We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old Motel” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Santa Anita Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Santa Anita Inn
Ranked #8 of 8 Hotels in Arcadia
Fort Meade, Maryland
Level Contributor
24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Old Motel”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

Furniture in room( desks -end tables) were stained with round white circles (from cups)--bathroom needs a complete remodel--old fixtures old sink etc.,--hot water is at a set temp cannot be adjusted --there is a toggle switch on the wall next to the thermostat with no instructions --had to ask at the office "what is it for" found out that up is for heat and down for air --should have info next to switch--on Thanksgiving morning at 9 am a crew was shoving tree limbs into a wood chipper right in front of our room-what a racket on a Holiday --Basic breakfast-no hot food ( hours are only (7 -9 am)---the grounds/pool area are really well cared for ---great for taking picures---since this motel is located right by the hospital --we heard sirens day and night-would not recommend this motel

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cadmanrich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    20
    21
    8
    15
See reviews for
13
19
5
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

My wife and I really like this place. The rooms are big and clean (though a bit worn). Each room has a deck or balcony overlooking green, leafy grounds. We come back here on business several times a year. The desk staff is very nice.

The ONLY bad experience we had was once (out of a dozen stays) when a class reunion was held there and some yahoos were setting off firecrackers late into the night.

The breakfast is hardly worth getting up for. But that's okay. The price is reasonable. I think most rooms are in the $65-$80 range. Spend your savings on breakfast nearby. The grounds and the pool and the surroundings are what make this (in my opinion) a very nice place to stay.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mdrobinsonlvx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glendale, Arizona
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2011

I stayed at this hotel for one day, was away during the day due to business only came back to rest, so pretty cheap hotel in that part of town. They also gave complementary breakfast,but no wifi in the rooms.The only plus point to this hotel is the location. There is a huge park right next to the hotel and perfect for a morning jog.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank glbtrotter_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2011

Stayed here for 4 nights. Not the best hotel to stay but i guess it is still good enough for me.

Room is huge but not that clean. The carpet is old. Staff is not that friendly but helpful enough if you are any question. I never eat the breakfast after i see what they offer. Better breakfast option are around. Overall, a cheap place to stay if you have a car to visit LA.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wayne900
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rancho Cucamonga
Level Contributor
155 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2011

I am not a Motel 6 type, but was looking for a cheap place with a decent pool next to Santa Anita. I got what I was looking for. Rooms are ancient, beds in room were recently updated, new Serta's. Comfortable. Old nasty bedspreads, dirty, worn shag dark green carpet and popcorn ceiling welcomes you upon entering dark room. It has a tiny bathroom, but did the job. For $80 on a Friday night, in walking distance to some restaurants and a bar and accross the street from Santa Anita it cant be beat. Nextime though I might try the Motel 6 up the road. I was expecting a little nicer place. I wore my sandals in the room as the carpet was gross. The room is dark, lighting is minimal. You do get a fridge and coffee maker.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank Johnny V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bakersfield, CA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2011

I recently stayed for the 2nd time at the Santa Anita Inn, and again, couldn't have been happier! I had a 2nd floor room, with a balcony, table and chairs; great place for my morning coffee! (which is included in the room). Even though it was racing season at Santa Anita, I still only payed around $80 for my room. Although it's an older motel, it's clean, quiet and comfortable. The staff is friendly and helpful, and I noticed, were the same people who were working the last time I stayed here. I've never availed myself of the continental breakfast, as there are too many great restaurants in the area.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank catlover96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henderson, NV and Seaside Park, NJ
Level Contributor
39 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2011

The rooms are not fancy but are clean and perfect for a short stay. The grounds around this property are well kept and there is a pool and hot tub available for use once the weather is warmer. Try to get an upstairs room since you do hear some creaking of the floors from people walking above. The continental breakfast was decent. They offered juice, coffee, cereal, danish, hard boiled eggs and fruit. They even started the breakfast earlier on New Years day for people going to see the Rose Parade. It was an easy check-in/check out process. Suites are also available. It is cheaper to deal with the hotel directly instead of using hotels.com. Would stay again.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cjmzsc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Arcadia hotels
0.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Los Angeles/Arcadia/Pasadena
0.7 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Arcadia Pasadena Area
0.9 mi away
Extended Stay America - Los Angeles - Arcadia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Arcadia/Pasadena Area
0.8 mi away
Residence Inn Pasadena Arcadia
0.6 mi away
SpringHill Suites Pasadena Arcadia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Santa Anita Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Santa Anita Inn

Property: Santa Anita Inn
Address: 130 W Huntington Dr, Arcadia, CA 91007-3025
Location: United States > California > Arcadia
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 8 Hotels in Arcadia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Santa Anita Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 109
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Santa Anita Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santa Anita Hotel Arcadia
Santa Anita Arcadia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing