We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Superb French Restaurant on Monterey Bay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Au Midi Restaurant & Bistrot

Au Midi Restaurant & Bistrot
Reserve with OpenTable
Au Midi Restaurant & Bistrot is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #6 of 69 Restaurants in Aptos
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: French, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: State Park Drive
Transit: The Santa Cruz/Watsonville MTA bus #71 and #91 Express drops patrons off within easy walking distance of Au Midi.
Carmel, CA
Level Contributor
149 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Superb French Restaurant on Monterey Bay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2013

Today was our second visit to Au Midi, and today it was even better than the previous time. The food is superb! The ambience is quite nice, and it is a family run operation. Our mussels were the best we've had in ages and the apple tart w/ice cream was fantastic. They tell us that they are no open for both lunch and dinner from Tuesday through Sunday, all year round.

You can't go wrong!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank PatioPete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    66
    18
    5
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
California
Level Contributor
32 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Transport yourself to Provence”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

This is one of my favorite French restaurants. It is one of three French restaurant in a mile
in Aptos. The chef is one of the best inventing delicious sauces that enhance meat and
seafood dishes. One of my favorite events is when they have their special tasting events: Mushroom Dinner with 4 courses all highlighting the mushroom, another event, French Reveillon Menu for New Years Eve. I also enjoy going there for a relaxing lunch with goat cheese salad,
crab salad. The menus change with the seasons so you are never bored with the choices.
I highly recommend Au Midi. You won't be disappointed.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank veneziaamore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aptos, California
Level Contributor
43 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Charming little French restaurant with nice touches”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

This was my first time at Au Midi, and we enjoyed a nice, relaxing lunch. Bill had a rolled salmon in sauce, and I had a crab cake salad with a delicious mango/lemon sauce. We split a wonderful nutty chocolate mousse dessert. Prices are pretty reasonable for lunch, but we looked over the dinner menu which seemed a little pricey for our taste. And the wine prices are in the expensive range as well. I don't think there are any glasses of wine under $8-$8.50, with comparable bottle prices. But definitely worth checking out and enjoying a little French atmosphere for lunch! :)

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Joanne E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
45 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Wonderful food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2013 via mobile

Tonight we tried Au Midi and were very happy with our meal. My soup was out of this world and my husbands lamb didn't even need a knife to cut through it, it was so tender. Not a great place for kids, we were glad we left ours home. We will definitely go back.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Coastalcalifornia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morgan Hill, California
Level Contributor
248 reviews
146 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“What a pleasant surprise!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2013

A friend suggested we meet for lunch ... did not know about the restaurant, but after a wonderful and most delicious meal, you can bet I'll be returning!

Sort of "in the middle of no-where," this is a true gem!!!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank cabearcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Au Midi Restaurant & Bistrot also viewed

 

Been to Au Midi Restaurant & Bistrot? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing