We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel but somewhat pricey” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn and Suites Arcata, CA

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hampton Inn and Suites Arcata, CA
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Arcata
Certificate of Excellence
Medford, OR
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent hotel but somewhat pricey”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2011

Everything you would expect from a Hilton Hotel, including friendly service, clean rooms, a nice heated indoor pool/jaccuzzi and a nice fitness center. I stayed in a king suite and enjoyed it. It had a mini fridge, microwave, a sofabed, 42 inch LCD with some HD channels and a big bathroom with full size mirror. The whole family slept like babies. Free breakfast is awesome with waffles, a variety of breads, cereals, eggs, bacon, sausage, potatoes, biscuits and gravy, juices, milk and coffee. 5 star hotel in my eyes.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank xraided5150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

550 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    305
    164
    48
    15
    18
See reviews for
205
164
37
115
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Arvada, Co, Usa
Level Contributor
38 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2011

Stayed for two nights in August while visiting Redwoods Country. Everything you expect from a new Hampton. Clean, comfortable rooms (I imagine this is the nicest property in Arcata), efficient and friendly. (Stayed at the Marriott Marquis in SF the following three nights and my wife kept wishing for the Hampton bed). Yasmin at the front desk was helpful and remained polite and friendly while dealing with an area-wide internet outage that some guests seemingly wanted to blame her for. Only place I would stay in the area.

Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank aghadden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2011

One staff person on duty to handle sold out hotel. The battery in the lock in our room took 2.5 hours to replace (we were locked out of room, sitting in lobby from 8:30pm to 11:00pm). There are plenty of clean and lower cost rooms available in Arcata, try the Best Western across the street. This hotel is not worth the price. Please note, Michael (only staff member) was professional and a hard worker, just overwhelmed.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mikepemberton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
60 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2011

This is the best hotel by far, I made an error with my reservation and Michael modified it so we had a room for the night. The King room was huge. Great room for breakfast, laundry, pool.

Best place by far of the trip thru California.

You can't go wrong with this place

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kwfnut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, MN
Level Contributor
48 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2011

Loved this hotel. Being a new hotel, everything was in great shape and very clean! The bed was so comfortable! We stayed in a studio suite, so had mini refrigerator, microwave, and wet bar. Great breakfast in a very stylish new design breakfast room. Really makes you want to just hang out for the day! If we are ever in the area again, we will be staying here!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank melosis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene, Oregon
Level Contributor
39 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2011

This Hampton Inn was exactly what we expected from a Hampton inn... clean, simple, friendly.

The rooms were nice, bathrooms were arranged in an orderly manner, with plenty of space and all your amenities right there. The pool was clean and quiet, the staff was wonderful. Parking was easy, and finding the place is pretty easy, though their sign from the north is hard to see. The hotel is right next to a shopping center, with gas and plenty of food options.

The complimentary breakfast was excellent, and it was nice that it was open from 6 am to 10am. Some hotels close earlier, so when we wanted to sleep in, it was nice knowing there would still be food.

The lobby decor was nice and simple, and they had good advice about local attractions. It is a nice 15 min. drive to downtown Eureka, and about 30 min. away from nice Redwood groves. If you are going on a family trip, I would definitely recommend this for value, cleanliness, and convenience.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ilikemarkers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene, OR USA
Level Contributor
80 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

We stayed here for two nights after a drive down through the Redwoods. This hotel is very clean, well maintained (Appears fairly new) with very friendly and helpful service. The breakfast was what you would normally expect from a Hampton Inn, somewhat better than a continental breakfast with a good variety and hot items, but nothing cooked to order. I would stay here again without question! Good for our group of two families and well located for a visit to the Eureka area.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jbollig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arcata
10.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Bayshore Inn
8.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Humboldt Bay Inn
0.1 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Arcata
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Eureka
0.0 mi away
Howard Johnson Express Arcata
2.3 mi away
Hotel Arcata
Hotel Arcata
#5 of 10 in Arcata
3.0 of 5 stars 116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn and Suites Arcata, CA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn and Suites Arcata, CA

Property: Hampton Inn and Suites Arcata, CA
Address: 4750 Valley West Blvd, Arcata, CA 95521-4660
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Humboldt County > Arcata
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Arcata
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn and Suites Arcata, CA 2.5*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn and Suites Arcata, CA hotel is located off the Pacific Coast Highway 101 just five minutes from the Arcata airport. All of our rooms and suites include free WiFi and free breakfast served daily. Enjoy non-smoking rooms with Samsung 50-inch LED flat-screen TVs, free parking on-site, an indoor heated pool, 24-hour fitness room, 24-hour business center (free WiFi in the business center), three meeting rooms, 24-hour lobby snack/suite shop and multi-lingual staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels, Cancelon, Odigeo, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Orbitz so you can book your Hampton Inn and Suites Arcata, CA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites Arcata Hotel Arcata

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing