We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A hidden gem in Arcata, California”

Arcata Community Forest
Ranked #2 of 18 things to do in Arcata
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A beautiful 600-acre forest of small redwoods and ferns.
Sydney
Level Contributor
102 reviews
38 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“A hidden gem in Arcata, California”
Reviewed August 24, 2013

Just up behind the Humboldt State University is the Community Forest packed with Redwoods. Take the time to stop and explore and you will be rewarded over and over again.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank PaulLouSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    76
    24
    6
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Arcata, California, United States
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“beautiful redwoods”
Reviewed August 5, 2013

I live in Arcata and visit the Arcata Community Forest frequently. It is a great place to see the redwoods of northern California. Not as extensive or, perhaps as spectacular as the state, county and national redwoods parks in the region, the Arcata Communist Forest offers fairly short, easy, accessible walks among the redwoods right in the heart of Arcata. If you are visiting Arcata or HSU and don't have time to make it up north, then this is a great place to see the redwoods. But then there's lots of other opportunities around here.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Robert C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arcata, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful Redwood Forrest with Great Trails Right in Town”
Reviewed August 1, 2013

This is a wonderful place for a hike or mountain bike ride. There is also a great playground for the kids.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank grizz814
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arcata, California
Level Contributor
155 reviews
58 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“Accessible hike in the redwoods”
Reviewed July 29, 2013 via mobile

If you are in the Arcata area, and are looking for a half day hike, then check out the ACF. Be sure to get a map first -- ot is easy to get lost.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Steve C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arcata, California
Level Contributor
173 reviews
42 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“My back yard”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

I live down the street from this forest, and frequent it often with my dogs. I infrequently gets hot up here by the coast, but when it does, I take refuge in this forest. The cool canopy above, the moist ecosystem, and the acoustics of these amazing trees make this a priceless mental and physical retreat. Trails, creeks, bridges, and friendly (few) passer-bys make it an ideal maze to wander.
There are unfortunately only stumps of the large old growth that used to inhabit this forest, but the second growth is lush and large as well. There are plenty of old stumps that form caves and castles to climb and imagine. It was a frequent haunt when my sons were young and needed energy outlets.
The beauty of this park is its proximity to Arcata. If you come to our hamlet to interview for HSU or a job, for some kind of work, to scan the area as a possible home, or just in transit, be sure to visit our forest and get a spiritual boost for your day and your psyche.
I would have given 4 stars because of the occasional pot head who has to smell it up for everyone else, but that doesn't happen often, and it has been too good a family member for me to criticize.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank bonmom707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Arcata Community Forest also viewed

 
Arcata, Humboldt County
 

Been to Arcata Community Forest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing