We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceeded Our Expectations”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western Seacliff Inn
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Aptos
Certificate of Excellence
Wyckoff, New Jersey, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Exceeded Our Expectations”
Reviewed June 27, 2012

My husband, 20-month-old and I just returned from a long trip to California (Monterey area being one of the places we visited) After reading the reviews for the Seacliff Inn, I was pretty confident that it would be acceptable but wasn't prepared to LOVE this place as much as we did. All the "issues" that people have reported (walls being thin, staff being rude, breakfast not being enough) were not part of our experience. I seriously wonder who all these complainers are - probably just that: people who are a little clueless and love to complain about nothing.

We chose a pool-facing room (appx. 100/night) and requested in the special request section that we be given a renovated room. Our room was lovely and we slept like babies - didn't hear a peep or TV from the occupied adjacent rooms; staff was helpful and friendly; the continental breakfast was above and beyond - including eggs, potatoes, sausage, french toast, waffles in addition to all the things you expect at a continental breakfast. The grounds and pool were very well-kept and the "highway noise" that people comment on was non-existent.

Part of the reason we chose this hotel was because the pool area looked large in the photos and it was surrounded by lovely garden areas (and we figured it would only be fair to our 20-month-old and other hotel guests to stay at a place with ample room for her to run around and "be a kid") If you are looking for a place to bring your well-behaved youngsters, this is it. She loved going back-and-forth between the pool and jacuzzi, exploring the paths in the beautiful surrounding gardens and looking at the fish in the koi pond. As parents, we were able to relax because the atmosphere was comfortable and really beautiful and we knew our little one was stimulated and comfortable as well.

We live just outside Manhattan and I am in the public relations profession, so I certainly have high expectations and standards when it comes to service and reputation. I have to say that for what you're paying and what you get at the Best Western Plus Seacliff Inn, the entire experience EXCEEDED MY EXPECTATIONS.

Bravo on a very well-kept property and a job well-done!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elizabeth S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

780 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    334
    288
    108
    33
    17
See reviews for
337
207
41
98
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sierra Foothills
Level Contributor
44 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2012

Very nice grounds, friendly and helpful staff, very good sized rooms. Rooms in buildings 1 and 2 are closer to hwy 17, therefore more noisy. If you can, try to get a room in bldg. 5 or 6. Pool view rooms are a bit more $, ground floor rooms have a little patio. Complimentary breakfast is very good, but you also have the option to order in the restaurant with a credit for your unused comp breakfast. You can have your breakfast outside by the koi pond. Would stay here again, if in the area.

Room Tip: Go for bldg. 5 or 6
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PamNGreg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aptos, California, United States
Level Contributor
78 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2012

My father-in law stayed at this motel and we joined him for lunch. The staff were inattentive and did not know the menu. After about 20 minutes without water, bread or even an inquirey a server finally appeared and asked about beverages. My father-in-law asked for water with no ice. All the waters came with ice. We ordered lunch items and because they listed some breakfast items as available at lunch time, he asked for huevos rancheros. The waitress eventually brought him a couple of eggs sunnyside with some salsa that was more Italian than Mexican. The rest of the food was lackluster, and despite the nearly empty dining room, several staff passed the table without inquiring as to either our needs for any other items (ie salsa with actual jalapenos) or drink refills. Not a good meal and not a fun experience.

Room Tip: anything in the 400 or 500 sections is further from traffic noise. Handicap accessable rooms have cl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank R E K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alaska
Level Contributor
74 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2012

The room was okay-nothing exceptional-average for a hotel-about 2.5 stars. The inn grounds were charming. Our beef is with the restaurant staff. For some reason, once we were seated, we were not waited on for 15 minutes. Once we were approached, our order was not actually taken for another 10 minutes. We waited another half hour for our food. Our time was limited-it was breakfast time and we needed to get on the road. After we finished eating, we waited another 20 minutes for a bill. It was absurd! Other tables with different wait staff came and went while we were waiting. I eventually went to management and told them we would not be paying for breakfast if we did not get a bill immediately.. Of course, the manager went off to find the waitress who still took several minutes to arrive. WORST service I have ever had in an otherwise decent restaurant. Food was average. We were supposed to get a credit for breakfast as a part of our stay. I asked for one pancake instead of the three on the menu. Because I asked for one, we were charged the full price bu individual item and were not given the discount. Instead of a $15 breakfast, it was twice as much-are you kidding me!!

Room Tip: Rooms are okay
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Suze1907
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Squamish, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2012

A friend and I went down to California in February to get away from the rain and snow of winter here in Squamish. We were looking for accommodation that was affordable, close to amenities and the area that we would be partaking in the majority of our activities for the week that we were there. A friend (whom we met up with whilst there), recommended that we try the SeaCliff Inn and we were both glad that he did!

The accommodation was great—nothing fancy, but clean, with friendly staff, a great pool and easy access to the local activities that we were there for! There is a included free breakfast every morning and it is a great chance to meet some of the other guests. We also ate at the hotel resturaunt one evening and the food, as well as the service was impeccable!

All in all, I will definitely stay here again when I visit Aptos again (potentially every February) and would highly recommend this location to anyone looking for a place to stay in Aptos, that is safe, friendly, clean and comfortable.

Room Tip: Rooms on the east side (further away from the front), appear to be quieter. (further from the hustle...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank OzzyBattla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonora, California
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2012

I really wanted to stay at the Rio Sands Motel, but since they have remodeled their prices have gone up quite a bit and since traveling there for only one night decided to stay at the Best Western SeaCliff which was a better rate.
Nice large room with two queen beds, garden/pool view nice but worth extra for one night? Walls paper thin, could hear TV from next door room clearly. Breakfast buffet a plus, even better when not raining so you can sit outside on the patio overlooking pond w/koi fish.
Can walk to beach but better to drive if you are carrying beach stuff and picnic supplies.
Nice pool and hot tub too. Beautiful grounds. Peaceful.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Honeystravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lafayette, California
Level Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2012

Nice day trip ended into a weekend of fun and leisure. Clean nice rooms with great beds and pillows. Nice pool an jacuzzi area. Great Lounge, restaurant and bar with band. Very nice experience close to great food, beach, and ok golf.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tattoou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aptos
0.8 mi away
Rio Sands Hotel
Rio Sands Hotel
#2 of 6 in Aptos
310 reviews
3.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Capitola By-The-Sea Inn & Suites
3.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Santa Cruz - Capitola
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Capitola Hotel
Capitola Hotel
#1 of 4 in Capitola
271 reviews
6.4 mi away
Dream Inn
Dream Inn
#2 of 54 in Santa Cruz
1,444 reviews
6.1 mi away
Hotel Paradox, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Seacliff Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Seacliff Inn

Property: Best Western Seacliff Inn
Address: 7500 Old Dominion Ct, Aptos, CA 95003
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Aptos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Aptos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Seacliff Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the beauty of northern California's beaches and lush natural landscape from the comfort of this luxurious Aptos hotel near the Santa Cruz Beach Boardwalk! Located just minutes from Seacliff Beach, this charming Aptos hotel offers easy access to the area's many attractions. The famed Santa Cruz Beach Boardwalk is just a short drive away, as is exciting whale watching, kayaking, sailing and more. Outdoor lovers delight in hiking through the majestic redwoods and other local flora at the nearby Wilder Ranch, Henry Cowell, and Nisene Marks State Parks. Go back in time on the historic Roaring Camp Railroads, sample some of California's finest wines at Santa Cruz wineries or get a glimpse of life under the sea at the world-famous Monterey Bay Aquarium, less than an hour away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Best Western, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Priceline, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Seacliff Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Seacliff Hotel Aptos
Best Western Seacliff Hotel
Best Western Aptos
Aptos Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing