We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Redwood Forest in the city”

Arcata Community Forest
Ranked #2 of 19 things to do in Arcata
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A beautiful 600-acre forest of small redwoods and ferns.
San Bernardino, California
Level Contributor
214 reviews
87 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
“Redwood Forest in the city”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2013

While driving around Arcata we discovered the Arcata Community Forest located behind Humbolt State Univ. Wow! We couldn't believe they have their own redwood forest with many hiking trails.A wonderful surprise!Not crowded with people like Muir Woods.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Default33009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    75
    24
    6
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Escondido, California
Level Contributor
280 reviews
57 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 202 helpful votes
“Great spot!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2012

This redwood park in Arcata reminds me of Muir Woods National Monument in Mill Valley (northwest of San Francisco). The Arcata Community Forest has nice hiking trails and a park to eat a picnic lunch, relax, or play. The parking lot is small, so you may have to park your vehicle some distance away and walk to this property. As stated in other reviews, there may be homeless individuals or unsavory types hanging around in the area. Make sure that you place all valuables in the trunk, and lock your car. I have been to this attraction a couple times, and have experienced no problems.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank MrLorin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eureka, California, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Trails abound!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2012

I go out here fairly regularly with my friends to walk around and have a good time. It's easy to get a decent sized hike in, and it's beautiful all the way. I have no real complaints about this place.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Cedric S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John_deCoville
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Arcata, could it be heaven?”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

Well... The downtown of 23,000 people is torn up so this is not a good time to write a review.. But here goes..

Best food coop: The North Coast Coop found in both Eureka and in Arcata, Califnornia have outstanding selections of succulent vegetables, We loaded up. Had a great burgera few blocks away and ejoyed Humbolt State University.

Minuses: Disruptive constructon and a zealous parking ticket writer company -- so there!

Cheers!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank John_deCoville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
106 reviews
43 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Beautiful park...not so beautiful bums...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012 via mobile

Wow, such a beautiful place! You are just going along and turn into this park and you are in a whole new world! Unfortunately there were many locals hanging around that were very unpleasant. They just stared at us, made us feel very uncomfortable so we didn't stay long. Could have spent a few hours hiking...

Helpful?
Thank Awaywego1999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Arcata Community Forest also viewed

 
Arcata, Humboldt County
 

Been to Arcata Community Forest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing