We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food, service is so-so.” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Viva Maria

Viva Maria
Ranked #16 of 115 Restaurants in Apple Valley
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Apple Valley, California
Level Contributor
152 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Great food, service is so-so.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2014

The food here is very good. Chips are always warm and the salsa is fantastic. The food is always well prepared and the price is descent. I do wish the service was better. It's a family run business and the staff is mostly family members.We have eaten here over the years and service is consistenly so-so. They are not very attentive and you frequently have to ask for your drinks to be refilled. We would visit more if the service was better.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank cruzanrumgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    15
    7
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tehachapi, California, United States
Level Contributor
43 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Alway Good!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2014

As a local, I have been eating here for years. One of my all time favorite Mexican resturants. Service is consistently excellent. I love their chips and salsa. The steak salad with homemade jalapeño ranch dressing is my go to. I am a life long lover of Mexican cuisine, and Viva Marie gets high marks. Not fancy, but clean and welcoming. I highly recommend it.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Linda R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Apple Valley, California
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Terrible service”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2014

Food is decent although somewhat expensive for Mexican food. The service is what lacks here. We used to go frequently when they first opened, service was wonderful, wait staff was attentive, food was served quickly and was actually what you ordered. Have noticed that the service has gone down over the years, frequent mistakes on orders that take too long a time to correct. We will not be back.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sunybunni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Apple Valley, California
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Nice atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2014

The service is good, food is good, atmosphere is pleasant! This is a nice restaurant to visit with friends and they have lots of specials during happy hour. This is a restaurant we have been to several times.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank shorty0089
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Apple Valley, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Place. Great Food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2014

This place has really good food and good service. The bar is a good place to hang out. We like it so much that we have had our company party here a couple of times.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank BATK1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Viva Maria also viewed

 

Been to Viva Maria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing