We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mountain bike paradise”

Arcata Community Forest
Ranked #2 of 18 things to do in Arcata
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A beautiful 600-acre forest of small redwoods and ferns.
Arcata, California
Level Contributor
155 reviews
58 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“Mountain bike paradise”
Reviewed July 16, 2012

Miles of excellent mountain biking trails and forest roads. Deep redwood forest, with a few old growth remnant trees here and there. While the city does some logging, it is sustainable and very selective. Lots of trilliums in April. Look for the red Clintonia on the ridgetop roads in late spring. There are some homeless folks who illegally camp, but over the 18 years I've used the forest I don't see them as a major problem. I have seen both bears and mountain lions -- very wild country, yet very popular.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Steve C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    76
    24
    6
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Quiet Oasis”
Reviewed July 12, 2012

On the recommendation of the proprietress of nearby Rose Court Cottage, we sought out Arcata Community Forest. We throughly enjoyed our early evening stroll through the forest. Friendly greetings from those who most likely make their walk a daily ritual. Hushed sounds of our footsteps on the soft forest floor. Gentle breezes rustling the boughs of fragrant redwoods. Patient and improbably colored slugs slowly sliding across gnarled roots. And when human sounds ceased, bird and bug melodies for those patient enough to stop and breathe a while.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank japansa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clermont, Florida
Level Contributor
1,197 reviews
192 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 344 helpful votes
“What a great surprise.”
Reviewed June 3, 2012

Do not miss this little treasure in the Eureka area. The history of this place is a tribute to a very fine community.

Helpful?
Thank rogersober
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arcata, California
Level Contributor
39 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Want to take a nice walk among ancient redwoods?”
Reviewed May 18, 2012

Incredible place to enjoy nature at its best. Runner, walker, hikers, mtn bikers, horse back riders all enjoy this beautiful place

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank tmmp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Hometown Stomping Grounds”
Reviewed May 16, 2012

What a beautiful place to walk, ride, or take the dog! I went to HSU and subsequently found this place a day or two after arriving. The park is full of young people, families, and a few homeless bands of hippies as well...but don't let them throw you off-they mind their own business, aside from the occasional panhandling. Just enjoy the second-growth redwoods, a few nice geocaches, and miles and miles of trails to walk and bike (note:some trails are hiker-friendly only, and locals WILL call you out on it). The disc-golf course connects through the northern part of the park as well.

Visited June 2011
Helpful?
Thank LCN1415
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Arcata Community Forest also viewed

 
Arcata, Humboldt County
 

Been to Arcata Community Forest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing