We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Arcata
Nearby Hotels
$60
Motel 6
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$93
ComfortInn
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$70
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$68
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$152
$144
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$89
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Arcata Inn(Arcata)(Great Value!)
$100
$94
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$85
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$79
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Blue Lake Casino Hotel(Blue Lake)(Great Value!)
$115
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (141)
Filter reviews
141 results
Traveler rating
21
39
36
21
24
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
21
39
36
21
24
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsclaw foot tubmodern amenitiesmain plazaparking permitbeautiful plazafarmers marketcentral locationnoisy at nightper nightwould stay againfront desk clerkstaff was friendlyhumboldt statetubsstudentspet
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
84 - 89 of 141 reviews
Reviewed January 6, 2012

This isn't a great hotel, let's be honest. I'm tempted to give it 2 stars, but I don't have the heart. I've stayed here at least 100 nights on business. (There aren't really other choices.)

The beds are scratchy, rooms can be very noisy on the park side in the summer. The carpets are at least 30 years old and the wifi doesn't work most of the time. The 'breakfast' are Cosco muffins and some coffee in paper cups.

If you aren't looking for comfort, there is some charm under the surface. It's a gold rush hotel built around 1890, and the rooms have claw-foot tubs.

And the sushi restaurant downstairs is pretty good. It's really a shame that they can't afford to restore it and upgrade the basics like beds and carpeting.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank CreekmoreWorld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2011

Hotel Arcata is an historic building on a corner across from the Arcata Plaza. The downstairs of the building includes one of the best Japanese/Sushi restaurants I have ever experienced, as well as some shops with local goods. Arcata only allows local businesses, so you will get a real flavor of the community just by walking this area.
It is not elegance in the modern style, and the street corner can be noisy, but it is clean, safe, and moderately priced. Parking can be difficult in this busy area, and there is no garage.

Room Tip: Rooms to the NW will be away from the busy corner.
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bonmom707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2011

We stayed in this historic hotel while visiting Arcata for a wedding. It is old, but we live in an old house and enjoy old buildings. The bed was comfortable, and we liked the overall feel of the place. The shower was great -- a large shower head with great water pressure. Everything was clean. The room was a good size, although the bathroom was small. There was a sink in the room, not the bathroom, which was a little odd, but not too inconvenient.

The staff were quite friendly, although not as helpful as we would have liked at check-in. We were told that they were all out of parking passes, and we would have to find a place to park where we did not need one. Since we had just arrived from out of town after 10:30 at night, we had no idea what to do. We ended up parking in a municipal lot several blocks away and putting the hotel's business card on the dashboard. Fortunately, when we went back in the morning, our car was still there and had not been towed. We were able to get a parking pass for subsequent nights.

The neighborhood is not quiet -- lots of bars on the square, and plenty of loud people outside the bars until the wee hours. We were on the side of the hotel not facing the square, and could still hear the noise. On Saturday morning, we enjoyed the farmer's market in the square, which started at the civilized hour of 9:30 am.

There was continental breakfast (rolls and coffee) available in the lobby, but we opted to walk down the street to a cafe for breakfast instead.

Overall, it was a pretty good experience, but if you are not used to old buildings or are bothered by noise outside, it might not be the best choice.

Room Tip: Ask for a room not facing the square; they are quieter.
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ladylawyer42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2011

We like historic hotels but not the high prices associated with historic properties so when we were able to book a standard king room for $99.00 we were Pleased. When we checked in and went to our room, however, we were disappointed because our room had no view. The front desk clerk gave us a king suite for $23.00 more overlooking the city plaza, well worth the extra $24.00. King bed, one and a half bathrooms, a living room with a big couch, two TVs, and a comfortable king bed. Did I mention the great view of the city plaza? WiFi with a strong signal. Newer elevator. Well worth the price. We got a permit to park on the street close to the hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a king suite overlooking the Plaza. Ask for a AAA discount.
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank mrob1515
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2011

Great old hotel, quaint is a good word. Old photos line all the hallways - great history! the claw foot bathtub was wonderful - hot water any time, with full pressure. Dog friendly - love that! One of the bars nearby had loud music which we could hear on the 3rd floor, so we went out and joined in the local fun! Great farmers market on saturdays - I've never seen colors (flowers and veggies and fruit) so vivid! and the chai tea was the BEST! The smells from the sushi restaurant carried all the way upstairs; that was a major negative.

Room Tip: if you don't want street noise, ask for an interior room - great big airshaft gives plenty of light!
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank jennRusty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews