We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pleasant Experience, Excellent Location”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Rio Sands Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Rio Sands Hotel
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Aptos
Certificate of Excellence
Napa, California
1 review
“Pleasant Experience, Excellent Location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2013

We are a family of 6 and stayed in the jr suite. As beach hotels go, we were pleasantly surprised, especially considering the affordable price. The hotel is located within short walk to the beach, resaurant, deli and small market. The staff was friendly and assisted us whenever necessary. The pool and hot tub were an added enjoyment after a long day at the beach. It turned out to be a really fun weekend beach trip.
Thank you Rio Sands!

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Napachad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BartfieldGroup, Guest Relations Manager at Rio Sands Hotel, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Greetings Napachad,
You can’t beat the rates considering the many amenities we offer. The hotel’s close proximity to the beach really adds to the affordability!
The Jr. suite is an excellent room to stay in for a family of six. It seems your family had a fun time at the beach. It’s always good to hear that our guests enjoy the heated pool and Jacuzzi. It is definitely a relaxing way to end a fun day at the beach.
Thank you for appreciating the assistance the staff extended during your stay at the Rio Sands.
Rio Sands Associate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

304 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    135
    116
    29
    13
    11
See reviews for
148
83
17
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
SW Missouri
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

This is an excellent place to stay only a few short blocks from the beach. Quiet room with a balcony in a residential neighborhood. A good place to stay for couples looking to get away. Easy access to the pier in Santa Cruz or a short drive down to Monterrey. Planning on staying here again and would highly recommend.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chiefan1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BartfieldGroup, Guest Relations Manager at Rio Sands Hotel, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Dear Chiefan 1,
Judging by your review you really took advantage of your stay at the Rio Sands. Our location does offer convenient and easy access to both Santa Cruz and Monterey areas.
We are pleased that you enjoyed the quiet neighborhood and lovely surroundings. Like you, couples enjoy the location and often make reference to the Rio Sands as the “perfect romantic getaway”.
We hope to hear from you soon to plan your next getaway.
Rio Sands Associate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anahola, Hawaii
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

My wife and I stay at the Rio Sands regularly when visiting our daughters (last Jan was about the 5th or 6th time). Though it's only a block from the beach its probably the least expensive place in Aptos. Rooms are clean, fairly spacious (for what is essentially a motel), and most have a separate smaller bedroom for kids (some of the second rooms have bunk beds!), and some have kitchenettes. The staff is very friendly and breakfast comes with the price. Oh yes, they have tempurpedic mattresses.

Room Tip: If you want the extra kitchen space ask for a room above the banquet room
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JDH96703
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BartfieldGroup, Guest Relations Manager at Rio Sands Hotel, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Aloha, JDH96703
We appreciate your continued patronage. It seems you’ve stayed in various room types during your visits to the Rio Sands. If you have a preferred room type just give us a call and we will update your guest profile to reflect your favorite room. If this is helpful; our king rooms offer the tempurpedic mattresses.
Time and time again we hear “how affordable” the rates are. We agree. Our guest get “a lot of bang for their buck”!
Thank you for taking the time to share your input.
Rio Sands Associate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merced, California, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2013

My husband & I have been staying at the Rio Sands for a few years now. It is easy to stay at a hotel/motel for one night & not have a good time...that is not the case for us...everytime that we have stayed at the Rio Sand's, we have always had a good time, even once in a while if there has been an issue, the staff has been right on top of checking it out & working on it. The staff has always been professional in their jobs & they have been very helpful...my husband has knee problems & the staff has even helped me getting our luggage into our room. When we make a decision to "run away from home" the decision is usually to the Rio Sands..on the rare occasion we don't stay at the Rio Sand's, their sister hotels in Morrow Bay are also fantastic.
Personally, I think that if you are going to be in the Aptos area, and you are lookingfor a place to stay for the night, you should check out the Rio Sands...You will have a very enjoyable time staying ar the Rio Sands!!!!

Room Tip: If you are sensitive to noise, you should get a upper floor room & a room fan for some "wh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debra H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BartfieldGroup, Owner Representative at Rio Sands Hotel, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Dear Debra H,

Thank you so much for your review!

It sounds like you always have a great time while staying with us and we couldn't be happier to be your top escape destination!

We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Sincerely,
The Staff of the Rio Sands
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watsonville, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2013

Moving to this area and looking for an apartment. I rented and I love it so much I don't want to leave! Super friendly front desk staff that really goes all out to make sure I am happy. My room is always clean and staff is concerned that it is being attended to. Beds are some of the best I have ever slept on! The free breakfast is always fresh and attended by lots of guests. No complaints!
My Apartment when I finally find one won't be nearly as good! Ray R

Room Tip: Get here asap to get your choice of room. Upstairs and downstairs are all nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ray R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BartfieldGroup, Owner Representative at Rio Sands Hotel, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Dear Ray R,

What a kind and thoughtful review! Thank you so much for taking the time to share.

Each of our guests is special to us and it’s so nice to hear that we are special to you too.

Sincerely,
The Staff of the Rio Sands
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wyndmoor, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2013

My family and I stayed for five nights at the Rio Sands. We enjoyed the swimming pool, the hot tub, and the breakfasts. The bed linens must not have been washed in hot water because my son and I got lice from our stay at the Rio Sands. This was a huge inconvenience on our vacation.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katherine L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BartfieldGroup, Owner Representative at Rio Sands Hotel, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Dear Katherine L,

Thank you for taking the time to give us a thorough review.
We are pleased that you and your son enjoyed the grounds and were able to utilize some of our most popular amenities.

As far as our cleanliness standards go, we maintain the utmost quality and care at all times. Our front desk staff does rigorous room inspections daily and we have an excellent housekeeping staff that follows extremely strict guidelines to ensure that each room and everything within it is properly cared for.

We have not received any complaints from guests regarding lice and have never had any issues of this kind before.
We take every guest comment very seriously and, in reaction to your review, we did a top to bottom inspection of all of our rooms. We found absolutely no evidence of any sort of infestation and have confirmed with other guests that there indeed have been no issues.
Perhaps you may have picked up sand fleas from one of the beaches? That can be a common misconception for people unaccustomed to the marine environment.

Sincerely,
The Staff of the Rio Sands
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2012

Older but very clean motel, one block from the beach. A most adequate breakfast included and served in their events room in a separate building; cosy fireplace, linen tablecloths. Pool and jacuzzi well kept, too. Helpful, cheerful staff. Very good value and we would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Upstairs are quieter, have balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thenatural3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BartfieldGroup, Owner Representative at Rio Sands Hotel, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Dear thenatural3,

Thank you so much for your thoughtful review!
We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and were able to utilize all our hotel has to offer.

We look forward to your next visit!

Sincerely,
The Staff of the Rio Sands
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aptos
0.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN Seacliff Inn
3.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Capitola By-the-Sea Inn & Suites
2.7 mi away
Capitola Hotel
Capitola Hotel
#1 of 4 in Capitola
4.5 of 5 bubbles 253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Capitola Venetian Hotel
Capitola Venetian Hotel
#4 of 4 in Capitola
4.0 of 5 bubbles 118 reviews
3.4 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Santa Cruz - Capitola
1.9 mi away
Seascape Resort
Seascape Resort
#3 of 6 in Aptos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rio Sands Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rio Sands Hotel

Property: Rio Sands Hotel
Address: 116 Aptos Beach Drive, Rio Del Mar Beach, Aptos, CA 95003
Location: United States > California > Aptos
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Aptos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Rio Sands Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rio Sands Hotel is by the beach. Just a 2 minute walk to 20 miles of walkable sea shore. We have rooms with fully stocked kitchenettes, a BBQ area, pool heated to 80 degrees year round. Enjoy our continental breakfast served daily. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rio Sands Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rio Sands Hotel Aptos
Rio Sands Aptos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing