We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ocean Views with a Feeling of Being Home”
Review of Seascape Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Seascape Resort
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Aptos
Reviewed June 25, 2012

Seascape resort is located atop the ridge overlooking a view of beautiful Monterey Bay. Nestled just south of Santa Cruz and north of Monterey, Seascape Resort is a premier vacation spot in the quaint town of Aptos. We stayed in a 2-room condo (#422) where the view was unobstructed on one side by dividing walls that separate the units. We have the most amazing ocean views and left the sliding door cracked at night so we could hear the ocean. The first floor of the condo was quite spacious - entry foyer has the guest bath located to the side, and as you walk in, there are stairs going up to the beadrooms on one side and the kitchen located on the other. The kitchen is well equipped with dishes and utencils, pots & pans, etc., if you want to cook or grill. The BBQ grill is electric and on the patio. As you walk past the kitchen, there are two bar stools followed by a round dining table for 6. A large closet is located under the stairs and had an upright vaccuum and stand fan. Just past the dining area is the living room which showcases a large flat screen TV over the fireplace, two large sitting chairs, a sofa sleeper, coffee and end tables, console table with stereo & speakers and a mirrored wall to reflect the outstanding ocean views.

The second floor has two bedrooms, one is the Master with an onsweep and the second patio. The bathroom has a toilet, shower with glass enclosure and one sink. It is not as luxurious as many places we've stayed, but was clean and stocked daily. The showerhead was adjustable to different sprays, thought the size of the shower could have been a little larger. The Master also had an LG flat panel in the amoire. We did not have access to the second room, so can't give a description, but was pleased to see a washer/dryer in the closet upstairs in case we needed to use one.

Within walking distance is a small shopping center which offers a grocery/deli, coffee shop, flower shop, boutique clothing stores, Palapus Mexican Restaurant, Village Host Pizzaria, and a liquor store. Both restaurants had outstanding food and we enjoyed shopping at the other places as well. There is a Farmers Market in the shopping center on Sundays from 11AM-2PM. The town of Aptos offers a good selection for dining, which we were pleasantly surprised to find out. We took a 5-minute drive to Aptos BBQ for lunch and had the best pulled pork and tri-tip sandwiches, but that is a different review!

Santa Cruz Beach Boardwalk ia about a 20-minute drive north from Seascape, but plan on being there before it opens at 11:00 AM to avoid the traffic congestion as the parking lot fills up. And about 40 minutes south is the idyllic towns of Carmel and Monterey. Also a short distance from Seascape is the Mystery Spot. There are so many things to do that are close by, or you can take a stroll around the property on one of the many paths with viewing benches, or a path that takes you right to the beach. And, if you are too tired to walk back up, just use your room card to access a phone and call for a cart to come pick you up and drop you at your room.

We did eat at the restaurant, Sanderlings, which is on the premises. They have both indoor and outdoor dining, along with live entertainment. The food was really good, a little pricey, but in line with the portion size. I ordered the small portion and it was just right, while family members ordered the 'regular' size and had enough food for two. Good thing we had a refrigerator to put it in!

Of course, there were little things about the place that could be improved, but not enough to downgrade it to a 4 rating. There were tiles in the entry that were cracked, the bathrooms a little small, the cabinet doors in the kitchen could have used some knobs because they would stick, the flame for the gas fireplace was hard to see, the light over the shower had a short and would turn off while showering, the duvet on the bed was incredibly heavy and the pillows were small foam. But, the place was very clean, the staff very friendly, the condo had two balconies with table/2 chairs where we could relax and enjoy the ocean views, beautiful walking trails, cloze proximity to shopping, easy beach access and cart service, fire pits, live entertainment, etc., etc. A great place to take a family or just to relax with your significant other.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the ocean and the second from the end. The very end units are recessed back o...
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RosebudRose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (470)
There are newer reviews for Seascape Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

311 - 317 of 470 reviews

Reviewed June 20, 2012

Beautiful views. Stay in thr 2 bdrm condos on the ocenside if you can, Pelicans diving for fish and fantastic sunsets. Restaurant pricey, but great food. The best clam chowder!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carolyn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2012

We just had a 3 days 2 nights family retreat here two weeks ago and had a wonderful time. Here are some goods and bads:

Good:
1. The location is great! As others mentioned, the whole resort is located on a cliff facing ocean. The view is just wonderful and it just minutes away of walking to the beach. We had a great time walking and building sand castles on the beach.

2. It *IS* a big resort (not just a hotel), with rooms ranging from regular hotel guest rooms to 2-3 bedrooms beach villa so your experience may vary, depending on what type of rooms you are getting. We stayed at 401 and 403 (two two-bed rooms villa) and even these two condos are different. IMHO room 403 is nicer than 401. 403 has bigger and newer screen LCD TVs (LG, with HDMI port), and larger kitchen. Room 401 has a extra (useless) small living room and a smaller kitchen, and a smaller TV. Room 403 also has newer dishwasher. Each bedroom has a small (27"?) LCD TV with separate DVD players. Both rooms were very nicely maintained (kudos to the maintenance team and the cleaning lady! good job!), especially the kitchen area (wow the cooking range was so clean that I was REALLY impressed). That said, this is definitely not a 4 - 4.5 stars type of hotel, the deco and the bathroom is more like a apartment (e.g. corian counter-tops in kitchen and bathroom, NOT granite, etc.). Just so that you know what you can expect.

3. The staff are VERY friendly and helpful. You get free golf cart ride to and from beach (which I believe was included in the resort fee). They also have 3~4 swimming pools, tennis court (need extra charge and slightly off-site), a small basketball court, ping-pong table, fitness center (quite nice), and a resort village with some mom-and-pop restaurants (pizza, Chinese food, etc.), and so on. So if you are bringing your family with you, I think you will love it.

4. I believe that above the main lobby area there is also a night disco club where sometimes people host their wedding parties here. When we arrive, we actually heard very nice Hawaiian music coming from the main lobby area, for a while I felt that I'm in Hawaii (so cool, without have to fly to Hawaii, I get to enjoy that ambiance here in SF bay area!) However the next day (Saturday) it was so quite, make me wondering why. I suggest the management (if you are reading this review) to host some Hawaiian (or Mexican) theme evenings to attract more local SF bay area people, I think people would appreciate that and love it.

5. We also love the electric BBQ Grill. We called in advance and knew they had this so we enjoyed outdoor BBQ with sunset right before our eyes... very nice experience!

Bad:
1. Again, I would hope that the deco can be nicer, and some of the furniture can be a bit more updated (some of them do show its ages and the sofa bed even has some stains on it). Room 403 has a updated iPod speaker/alarm, while Room 401 has a really OLD SONY cassette/CD player. My guess is that each unit is owned by different owners (time-share or something), which is why each room has slightly different equipment and furniture.

2. Some of the resorts have their own DVDs for guests to check out, but NOT with this resort. I think they want you to rent the new released movies from their in-room LodgeNet system, which I can understand, but it would be nice to at least provide some DVDs for guests to borrow. There is a DVD rental store nearby though, but we didn't check it out.

3. The first day when we arrived, one of the swimming pool was so crowded, and we noticed that a lot of them didn't have the key card to enter the swimming pool. The fact that the whole resort share with the same hiking trails and beach with the larger community did raise some concerns for us, as we didn't feel safe to keep the backdoor open all the time. Maybe the management would be able to do something about this.

Overall a very nice stay, would recommend this for family retreat type of trips!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank whchuang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2012

The Seascape Resort is a beautiful place to stay and relax. Located on a bluff overlooking Monterey Bay, it has acres of grass and natural woods with walking paths available for guests' use. Our visit was in one of the Spa Suites located on the south end of the resort. Our first floor room was very big and contained a wet bar (sink, small refridgerator and microwave) in addition to double size spa tub and king bed. The spa tub is a great place to relax - plenty of hot water available to fill it (has been a problem in other places we visited). The entrance to our room was up about six stairs so disabled visitors need to check beforehand. Out the slide door we had a couple of chairs and table as well as an electric BBQ. Since it was our anniversary, my wife and I took advantage of a few of their many packages and got a lobster dinner delivered to the room - delicious and very romantic. We also enjoyed the beach fire and s'mores at sunset and an in-room massage. Employees were uniformally very helpful and friendly. Although they do charge a resort fee it is used to provide gratuities to housekeeping and the bell staff so the employees get to share. Overall, our Seascape visit was everything we asked for and we hope to return soon.

Room Tip: A Spa Suite is a very good choice for the additional cost.
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BobM01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2012

If I could I would come here every year. I have family close by so when I come I choose a little getaway here at the Seascape. Across the street is your little grocery store, shops, restaurants. I have not eaten at the resort restaurant (expensive) so having the village in walking distance is great. Pools and walk to beach is great. The beach is simply incredible. Heaven.

Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
1  Thank JSFranklin7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2012

I just spent Friday and Saturday at Seascape, stunning location and great weather. Hotel a little outdated but clean and service was slow but professional. As previous posters have mentioned there are definitely a lot of planes in the dat-time but not very noticeablle when down next to the ocean.

Overall a great visit but would probably go somewhere else next time in the area.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 040109Name
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2012

Stayed here this spring..........ahhhhhhhh....... Fantastic! Quiet, beauty, and the restaurant is amazing! Everything we needed and soooooooo much more! Enjoyed a Fabulous birthday- Didn't want to leave!

Room Tip: Room was on south side of property
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank catherine l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aptos
2.7 mi away
Best Western Seacliff Inn
1.9 mi away
Rio Sands Hotel
Rio Sands Hotel
#2 of 6 in Aptos
322 reviews
8.2 mi away
Dream Inn
Dream Inn
#2 of 54 in Santa Cruz
1,712 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Capitola By-The-Sea Inn & Suites
4.4 mi away
Capitola Hotel
Capitola Hotel
#1 of 4 in Capitola
304 reviews
17.7 mi away
Sanctuary Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seascape Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seascape Resort

Address: 1 Seascape Resort Dr, Aptos, CA 95003-5854
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Aptos
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Aptos
Price Range: $271 - $581 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Seascape Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 284
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, TravelUp, Priceline, Agoda and getaroom.com so you can book your Seascape Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seascape Resort Aptos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing