We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breeders Cup 2012”

Santa Anita Race Park
Ranked #1 of 19 things to do in Arcadia
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
El Paso, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
88 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Breeders Cup 2012”
Reviewed November 25, 2012

Santa Anita has a very old, majestic history. The grounds and old bathrooms are nostalgic ! I hope they don't change a thing ! This track has great horse racing during the year but make a point to go to Breeders Cup at Santa Anita in 2013. The world championship of thoroughbred horse racing will take place over two days in November 2013. The event held in early November of 2012 was great. Over the two days of racing, Friday was not too crowded, Saturday was full to the gills ! Literally all of the concession stands ran out of water ! We didn't care, we were there to see the worlds best horses ! Santa Anita, you put on one heck of a show !

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Kat S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

335 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    245
    72
    14
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
three way tn
Level 6 Contributor
156 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“A gorgeous setting”
Reviewed November 10, 2012

Settled at the base of the san gabriel mountains, a great setting for watcghing the worlds finest athletes.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank saratogajohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stateline, Nevada
Level 6 Contributor
436 reviews
88 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
“More Staff and spend some money on updating”
Reviewed November 8, 2012

Went there for the Breeders Cup.

+'s
Nice track
Lots of wagering windows
Friendly staff


-'s

Old outdated track. To include disappointing PA system
Old bathrooms
Not enough food booths open
Terrible egress
Ran out of hard liquor in several bars
Ran out of beer too.
Need bigger LED track TV's for the stands. Hard to see the results etc.

Santa Anita needs to spend some money on upgrading the facility and they really need to put on more staff to handle the customers at the food venues.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank sunnski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walton, Kentucky
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Breeders' Cup 2012 was fantastic”
Reviewed November 7, 2012

The team at Santa Anita could teach other tracks how to handle a major event like the Breeders' Cup. The hospitality by the entire staff was outstanding. The track has ample parking and getting out of there after the races took less than 30 minutes. That is a far cry from the 90+ minutes it takes to leave Churchill after the Derby! The view of the track is amazing and the timing in between races was just right. WELL DONE!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank GMZB_KY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
canada
Level 5 Contributor
95 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Breeder's Cup 2012 in Santa Anita”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We paid $75.00 per ticket to be in the grandstand and we could not hear a thing. Breeder's Cup is a big event in the racing circle and we were very surprised that they did not ensure that their
PA system was not in its greatest state. We could not hear the National Anthem singer and the
crowd started to sing at the very end to help out. We were quite disappointed at the aged
equipment of this world renowned track. We believe it has seen its great days. We still had a
great time watching the races though. Another thing that surprised us was that there were no
traffic officers directing traffic after the event. It took forever to get out of the park. They could
have organized the exit from the parking lot a little bit better. It seemed like they did not prepare
much for the Breeder's Cup.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank linrabCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Santa Anita Race Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing