We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Rio Sands Hotel(Aptos)(Great Value!)
$195
$139
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of $156/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$378
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Capitola Hotel(Capitola)(Great Value!)
$222
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Capitola Venetian Hotel(Capitola)(Great Value!)
$219
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
$206
$163
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fairfield Inn & Suites Santa Cruz - Capitola(Capitola)(Great Value!)
$199
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Chaminade Resort & Spa(Santa Cruz)(Great Value!)
$202
$178
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bella Notte - The Inn at East Cliff(Santa Cruz)(Great Value!)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Harbor Inn(Santa Cruz)(Great Value!)
$131
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (918)
Filter reviews
918 results
Traveler rating
415
317
126
40
20
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
415
317
126
40
20
Show reviews that mention
All reviewskoi pondsanta cruzsea cliffseacliff beachstate beachwestern hotelsbest westernshot tubpool viewnice poolfree breakfast ison site restaurantgreat place to stayclean roomsvery nice hotelshort driveyogurt
Filter
Updating list...
878 - 883 of 918 reviews
Reviewed April 10, 2010

Located 15 minutes from Santa Cruz, this hotel is a beautiful oasis. The rooms, grounds, landscaping, koi pond, heated pool, hot tub and restaurant were notably well-kept. The staff was efficient and helpful. The complimentary breakfast was indeed a real breakfast: eggs, sausage, potatoes, waffles as well as oatmeal and cereal. We received 2 complimentary beverages (Guiness at the bar), all four of us stayed for $89.00 per night. The beds were extra large queens, the pool-view room had a balcony. We could find nothing to complain about.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank parksgang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2010

The front desk staff is actually trying hard to be rude and to have an attitude. The service was so breathtakingly bad that when we first showed up the hotel and heard the first thing to come out of the front desk woman's mouth (something shrill/barked/shrieked about how the rate cannot be changed) our eyes got really wide and we had to look at each other, like, are you listening to this. Be advised, however, that with a little gentle East Coast meanness and a few undermining remarks, you too can get good customer service from these people. Because they have no idea how to handle their own medicine.

Everyone else in California is really nice... I just don't know what these people's problem is.

This hotel was just a little bit disgusting in general. The first room we saw there were dirty tissues on the floor and stains on the bed; we had to move rooms.

A double room was $85. It's not really worth that much.

We got a different room. It was still dirty – hair, spots – but sometimes you just have to throw in the towel and accept that they don't know what clean looks like.

Also, with check-in, they gave us $5 drink vouchers for the restaurant downstairs. I don't know if this is just because you need a drink to deal with them.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank subdued
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2010

I stayed here over the weekend. Staff were not rude as other reviewers stated, and I agree the restaurant (for dinner) is quite good (service and food). The "included" hot breakfast was, however, not as great most reviewers are making it out to be. The breakfast includes all the standard cold items (nothing really special: all frozen, pre-purchased items), they do include watery scrambled eggs (bland I thought), a breakfast meat and a heated frozen waffle (Safeway brand). This $5.00 meal is certainly not worth the high price of this hotel. Some reviewers think that because it’s "free" anything "hot" is a blessing. I disagree; there are tons of local restaurants in the area that serve a wonderful breakfast. The Grounds are really nice. The rooms are clean. We were however, in a room next to the "laundry room" - so during the day we heard loud Latin music and laughing all day (and there was lint everywhere) . They leave the laundry room door propped open. The coy pond is cute-- drain it and cut your room rates.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DavidJames1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2009

This hotel is the worst Best Western ever. Booked months in advance in large part due to their great hot breakfast buffet (there were 4 of us in 2 rooms). When we checked in told the breakfast was cancelled since it was Thanksgiving. We asked what alternate arrangements or reduction in rates were being offered and were told "none". They then said there would be a continental breakfast - far different from the hot breakfast buffet advertised. The next morning we were getting ready to check out and find somewhere else for breakfast (and complain later to Best Western corporate). We were told the hot buffet was back on again! (We went down to the dining hall and they were shutting it down at 9:05 AM even though originally the buffet was advertised as 6:30 AM to 9:30 AM.) Don't bother calling Best Western - what a joke they are...they say hotel must respond within 7 days to our complaints. Hotel doesn't and their response is "sorry, they're independently owned".

Stayed: November 2009
4  Thank JuryNaples
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2009

Let's start with the positives, since there are many. The motel rooms are very clean and well appointed. The outdoor heated pool is wonderful - and nothing beats a swim in the brisk Pacific air first thing in the morning. The complimentary breakfast is also much better than the standard fare served at peer establishments. The restaurant on site is very good, and if you want to walk down to the Aptos Center nearby there are great dining options there as well.

It is a pity then, that the front-desk staff aren't a bit more friendly. This is the one blemish that would prevent me from giving this place 5 stars. However, since you typically don't have to deal with the front desk more than twice during your stay, this is a small matter.

All in all, excellent value for money and a great weekend retreat for Bay Area locals. I will certainly be going back.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maxwells_equations
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews