We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel but somewhat pricey”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hampton Inn and Suites Arcata, CA
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Arcata
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 13, 2011

Everything you would expect from a Hilton Hotel, including friendly service, clean rooms, a nice heated indoor pool/jaccuzzi and a nice fitness center. I stayed in a king suite and enjoyed it. It had a mini fridge, microwave, a sofabed, 42 inch LCD with some HD channels and a big bathroom with full size mirror. The whole family slept like babies. Free breakfast is awesome with waffles, a variety of breads, cereals, eggs, bacon, sausage, potatoes, biscuits and gravy, juices, milk and coffee. 5 star hotel in my eyes.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank xraided5150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (682)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

628 - 634 of 682 reviews

Reviewed August 13, 2011

Stayed for two nights in August while visiting Redwoods Country. Everything you expect from a new Hampton. Clean, comfortable rooms (I imagine this is the nicest property in Arcata), efficient and friendly. (Stayed at the Marriott Marquis in SF the following three nights and my wife kept wishing for the Hampton bed). Yasmin at the front desk was helpful and remained polite and friendly while dealing with an area-wide internet outage that some guests seemingly wanted to blame her for. Only place I would stay in the area.

Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
1  Thank aghadden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2011

One staff person on duty to handle sold out hotel. The battery in the lock in our room took 2.5 hours to replace (we were locked out of room, sitting in lobby from 8:30pm to 11:00pm). There are plenty of clean and lower cost rooms available in Arcata, try the Best Western across the street. This hotel is not worth the price. Please note, Michael (only staff member) was professional and a hard worker, just overwhelmed.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mikepemberton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2011

This is the best hotel by far, I made an error with my reservation and Michael modified it so we had a room for the night. The King room was huge. Great room for breakfast, laundry, pool.

Best place by far of the trip thru California.

You can't go wrong with this place

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kwfnut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2011

Loved this hotel. Being a new hotel, everything was in great shape and very clean! The bed was so comfortable! We stayed in a studio suite, so had mini refrigerator, microwave, and wet bar. Great breakfast in a very stylish new design breakfast room. Really makes you want to just hang out for the day! If we are ever in the area again, we will be staying here!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank melosis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2011

This Hampton Inn was exactly what we expected from a Hampton inn... clean, simple, friendly.

The rooms were nice, bathrooms were arranged in an orderly manner, with plenty of space and all your amenities right there. The pool was clean and quiet, the staff was wonderful. Parking was easy, and finding the place is pretty easy, though their sign from the north is hard to see. The hotel is right next to a shopping center, with gas and plenty of food options.

The complimentary breakfast was excellent, and it was nice that it was open from 6 am to 10am. Some hotels close earlier, so when we wanted to sleep in, it was nice knowing there would still be food.

The lobby decor was nice and simple, and they had good advice about local attractions. It is a nice 15 min. drive to downtown Eureka, and about 30 min. away from nice Redwood groves. If you are going on a family trip, I would definitely recommend this for value, cleanliness, and convenience.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ilikemarkers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2011

We stayed here for two nights after a drive down through the Redwoods. This hotel is very clean, well maintained (Appears fairly new) with very friendly and helpful service. The breakfast was what you would normally expect from a Hampton Inn, somewhat better than a continental breakfast with a good variety and hot items, but nothing cooked to order. I would stay here again without question! Good for our group of two families and well located for a visit to the Eureka area.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jbollig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arcata
8.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Humboldt Bay Inn
0.1 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Arcata
0.0 mi away
Comfort Inn Arcata - Humboldt Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Eureka
10.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Bayshore Inn
2.3 mi away
Hotel Arcata
Hotel Arcata
#5 of 10 in Arcata
139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn and Suites Arcata, CA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn and Suites Arcata, CA

Address: 4750 Valley West Blvd, Arcata, CA 95521-4660
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Humboldt County > Arcata
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Arcata
Price Range: $142 - $225 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn and Suites Arcata, CA 2.5*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn and Suites Arcata, CA hotel is located off the Pacific Coast Highway 101 just five minutes from the Arcata airport. All of our rooms and suites include free WiFi and free breakfast served daily. Enjoy non-smoking rooms with Samsung 50-inch LED flat-screen TVs, free parking on-site, an indoor heated pool, 24-hour fitness room, 24-hour business center (free WiFi in the business center), three meeting rooms, 24-hour lobby snack/suite shop and multi-lingual staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton Inn and Suites Arcata, CA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites Arcata Hotel Arcata

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing