restaurants.

The Lady Anne is not -- but does not pretend to be -- an antique-filled "inn" of luxury and 5 o' clock wine on the veranda. It would require a lot of remodeling and more than a staff of one to make it so.

But you do get a warm welcome, a clean, bright room (yes, the carpets are a bit threadbare, but our rooms were spotless) and a pretty good breakfast in the morning.

Is it good value? It worked for us because a) we wanted to be in walking distance of the town center and b) did not want to stay at a souless chain motel on the highway for just one night.. If your main criterion, though, is "just a place to stay passing through" or you need to spend several nights in Arcata, you might well want to consider a chain.

This is not a "weekend getaway with pampering" place; it's by no means a "romantic inn." But for the price and location, I found it adequate, clean and hospitable.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Allan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2010

A beautiful setting with horrible customer service, dirty rooms and an absolute knuckle head roaming around lost. The man of the house was about as engaging as a dead snake. The beds were comfortable but another word for quaint is dump. Needs a lot of repair and is really not a good place. Arcata is a nice town as long as you can deal with the panhandlers and the odd people roaming about. It has actually gone down quite a bit over the years. I would not stay here if I ever go back.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bcbsofca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2009

Room was not clean...
Breakfast was lovely....

Arcata is my favorite place to visit but this room was overpriced and not worth the money. The room design was hokey not what I thought a Victorian would be at all..

Loved the breakfast....but the stay...not so much...sorry...
Money is too hard to come by these days....
and I cannot recomment this B&B...

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dpcashiers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2009

We stayed at the Lady Anne during the Humboldt State University family weekend/homecoimg weekend. It was my first time staying at a B&B and cetainly won't be my last at the Lady Anne. We stayed in the Blue room. It was perfect. Greg, our host was wonderful. He has a great knowledge of the local area.

The breakfasts were great. Coffee was always on and the house was spotless with lots of antiques in the parlor and music room. We felt as if we were at home.

The Lady Anne doesn't raise their rates for the weekends or special events such as HSU's homecoming weekend. An extra bonus, as some other hotels do.

A perfect getaway or a quick stop to see a child at HSU. We love this B&B and will be back again.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MedicRon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arcata
0.3 mi away
Hotel Arcata
Hotel Arcata
#5 of 10 in Arcata
137 reviews
1.9 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Arcata
1.9 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Arcata, CA
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Comfort Inn Arcata - Humboldt Area
6.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Humboldt Bay Inn
8.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Bayshore Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lady Anne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lady Anne

Address: 902 14th St, Arcata, CA 95521-5509
Location: United States > California > Humboldt County > Arcata
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Arcata
Number of rooms: 5

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing