We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Rio Sands Hotel(Aptos)(Great Value!)
$195
$139
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 12% below average rates

The price you found is 12% lower than this hotel's average rate of $158/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$378
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Capitola Hotel(Capitola)(Great Value!)
$222
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Capitola Venetian Hotel(Capitola)(Great Value!)
$219
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
$197
$156
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 13% below average rates

The price you found is 13% lower than this hotel's average rate of $179/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Fairfield Inn & Suites Santa Cruz - Capitola(Capitola)(Great Value!)
$199
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Chaminade Resort & Spa(Santa Cruz)(Great Value!)
$202
$178
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of $198/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Bella Notte - The Inn at East Cliff(Santa Cruz)(Great Value!)
$159
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Harbor Inn(Santa Cruz)(Great Value!)
$131
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (918)
Filter reviews
918 results
Traveler rating
415
317
126
40
20
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
415
317
126
40
20
Show reviews that mention
All reviewskoi pondsanta cruzsea cliffseacliff beachstate beachwestern hotelsbest westernshot tubpool viewnice poolfree breakfast ison site restaurantgreat place to stayclean roomsvery nice hotelshort driveyogurt
Filter
Updating list...
900 - 905 of 918 reviews
Reviewed June 10, 2007

Stayed here one night. We also had a two day meeting in the conference room.
The hotels around the beach are all kind of old, this one is also. However, in this case old doesnt mean poor. The hotel had obviously undergone a renovation in the recent past. The rooms were clean and the furniture was newer. The bed was decent as well.
For an older property the hotell is very nice. Better than some of the newer ones.
The minor drawbacks are these
No wifi in the rooms, wired only, just a mionr annoyance.
No close food. There is a safeway across the street and an old drive in fast food joint down the hill which while old was pretty good. Other than that not much around.
All in all a good stay, would definately recomend.

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank PHXTrainer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2007

I'm mystified as to why some reviews are negative about this place. When I traveled here on business, the bedspreads in my room, (in the 200s) were new, the room immaculate and everything was clean and in order. The room overlooked the grounds and pool and I would definitely recommend a room overlooking the pool and grounds rather than the parking lot.
I was there Sunday and Monday night and it was quiet.
Ate in the restaurant and would say it's above average for a hotel restaurant. I had a seat outside next the small pond and it was very, very, nice, while the service was friendly, fast and efficient.
Having formerly traveled a great deal for a living, I'd have to recommend this one. Grounds are great, the location is wonderful and the rooms quite nice and spacious.

    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BobCMIdwest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2007

On March 9-14, 2007 we stayed at this motel. The rooms are very clean, with the nice amenity of having the sink located outside the actual toilet/shower area. Additionally, there is a separate vanity area for applying makeup or drying your hair, which is great if you have two or more people staying in the room. The grounds are lovely, and the breakfast is better than some continental breakfast offerings. You eat in the dining room with a choice of three menu items or you can apply a $3.95 credit to any other breakfast item on the menu. The beach is a short drive away, and you can easily head to San Jose or Santa Cruz from this area. I will definitely stay here again if the occasion arises.

  • Stayed: March 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Kim W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2006

We stayed at this property twice in three months: once with a group for a wedding and once because we were in the area and, basically, this is the only game in town.
The property ( grounds, pools and buildings ) are beautiful and well maintained. The rooms, however, are badly in need of updating. The beds, bedding, decor, and bathrooms haven't been touched in years. The rugs need to be cleaned. The staff at the front desk is often unaccomodating (with the exception of the night shift staff.) Basically, it is hard to understand how a property of this quality can charge the rates charged (upwards of 160 a night on weekends.) As I said, it is the only game in town.

  • Stayed: July 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank bcqajbk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2006

Front desk staff were especially great when we checked in. Let us take a look at a couple of rooms. Splurged on the suite. Oddly all the suites face the parking lots. The suites have been recently remodeled but I found, at least in ours, that the furnishings are rapidly beccoming worse for the wear. Stains, etc. I must say the suite was much, much better than a standard king, and considerably more expensive. Could have stayed at the Fairmount in San Jose for less. Big big jacuzzi tub was great, tv in living room and bedroom, many standard cable channels. The beach is nearby, but not close. The hwy is between the hotel and the beach, so when it is listed as four blocks, that is very misleading. The beach is a state park, parking begins at 8am, 6 dollar fee. We get up earlier than that, nearby street parking is free and begins at 6am. The grounds are clean, the koi are beautiful, the service swings between can't do enough and couldn't care less. The desk attendant this morning was crabby and less than helpful, acted dismissive and rude when I requested a late check out, the place isn't crowded this sunday/monday an this is my vacation after all, but managed to squeeze us out an extra hour. Santa Cruz area hotels in general leave much to be desired, this facility is clean and if you are willing to spend extra, offers a nice room to forget your troubles. Free breakfast was actually O.K. from among limited choices, waitress grumpy until the tip, hostess engaged and helpful, like I said, mixed bag at this place.

  • Stayed: September 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
12  Thank Service_Matters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews