We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just the sort of place you are hoping to stay...”
Review of Hotel Arcata

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Arcata
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Arcata
Boulder, Colorado, United States
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Just the sort of place you are hoping to stay...”
Reviewed June 27, 2014

I love historic hotels, but not for the chintzy antiques or 5-star Victorian haughtiness that seems to come with hotels with character. This hotel has neither. Yes, there are quite a few transients in the plaza and around 11pm there can be unsavory sounds from the bar next door- but the interior of the hotel has an upscale feel, the characters (both staff and guests) have actual character and the room itself was nicer than any we've stayed at along the Northern Coast. You don't come here expecting a hotel chain, sanitary-but-too-generic experience. You come here for the claw-foot bathtub and tiled entry. You stay here because it is truly located in the heart of the city- a city whose heart actually still beats.
Great place- far exceeded both expectations and the amount of time we had originally budgeted.

Room Tip: Second floor with windows facing off side street off plaza was quite and comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Heather R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    37
    31
    21
    23
See reviews for
27
54
5
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2014 via mobile

Every time I find myself in Arcata, I always stay here. The staff is friendly, the hotel is located right in the town square, it's really convenient if you're looking to go out and explore the cute town. The sushi restaurant located in the hotel is really delicious! Love this place!

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank Brittany A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Clemente, California
Level 6 Contributor
195 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2014

Set in the charming, historic town of Arcata in Northern California, the hotel is a bit rustic but still a very nice place to stay and right across from the downtown in the center of the city. Be sure to spend some time walking around this cute little town.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Karen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shelter Cove, California
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2014

Get ready for a noisy and overpriced experience. The building is a historic building and located right on the most beautiful Arcata town square and the Japanese restaurant in the hotel Tomo is delicious and has excellent service and many vegetarian options too and that unfortunately is where the good experience ends. The hotel is historic and on the National Register and it has that going for it to be sure and there are NO other hotels in downtown Arcata and none of the hotels in the larger area are particularly good so your options are incredibly limited and none of them are great either. The rooms are musty and smallish and are not very soundproofed, the patrons at the hotel can be very loud and if you get a room on the lovely plaza you will be kept awake by the very noisy bar patrons next door (not from the restaurant) and woken up early by the sometimes noisy early morning plaza people The hotel like many hotels has a most unfortunate habit of grouping all the people staying there right next to each other, even if the hotel is basically empty (i guess it makes it easier for the cleaning staff but seems very un-service oriented to me). If you are a heavy sleeper or one of the loud and late people than you'll likely be fine, otherwise-caveat emptor!

Room Tip: good luck! am told the inside suite (away from plaza is the best of the options here)
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Peter G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Arcata hotels

San Fran
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2014 via mobile

Very cute and clean hotel for enjoying the night life in Arcata. I got an interior executive suite well away from the street noise

Location is great and the staff was very accommodating Free wifi is always a bonus as well.

When in town be sure to visit the restored theater/lounge just down the street


Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Ajhello
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2014

I stayed here on a Thursday night, and I got a taste of the night life in Arcata. The hotel is right on the square, and there are several restaurants and bars immediately outside. Apparently, the hotel is pet-friendly because my first room (#311) smelled like cat piss, so I requested an alternative room. The second room (#316) put me above the alley on the north side of the building. As someone mentioned before, the garbage truck comes through at 4 a.m. to pick up three dumpsters; I kept waiting for them to be done. I still am semi-pleased with the hotel only because the alternative was to stay at a cluster of chain hotels outside of the center, but then I couldn't have enjoyed a nice meal down the street or the short stroll to the small movie theater.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms on the north side alley on a Thursday night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeffrey A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2013

It is located right on the square and surrounded by Bars so street noise is an issue. Also, if you do not like roving bands of hippies, then my advice is avoid Arcata in general. Hotel was build in 1915 and they did manage to maintain a lot of that feel while providing some modern conveniences like flat screen TV. Old Radiators for heat are charming, however you cannot control the temperature in an individual room. Old single pain windows that actually open add tot he charm of the hotel but do a poor job at keeping out the noise form the street. Original wood doors with real keys also a nice touch.

I liked the place, however it is not for everyone.

Room Tip: I noise is a problem for you, stay somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Johnp1126
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arcata
2.2 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Arcata
2.3 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Arcata, CA
2.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Arcata - Humboldt Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Red Lion Hotel Eureka
Red Lion Hotel Eureka
#5 of 21 in Eureka
607 reviews
2.4 mi away
Ramada Arcata
Ramada Arcata
#8 of 10 in Arcata
224 reviews
8.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Bayshore Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Arcata? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Arcata

Property: Hotel Arcata
Address: 708 9th St, Arcata, CA 95521-6246
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Humboldt County > Arcata
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Arcata
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic Hotel ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Arcata reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing