We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hidden gem, value accommodations in Aptos/Santa Cruz” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN Seacliff Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
BEST WESTERN Seacliff Inn
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Aptos
Certificate of Excellence
Redwood City, CA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great hidden gem, value accommodations in Aptos/Santa Cruz”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2009

Let's start with the positives, since there are many. The motel rooms are very clean and well appointed. The outdoor heated pool is wonderful - and nothing beats a swim in the brisk Pacific air first thing in the morning. The complimentary breakfast is also much better than the standard fare served at peer establishments. The restaurant on site is very good, and if you want to walk down to the Aptos Center nearby there are great dining options there as well.

It is a pity then, that the front-desk staff aren't a bit more friendly. This is the one blemish that would prevent me from giving this place 5 stars. However, since you typically don't have to deal with the front desk more than twice during your stay, this is a small matter.

All in all, excellent value for money and a great weekend retreat for Bay Area locals. I will certainly be going back.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank maxwells_equations
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

746 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    317
    276
    104
    32
    17
See reviews for
319
202
39
93
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia PA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2009

Our family is here for my cousin's wedding and this place is great. Great layout of rooms, rustic look, surprisingly good breakfast included, nice bar, great atmosphere, nice staff, different than you'd normally expect in a hotel chain.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NicholasTheTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
milwaukee, wi
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2009

We were very happy with this hotel. The room was very nice and the patio outside was perfect for enjoying a spring day. The pool was clean and large, contained within a lovely setting. The kids loved the pond and bridge, and the breakfast buffet was more than expected with eggs, sausage, bacon, pancakes, juice and toast. After 10pm at night, the guests on the floor above us were running up and down the hall, making a lot of noise. We called the front desk and they sent security personnel to quiet them down.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank katibug4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2009

We recently stayed at the Seacliff Inn with our daughter and son-in-law. We would highly recommend this hotel. The hotel was clean, the rooms were comfortable and had many amenities -- coffee pot, refrigerator, free internet, desk, make-up table with chair and mirror outside of the bathroom. The room had a nice patio with a couple of chairs. The grounds were pretty with lots of flowers and plants. The Koi pond and bridge walk way added to the appeal. Our room rate was very reasonable and it included a hot breakfast and a drink coupon for each person. We were able to use the drink coupons at dinner to buy a couple of bottles of wine. The resturant had a special menu of 3 course meals for very reasonable. Overall we were very satisfied.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrea056
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redwood City, California
Level Contributor
93 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2009

This place is awesome, the beds are super comfy, the room is super clean, location is really good. and we loved it. unfortunately, I didnt have my bathing suit, so we didnt go in the swimming pool. oh well.

we had room service to our room and absolutely loved the fries and the molten chocolate cake.
the breakfast buffett was really good, and the rates were pretty good actually. I cant wait to go back to this place again.

the only sad thing is that we drove here thinking we could 'bike' around town, but it was super cold and werent able to. but the weekend was a nice experience.

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VeNuSeena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento
Level Contributor
218 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2009

I have stayed at this hotel before and some things changed for the better! Only a few negatives...soft pillows that you can't use to sit up in bed..light sensors on the bedside light controlled from a wall so you have to reset it by getting up! But the room was clean, very spacious, with desk, chairs, fridge, tv, great shower and bath stuff, wonderful breakfast the next morning in their restaurant. We didn't use the pool and jacuzzi this time but they are gorgeous and pretty big. The grounds are beautiful and tucked away near the freeway but without freeway noise. Nearby is a theater, shopping center, and best of all, Niscene Marks forest!

  • Liked — location, cleanliness
  • Disliked — pillows!
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KOSacramento
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2008

My daughter, two granddaughters and myself stayed at the Best Western Seacliff Inn for 3 nights while visiting my son who recently moved to Apots. We loved the hotel. It was clean and well maintained as were the grounds. The kids loved the fish pond and the pool. The breakfast buffet was nice. We will stay there again on our next visit. The only problem we had was the lack of an elevator or ramp in our building which made it difficult to transport luggage to the second floor by the stairs. This could be a big problem for people who are handicapped.

  • Liked — The location and cleanliness
  • Disliked — Lack of elevators and ramps for transporting luggage and for handicapped people.
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jryan22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aptos
0.7 mi away
Rio Sands Hotel
Rio Sands Hotel
#2 of 6 in Aptos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 301 reviews
3.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Capitola By-the-Sea Inn & Suites
3.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Santa Cruz - Capitola
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Capitola Venetian Hotel
Capitola Venetian Hotel
#4 of 4 in Capitola
4.0 of 5 bubbles 116 reviews
6.1 mi away
Hotel Paradox, Autograph Collection
6.4 mi away
Dream Inn
Dream Inn
#4 of 54 in Santa Cruz
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Seacliff Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Seacliff Inn

Property: BEST WESTERN Seacliff Inn
Address: 7500 Old Dominion Ct, Aptos, CA 95003-3807
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Aptos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Aptos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Seacliff Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the beauty of northern California's beaches and lush natural landscape from the comfort of this luxurious Aptos hotel near the Santa Cruz Beach Boardwalk! Located just minutes from Seacliff Beach, this charming Aptos hotel offers easy access to the area's many attractions. The famed Santa Cruz Beach Boardwalk is just a short drive away, as is exciting whale watching, kayaking, sailing and more. Outdoor lovers delight in hiking through the majestic redwoods and other local flora at the nearby Wilder Ranch, Henry Cowell, and Nisene Marks State Parks. Go back in time on the historic Roaring Camp Railroads, sample some of California's finest wines at Santa Cruz wineries or get a glimpse of life under the sea at the world-famous Monterey Bay Aquarium, less than an hour away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Best Western, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your BEST WESTERN Seacliff Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Seacliff Hotel Aptos
Best Western Seacliff Hotel
Best Western Aptos
Aptos Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing